Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 18 hours, 4 minutes, 28 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The White Rabbit - kato9 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    "Do you remember the White Rabbit?"

    Back again for my 5th consecutive Ludum Dare, but this time with my first ever game created with UNITY!

    Not much gameplay here folks, but put on those headphones and enjoy the sights and sounds of an atmospheric trip down memory lane.

    Use WASD to move

    Space Bar to jump

    Double click to hide mouse cursor

    ----------

    Graphics created with Unity, Cinema 4d and Photoshop
    Audio recorded and produced with Pro Tools

    View kato9's journal. | View all entries by kato9

    Ratings

    Audio4.12
    Mood4.42
    #7Graphics4.51
    #69Overall3.63
    #301Innovation3.00
    #511Fun2.53
    #543Theme2.79
    #669Humor1.60
    #776Coolness45%

    Comments

    vrav says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:34am

    Enjoyed the graphics and presentation. I like the story, but feel a bit confused. Am I the villain because I have allowed my curiosity (white rabbit) to decay in a modern world of preoccupation and instant gratification? Maybe.

    masterboth says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:36am

    emmmm, Can you please make a .exe build? i cant play it in the browser.

    zazery says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:53am

    Nice atmosphere. I saw an early screenshot of your game and it inspired me to explore Unity's image effects in mine. I especially liked the rooms with the curved walls near the beginning.

    Prelucid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:15am

    Awesome work. Had to go through it a second time to pay attention.

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:30am

    I'm a sucker for these "art games". I'd love to learn Unity and make one of my own in a game jam some day. Everything in the presentation contributes to the narrative, and its open-endedness is intriguing.

    I felt like I was being talked down after having done something wrong. A bit alienating, a bit victimizing. It's a different, abstract take on the theme for sure.

    angelk says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:47am

    Excellent presentation; I'm a big sucker for atmosphere. Too short but of course that couldn't be helped, especially with your attention to quality.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:47am

    Very nicely done. I loved the atmosphere.

    Robotic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:48am

    Damn, this game is beautiful. The story didn't have much impact on me, but the low poly models were a good surprise every time I walked into a new room

    NuSan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:57am

    I like the style of graphics and music, it's realy high quality. I miss more gameplay (like the "puzzle" in the second room).

    wallmasterr says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:59pm

    This game plays with perspective soo well. somehow reminded me of the unfinished swan prototype, well done

    Mac.Mavws says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:13am

    In between all the submissions, this thumbnail caught my eye... and i have to thank my eye he caught that thumbnail.
    I simply loved the game's atmosphere, mainly because it's the kind of game i see myself doing but also cause it is very well made, the music, rooms, dialog, lights... the timing and everything.
    I have to say, if this trial becomes a full game I'd buy it for sure :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:24pm

    Great job. Seriously, great job.

    TheSheep says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:30pm

    Doesn't work on Linux :( too bad, I really liked the screenshots.

    drizzlybear says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:14pm

    Great experience! Great presentation. I want to know more about the white rabbit and what happened. :)

    DiscoFish says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:50pm

    I love it!

    mmorphinee says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:26pm

    great atmosphere (it first reminded me of Portal, dont know why) though I may have not understood everything

    Codexus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:09pm

    Interesting visual style. I just wish there was something to do in the game.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:39pm

    I'm not sure I got what the white rabbit was, but I sure had a great (short) time!

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:14am

    Not much of a game, but lovely in art and mood.

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:25pm

    Very nice ambient music and the mood is greaaat! Good job!

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:33pm

    Oh cmon this game is a pure work of art, it just fcking beautiful (the 3D art reminds me of Timothy Reynlods aka Turnislefthom). It's just the kind of game where you wanna walk to the next room and still be surprised by what's in there, awesome job !

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:36pm

    Enjoyed it, very well presented.

    nate427 says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:24pm

    Very cool, loved the narrative!

    TheSheep says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:42pm

    The unity entries really should not be called "Web", that suggests that they can be played on any platform :(

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:09pm

    Awesome. Thanks for this entry.

    mamoniem says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:38am

    AMAZING style, music & everything;

    Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:13am

    You win at mood. Or if you don't, you're in a really close tie with fishbrain's "snap".

