Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 5 hours, 55 minutes, 11 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    MoonRise - LTyrosine - Jam Entry

    ** Use WASD or arrow keys to walk/turn the vampire. Mouse controls where your head is looking/aiming at and this aim is NOT for where you are going (think of a tank and its cannon - the tank have its own direction other than cannon direction). This allows to walk and cast spells sideways. Yeah, strange, I will change it in post compo version. Hold shift to strafe instead of turning. Hold left mouse button over book to research spells (takes time and blood). Use left mouse button for attack humans with claws and right button (hold) to draw blood. Read tutorial at start for more details.

    You are an immortal vampire.
    You recently found a magical book with powerful spells and your mission is to learn them all. This will require a lot of energy (blood) taken from the village folk at valley bellow your castle. Tension is growing and many humans now wants to burn your castle down.

    View LTyrosine's journal. | View all entries by LTyrosine

    Ratings

    Coolness91%
    #82Theme(Jam)3.68
    #101Innovation(Jam)3.17
    #119Mood(Jam)3.03
    #147Graphics(Jam)3.30
    #211Overall(Jam)2.81
    #261Audio(Jam)1.42
    #268Humor(Jam)1.87
    #278Fun(Jam)2.23

    Comments

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:17pm

    The controls are a bit strange, but I like the concept.

    dansludumdare says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:22pm

    Went too slow on my computer, even at lowest graphics settings.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:33pm

    The controls were... very interesting. I suppose not capturing the mouse but using it as a kind of head movement was cool, but in practice it just felt odd.

    Ran just fine though it was tedious due to the slow movement. I think it has a lot of potential! Keep going with it :D

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:40pm

    Controls were a bit wonky, but the graphics were nice and although difficult (so many guards!) the game play was quite fun. It ran smoothly on my machine.

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:49am

    The framerate was just too low for it to be playable for me. I'd rather not rate it for fear of giving it a rating it doesn't deserve. Hopefully, it plays well on other's machines.

    Radiatoryang says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:11am

    cool concept, but I think you should've cut half your features and focused on a tighter game... controls were weird, wasn't really sure how to hide or stay hidden or what causes "folk rage" or when I'm seen or not seen, etc. a much smaller map probably would've helped too.

    mcc says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:19am

    i love my unity games! i found the controls kinda awkward, like it was a little hard to move around and i didn't know you could just hold the right mouse button down to drain blood. some sounds, even minimal ones, would've helped. i like the idea a lot, though, and the scope was pretty big.

    DTG says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:33am

    controls aside, great to see a good tutorial in one of these games.
    The day night cycle makes the game look quite good, but the travel from the castle to a human can get a little tedious, especially if you start dying often

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:02pm

    I liked the blood-drawing effect. Surprising how many LD entries that I've rated so far that equate "collecting blood" with "villainy". Nice.

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:51pm

    pretty amazing what some folk can put together in three days. A well rendered map, an interesting mechanism. A few qualms but positive vibes from me. Good stuff.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:00am

    The idea is good but the controls are very odd, making the game difficult.
    Good job anyways.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:05pm

    Boa idéia, mas o controle é muito estranho.

    Per says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:11pm

    Excellent idea and execution!
    Great use of Unity features. The engine is perfect for this kind of game. Also, it made me think about Might and Magic VI for some reason, which is a good thing.
    The controls are a little confusing for someone used to standard FPS controls :)

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:04pm

    Very promising game ! I had the predator feeling and with all these spells coming by random, your game is deep. I understand why you choose these controls, there's no better ones as there is no mouse lock. Put some creepy music and the overall sensation will be great ;)

    naughtyloose says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:18pm

    I like the idea a lot but the controls make it very hard to play and the long walk back to the castle makes it no fun after a while. This has a lot of potential tough!

    Milo says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:31pm

    I think the concept was very interesting and has potential if developed further, but the controls right now are really awkward and hard to use to the point of making it hard to play, and the pace of the game is too slow.

    Niavlys says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:40pm

    I love the idea, but the controls were too strange and the difficulty a bit too hard for me to play it for long enough. I did manage to learn a spell, but it seemed useless to me, as it consumes blood and doesn't even allows to gather more blood, because I can't draw blood from a dead human). I think it needs some tweaking There's a nice mood there, all it needs is audio and better graphics (for the humans -- I liked the landscape).

    dj_pale says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:04pm

    Very nice gfx and nice concept. But missing the fun-factor for some reason.

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:55pm

    Interesting idea but the controls were poor. Has a lot of potential so I hope you keep working on it.

    valeroth says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:48pm

    Awkward controls took a while to get used to. Nice concept but it might have been better to have implemented less features more fully. Liked the graphics.

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:58pm

    I don't really get why you didn't do classic fps control... Not sure your choice is the most efficient for this type of game. Too bad because the game could be pretty cool if it xas not so difficult to control the main character :\

    TheMelon says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:11am

    I like the idea of being this vampire that terrorizes the local village. I think the controls and how the A.I worked sorta took the immersion out, but there is potential for sure.

    Joseph Miller says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 3:53am

    The controls made it really hard for me to play this game. Left and right should strafe automatically, you shouldn't have to hit shift. The modelling is really impressive though, good job.

    Mago says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 2:28pm

    Great work, game is big and really complex. Controls at the beginning are a bit odd but I get use to it. My only complaint is that the game is too difficult

    hissssssssss says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:48am

    The moving felt really clumsy, which made it hard to sneak up on humans. Often I'd lose more blood out of an encounter than I'd gain because I couldn't move quickly enough. Still, it's a neat concept.

    LTyrosine says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 6:42pm

    I would like to thank everyone that played and rated MoonRise. It was a pleasure to build it and be at LD25.
    Control is by far the major fail in compo version... This will be fixed along with new features to improve gameplay and fun factor. Please see post-mortem for more details.

    saguaro says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:34pm

    Lots of features in this game, very ambitious. I like the concept and I'm glad you're going to keep developing it.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]