Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 6 days, 22 hours, 22 minutes, 31 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 6 days, 22 hours, 22 minutes, 32 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Banished - Kharza - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Use Escape or Back on 360 controller to pull up a pause menu for options.

    This is a little adventure game of sorts, quite short, similar to my other entries. I fixed some stuff in the libraries I was using so I put them together with the game and source.

    Hope you like it!

    BTW for those of you on winxp or with only directx 9, here's a reach version that should work. I have no way to test it though:

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/59900676/ReachVersion.zip

    And if that doesn't work, here's a run through on the tube

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-vI18FjJj8

    View Kharza's journal. | View all entries by Kharza

    Ratings

    Coolness62%
    #21Mood3.88
    #98Graphics3.79
    #115Overall3.50
    #182Audio2.97
    #284Fun3.00
    #419Innovation2.73
    #551Theme2.77
    #637Humor1.76

    Comments

    NostraDamon says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:41am

    That was a nice experience, but I saw no difference between the two teleporters at the end. I was expecting 2 different endings?

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:20pm

    what a world full of mysteries

    Kharza says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:34pm

    I struggled with what to do about the ending for awhile, but by then I was dead tired. It is always a good idea if doing something story related to write it first thing while you are still somewhat able to think.

    I did write most everything first thing, but had plans for a few more levels (including some beyond the gates), so I had to somehow fix it. I sat drooling stupidly at the screen for a bit then decided "I'll add some goats!" :)

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:55pm

    Wow this is a great game! I really loved how you put the sky and landscape in it too; it's something I always LOVE games to have, but never see. The lighting was great, and the story was powerful. Very good job :)

    Mava says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:59pm

    Nice graphics and very moody too

    aeveis says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:07pm

    Very nice, though the narrative felt like it was telling me directly rather than how someone might think if they remembered something (sort of like, oh I remember: <give specific details about the character's past>) which brought me out of the experience a bit. I like the choice at the end though, the text popping up makes you think about your choice a bit more.

    tompudding says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:13pm

    This was very impressive for 2 days! The lighting and shading looked great, and the journals were evocative.

    nathanj439 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:25pm

    Great job on the mood and story. It really drew me in.

    Kharza says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:22am

    Wow you make me feel great, thanks for the lovely comments. Aeveis, that is very helpful. I love writing and used to be good at it, but I need a lot more practice.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:40pm

    Can't play High-profile XNA games, only have DX9..

    Kharza says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:58pm

    Uh oh I forgot about that. I will try to build it in Reach mode and post it soon. Have to shrink some textures and stuff.

    Kharza says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:22pm

    Posted a link above to a reach version, let me know if it works. I don't have a machine to test it on.

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:00pm

    Can't play windows games... enjoyed the timelapse.. any chance you could upload a recording of you playing the game?

    Kharza says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:02pm

    Sure! I'll do that for my postmortem.

    pighead10 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:49pm

    Great atmosphere, especially with the music. Gameplay was solid. I took the blue pill!

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:50am

    I couldn't complete it :P .

    I really enjoyed what I saw though. The graphical style reminded me of the old Viridian and Crimson rooms.

    Nice physics, really nice graphics. The font could've been better though. All in all, a great entry.

    Kharza says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:17am

    There's an elevator in the corner of the 2 story office type room. I think a bunch of people miss it. It plays a sound when it kicks in but if you have sound off I guess it is easy to miss.

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:11am

    Really liked the story and mood, and like last time the graphical style. ;) Kind of sad that the story ends so soon and there isn't a little epilogue or something based on the choice you make.

    Was really thrilled to see someone add an inverted mouse option but unfortunately it didn't seem to do anything. :(

    Kharza says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:55pm

    Oops, I think I only tested it for gamepad! Thanks! I'll fix that in my lib

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:29pm

    Pretty good. Lift wasn't very obvious to me. Apart from that, well laid out.

    ratking says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:08am

    Very nice entry, even though I didn't quite understand why there was fighting at all. Wouldn't be needed at all. ;)

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:58am

    The tone throughout the game is very well done! It feels melancholic and familiar, though distinctly alien and a bit hostile.

    The unfolding narrative is good, if a bit blunt, and though getting the staff doesn't make me powerful I think it isn't supposed to. The character has fallen from power and a simple staff isn't going to restore them. Very well done there.

    The ending reminded me a lot of Half-Life. The choice is made, but the consequences are not fully clear.

    I hope to see a sequel and/or expanded game :3

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:13pm

    Played with the Reach profile and it works fine, thanks!

    Nice tone and weird colourful but almost 4-bit color style. It creates an odd atmosphere of an alien world. I like how the various things I encounter are clearly explained even if that means I very quickly regain my memory in this world. That's fine for such a short game.

    cardboard says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:20pm

    That was really cool! I really like the shading and level layout. Having to kill the goats didn't really make much sense to me though.

    Cryovat says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:30pm

    The elevator took me some time to figure out, but apart from that, it was a wonderful experience. Really enjoyed the narrative.

    I liked the melancholic atmosphere and the sense of mystery. I agree with the remarks about the narrative being unsubtle, and the combat scene felt like it didn't belong, but apart from that, excellent work! Had to play it twice for both endings. :)

    Kharza says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 2:24am

    Thanks for the good marks! I'm quite pleased. And the goats were a last minute thing. I knew I didn't have time to do 2 proper ending areas, so I decided on a whim to add some goats, and then left the ending "open"

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]