Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 6 days, 15 hours, 31 minutes, 0 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 6 days, 15 hours, 31 minutes, 1 second
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Another Castle - RosyPenguin - Jam Entry

    Storm into castle after castle and capture all the princesses in the land!

    Up - Jump
    Down - Interact with props
    Left/Right - Boost of speed

    Break obstacles off the walls to thwart the knights looking to rescue the princesses. Don't walk into the obstacles on your way down!


    ==========
    TEAM
    ==========

    Rose - Artist
    Vu - Programmer
    Johan - Programmer/Musician
    Hal - Musician

    View RosyPenguin's journal. | View all entries by RosyPenguin

    Ratings

    Coolness56%
    #7Audio(Jam)4.02
    #17Graphics(Jam)4.40
    #17Overall(Jam)3.87
    #23Theme(Jam)4.05
    #29Fun(Jam)3.62
    #42Innovation(Jam)3.54
    #52Mood(Jam)3.44
    #63Humor(Jam)3.23

    Comments

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:16am

    Nice! I quite like this.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:31am

    Nicely done!

    PIXEL^3 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:19am

    Overall I like it, but it has a touch of lag for me and I felt like the player wasn't involved enough. Maybe it's just me. Otherwise the music and art is quit nice.

    ~AlucardX60

    Joncom says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:33am

    Followed link from Reddit. Nice work!

    Scott McBee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:40pm

    I liked the music and the art was fantastic. For the first level, I thought I was watching a cutscene. More onscreen instruction might help with that if you continue working on this, but I'm wondering what lead to the decision of taking basic movement away from the player.

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:45am

    Lots of fun to play, and the music and graphics are all great. Well done!

    Ariake81 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:09am

    lovely job, good work!

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:21am

    Awesome! I had a lot of fun with this, was almost out of tower four before realsing that smashed lamps that missed enemies could hurt you when you ran over them.

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:33am

    Fun! Kind of wish I could smash through the walls and fly out of the towers in somersaults and all that. :D

    illugion says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:40am

    Wow this game was really fun XD the music and sound effects were just perfect and the gameplay is really neat

    bugninja says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:44am

    One of my favorites. Well done, fun, great graphics.

    vrav says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:01am

    Very nice! I couldn't finish the final tower, but enjoyed the experience.

    Tenlki says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:40am

    Sorry, Mario, looks like this princess...
    *puts on glasses* B)
    ...is in another castle.

    YEAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH

    michax says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:39am

    Simple and addictive mechanics :) Perfect! Enjoyed audio as well.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:06pm

    Great job! Fantastic artwork and music, and a neat game idea. I got stuck on the Tower with 12 floors, since I'd run out of speed boosts or objects to trip people up with. I didn't even attempt the even harder Tower, haha.

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:35pm

    Incredible graphics! With decent gameplay!

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:43am

    Good gameplay, nice fitting with the theme.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:08pm

    Really fun and the keys interactions are well thought.
    The last level is a bit difficult since sometimes you get touch several times when it's happen at a floor transition.

    01101101 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:12am

    Cool GP concept, very nice graphics. Audio could have been great if the music loop was a little longer.

    Dir3kt says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:42pm

    Was pleasant to play your entry. More levels :)

    Drabiter says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:30am

    Well polished and fun!

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 12:53pm

    Brilliant! Love this!

    Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:22am

    I kidnapped all the princesses! I'm so evil!

    The art style here was magnificent, and the game had just the right blend of action and strategy elements to hook in a player and keep their attention long enough to see it all the way to the end. The music was jazzy, and the sound effects totally appropriate.

    This is probably one of the best entries I've played yet.

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:27am

    Haha, amazing.

    odrega says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:06am

    Excellent music, it was just superb

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:50am

    Nice!

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:25pm

    Fantasic art and music, a fitting theme, cool gameplay - good job overall!

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 7:39pm

    Nice idea, but didn't beat the last level. You say "Don't walk into the obstacles on your way down!" but I don't get what you mean with that.

    dcolgan says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:26pm

    Awesome for 72 hours! The game has it all: graphics, music, gameplay, humor. Solid game. Full stars!

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:18pm

    Great game! Loved it. Didn't finish because the last level was so hard. I took a while to discover what down did, though. Nice work!

    chambers says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:11am

    Fun game with nice music and graphics. I found everything too easy and the Tall Tower too hard. Had a lot of fun trying to beat that level at first, but I ended up giving up.

    At first I was very confused with all doors having the exact same look. Maybe doors that connect floors and doors that spawn enemmies should look different in some way.

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 8:36pm

    Art was amazing, wish controls were a bit more responsive.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:41am

    Great work! I wish there were some form of on screen instructions, since I thought the first level was just a cut scene and didn't really do anything. It wasn't until I was 3-4 levels in that I picked up the general mechanics of the game. The player could be more involved. The music and the art are great though! :)

    LogGiant says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 7:12am

    This is definitely in my top 5 favorite LD games ever. It's fantastic!

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 7:55am

    love the game! knocking wall decorations into soldiers is oddly satisfying

    fr_automatik says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:31pm

    Well polished! (The last level was very hard)

    bentog says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:14pm

    Well done, the gameplay is interesting and fun, the graphics are amazing and the audio is great. Well done!

    uncade says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:39am

    Neat game! Not to be a dick, but I've been working on a game titled Another Castle for a while now, if you guys release a post compo version could you please change the name? I couldn't find your contact info, hence why I'm leaving the comment here. You can check out my game at http://www.AnotherCastleTheGame.com and
    you can reach me by email at david [at] uncade.com

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 3:46pm

    Thanks everyone for the awesome feedback! We're working on making improvements and addressing the issues that have been brought up.

    @uncade - Thanks for reaching out. We found your game after the jam and totally intend to change our game's name for a post-jam release.

    jfroco says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:44pm

    Presentation is extraodinary. Loved the music and the gfx. Nice idea. Great to have a game protagonized by a Minotaur.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]