    From a technical standpoint, it's little more than a Unity tech demo, and it shows. You did say it was your first project after all. Where this differs completely from other Unity tech demos I've seen is the polish on the graphics and the execution on the concept. I *love* the way you guide the player through the story. I love the dramatic timing. It was all masterful.

    This is very much making the most out of a very little.

    DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:15am

    Nice. You could have done more with this, but nice. The falling moment had so much potential, I liked that. Presentation and polish ftw!

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:09am

    looks and feels great, but the substance is really weak.

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:00am

    Nice, good job!

    Chinchilla says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:08am

    Its a shame there's not a bit more to it, as the presentation and sound are very good indeed. Visually it reminded me of a brighter version of Cactus' old game "Mondo medicals".

    jhrrsn says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:22am

    This was awesome, I'd love to read about how you made the geometric terrain and sweet fog effects!

    krutech says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:35am

    Excellent art direction!

    AtkinsSJ says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:42am

    I loved the atmosphere, and the moments that made me jump. Perhaps it's more of a ride than a game, but it's a very polished ride. :)

    LTyrosine says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:42am

    Nice graphics, but I would call it more a demo than a game...

    Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:45am

    Pretty. Not as pretty as your previous non-Unity entries, but pretty nonetheless.

    I would have tuned the mouselook down a bit, it was slightly herky-jerky which detracted from the mood.

    Let's see who breaks their streak first ;)

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:07pm

    This game is one of the most immersive of the competition.

    SiENcE says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:30pm

    Hm nice demo but where is the theme or gameplay?

    Madball says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:20pm

    For some reason I feel like it's a complete game, and it doesn't need a post-compo. Since there is no gameplay at all, I don't think you need to add it.
    It's a really good job, I believe every player has his own representation of the plot. Here is mine:
    "You started some scientific project. The target was to make people forget whatever they want. You succeded, but you used people as test subjects. These ones, not ones that tried the full version, became wierd. They either lost all of their memories, or gone mad, or anything else. You used this project called "The White Rabbit" to forget about it, but the game is here to remind."
    *clap**clap**clap*
    When I first read "The White Rabbit" I thought about "Alice in Wonderland".

    Niavlys says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:12am

    Beautiful game, well done! Even though there is not much to do, the mood is excellent, I was touched by the story. The music is great, but I think the mood could be even more great with some sound(s) aside the music.

    dray says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:28pm

    Great graphics, the story is quite hard to understand for me but i see where you wanted to go. Nice work

    saguaro says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:55pm

    Love the mood.

    bentog says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:13pm

    It looks like your website is offline D: I'll check it later ;)

    bentog says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 1:16pm

    This game is beautiful. 5 stars on the mood, for sure.

    csanyk says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:22am

    Man SUCH great mood. I really enjoyed this, minimal though it was.

    Ashkin says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:16am

    Great mood, but I wished there was more. I think it could make for an interesting story- uncovering something horrible that you had chosen to forget, and then having to make the choice- forget it again, or keep it in your memory so you don't make the same mistake?

    Gornova says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:55pm

    wow, less than a game, more an "experience", quite interesting :D

    Xavier says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 5:22pm

    Nice graphics and pretty awesome ambience. Have ever you played Kairo?

    Benjamin says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:52am

    Wow this is awesome graphics and ambient for 48h work. I definitively love those orange/purples colors you chooses.
    And your first game with Unity ? Well you are a gifted designer :)

    The lack of gameplay is still a problem for a gamejam. You could easily get the first rank in GFX or Mood with your entry, but it should at least have some interraction so we can call it a game. A switch is not enough ( Did I missed others ? )
    I'm still counting topmark for mood, graphics and audio but I'm a bit uncomfortable with this fact.
    It means that potentially, a good 48h-made mp3 could get to the top rank in audio...

    Anyway, congrats for such an amazing entry.

    leafo says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:04am

    Beautiful graphics. Makes me want to check out unity.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]