Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 5 hours, 53 minutes, 42 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Banker - Gazok - Jam Entry

    The Banker: An Atrocity in Three Parts.

    Made in C++ from scratch under strict LD48 rules, just started a day late.

    Instructions:
    WASD/Arrows to move
    Space to interact.

    To interact with people, you first have to talk to your boss.
    Linux:
    Requires libSFML2

    Windows:
    Should work straight out of the box - please say if it doesn't!

    View Gazok's journal. | View all entries by Gazok

    Ratings

    Coolness94%
    #25Humor(Jam)3.67
    #155Theme(Jam)3.33
    #240Mood(Jam)2.51
    #242Fun(Jam)2.43
    #270Audio(Jam)1.25
    #272Overall(Jam)2.57
    #288Innovation(Jam)2.13
    #308Graphics(Jam)2.00

    Comments

    Hume says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:44am

    Linux only! Hard core.

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:47am

    Heh, currently building SFML and Boost for Windows so I can port it.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:48am

    Pretty funny; really slow movement though.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:09am

    Most of the humor wasn't my thing, but the ending was most definitely a giant LOL. Good job on busting that all out with the tools at hand in three days!

    Verrazano says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:12am

    My favorite part was the penguin suit, however I didn't feel the theme so much as I felt vulgar, but that's ok, could have done with some generated 8 bit music.

    sev_inf says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:21am

    Pretty good.

    1. Play the game and rate game honestly.
    2. Rate the game not even downloading it.
    3. Steal author's clothes.

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:22am

    Well, there were meant to be more "evil-banker"-themed jokes, but I had to cut a lot due to time constraints, including writing. If you hadn't noticed, I did all of the art in an hour :P

    MichaelJLong says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:04am

    Funny, fits the theme, entertaining. Good Job!

    jerrre says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:21am

    Hmm no OSX too bad, shouldn;t be too hard to port

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:08am

    Sorry if this seems stupid, but what do I do? I can't get past those people in the in the hallways. Am I supposed to interact with them somehow?

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:30pm

    @BlackBulletIV Yeah, sorry, I should have put up some instructions. They're up now.

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:57pm

    Haha, funny. I liked the story.

    master4523 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:01pm

    Unfortunately the text doesn't seem to show up correctly: http://imgur.com/SR9Lc
    I couldn't really understand what I was doing, I'll just wait for a fix before rating this game.

    Claite says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:26am

    Oh Gazok, I like your style. Steal his clothes! hahaha
    Well played.

    Nehmulos says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:51pm

    I really like your humor. I had a lot of fun with the dialogue and the choices provided. The walking was a bit boring. I'm sure you could write hilarious text adventures.

    markengley says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:21pm

    This amused me far more than it should have :)

    Are you british by any chance? I feel like you must be. My british sense is tingling.

    someone says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:30pm

    Haha, that was great.
    A bit slow though considering how far you need to go.

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:59pm

    @markengley Good call. I'm glad you liked it.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:35pm

    Take that socialism! hahahaha very funny

    PaulSB says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:44pm

    Heh, well that was an amusing little adventure. Bit slow with the walking along the same grey space repeatedly but it was all about the quirky narrative here.

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:40am

    Very funny game, although the character could've moved faster.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:46am

    Loved the Penguin part haha. Great work. Wish it could have been a little more polished (i.e. sound and animation), but good jokes can cover little things like that. Good job.

    Also, thanks for the feedback on my game, should have the PC link working again

    mcc says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:39am

    i LOVED the writing and the concept! i just wish it was more fun to play, adn the movement wasn't kinda screwy. sound would be nice too. but plz keep on making games!

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:31pm

    Nice. Pretty funny.

    otus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:39pm

    Cool and funny game! :)
    Steal clothes!

    FrederickK says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:34am

    Extra point for the Dr.Who reference.

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:02am

    "kicking the habit", very good

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:08pm

    The more you have on screen i.e. the more you render and draw the slower you move. You really need to optimize that ^^;

    The game is kinda tedious but I managed to get to the end. Not a bad idea.

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:35pm

    Huh. I wasn't even aware the default SFML window allowed resizing, but all I'm using is the standard SFML draw function. On the other hand, it could be the overhead of X "if(visible)" checks, and I hacked movement in in about a minute, so it's frame-rate dependent. Not noticeable on my relatively underpowered laptop.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]