Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 73 days, 16 hours, 38 minutes, 30 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Critter Criminal - JaJ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    In critter criminal you fight, catch, breed and butcher friendly critters for your own personal gain. Use them to show that police officer who's the boss, or to steal candy from a little girl, whatever makes you feel like a badass.

    Use the arrow keys to move and space to interact/ select. Additional keys are shown on the screen.

    I made a short guide for this game. Click on the 3rd and 4th screenshot. The game is not as complete as I wanted it to be, but once again I was way to ambitious. I hope you enjoy playing around with it. Going to look if I can port it to html5 tomorrow.

    View JaJ's journal. | View all entries by JaJ

    Ratings

    Coolness66%
    #9Audio3.94
    #41Graphics4.12
    #59Mood3.55
    #62Overall3.67
    #162Fun3.28
    #237Humor2.93
    #392Theme3.15
    #548Innovation2.47

    Comments

    kannas says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:04pm

    this game is so damn good! xD

    Mava says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:10pm

    Really nice graphics and very moody! Its like a true Gameboy game too, really well done I like it very much :)

    Your critters are very creative

    BipolarMike says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:11pm

    Yes indeed this was way too ambitious, but this is a good start! The main issue I have is I never really felt like a villain... it just felt like I was playing Pokemon with a swapped out script.

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:11pm

    Great work! I love the concept and the satirical approach to the theme.

    tommycreo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:13pm

    Music and graphics are awesome.

    kewry says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:14pm

    Awesome work

    pillbrain says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:14pm

    I enjoyed it, but couldn't really figure out how to win or lose, also my critter seemed to start losing every fight, and I was not entirely sure why.

    Smaxx says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:15pm

    Very nice and with a fitting Game Boy style. I guess the similarities to Pokémon are intentional? But, hey, selling your "Critters" to the Butcher? :D

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:17pm

    @ pillbrain:
    The critters moves and characters are the biggest factor in winning or losing a fight. Power and defense are a lot less important than they seem at first.

    @bipolarmike: The idea was that you use the critters for evil purposes, but in the end I only got to three scripted battles where you actually do something evil.

    Devenger says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:18pm

    Graphically very impressive. A shame you didn't have time to flesh it out more - with the limited content, it's rather tricky to stay interested long enough to breed critters that stand a chance against the ones the tougher NPCs have.

    dj_pale says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:21pm

    Very nice graphics and music! A bit hard to relate to theme and learn how to "beat" the game. Overall a nice entry.

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:21pm

    @Smaxx: In the beginning I wasn't really sure if it was going to be a parody or something original, so the graphics were heavily inspired by that other game where you catch and train animals. In the end I do think there was enough to set this apart from that game not to go this route. Most importantly the heavy emphasis on breeding instead of catching.

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:31pm

    Really nice

    adnzzzzZ says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:33pm

    Really nice graphics, music and mood. Pretty funny at times too ("Are you going to kill me for absolutely no reason?" lol). But yea, at times I didn't know what I was doing wrong...

    aeveis says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:51pm

    I had fun with this! The walking back and forth was a bit tedious but it was cool to try and get stronger monsters. Your guide helped out a lot too.

    JoeCool17 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:00am

    I liked it- sorta slow and non-intuitive but the color scheme and the concept, not to mention the resolution, remind me of pokemon (like *that* was ever intended, lol)

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:06am

    Thanks! I noticed I forgot to add breeding mechanics to the guide though. I'll do that tomorrow but here it is in short:

    Newborns get each stat from one of their parents (so not an average of the two of them!) This makes it possible to breed critters that have the maximum value of each stat.

    They inherit the character of one of their parents, and one skill of each of their parents.

    ahmedcab says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:26am

    really nice graphics and very addictive. i also like the retro feeling.

    Tapestry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:44am

    Great game. Music is awesome and pokemon-like gameplay is always fun! My favorite character is Silent rock.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:54pm

    Nice pokemon style game. The kids has some funny lines.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:05pm

    It's fun but movement is hard as you have to be on the exact square as the path you want to go on

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:32pm

    @MrAmazingSock
    I know. It used to be different but that could get your character stuck when going from one room to the other. In the end I didn't have time to fix both. This will be solved in post compo versions

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:26pm

    A very cool 'mature' Pokemon! Nice job!

    rxi says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:43am

    I really enjoyed this entry. I felt in tune with a lot of the humor in the dialogue and chuckled at quite a few parts. Nice work!

    Diamonde says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    Super well done!
    Not too well balanced... It feels like I'm a little kitten trying too hard to do evil deeds. :P

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:08am

    That's a great description. I guess being evil shouldn't be this much of a struggle.

    caranha says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:29pm

    Very cool graphics and specially the music - you got yourself a game with a very clear personality!

    I didn't "feel the evil" that much, but other than that, the game was fun.

    Maybe you should add some transitions between the battle and field screens? The changes were kinda sudden.

    Thanks for the game!

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:47pm

    And thank you for playing it!

    I've added transitions to my to do list.

    Mase says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:43am

    Thanks for porting it. Maybe a brief gory cutscene for the butchering would be a good foil for the pokemon atmosphere. Would be nice if you could get items from the butchering, such as snacks for your critters.

    I liked the talking tree and silent rock; I missed them in the later fields.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:04am

    Very impressive work!
    Like Caranha, I hope to be even more evil, torturing poke...critters and all! Bet seriously, what you did here is quite amazing.

    PiepTon says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:29pm

    really great work !

    blob says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 7:21am

    Even though that was ambitious you did a lot and the gameboy art and audio are very well done, pretty impressive.
    I wish there was more "evilness" in the gameplay itself. The butcher is a really nice idea.

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:43am

    Thank you. I know, I wish that it had more more evil elements too.
    (Note however that you can also steal critters from other owners.)

    Houly says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:31pm

    The graphics are great and the game feels complex for this short amount of time. Very pokemon like, but in a good way.

    csanyk says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 2:43am

    Solid!

    goerp says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:45pm

    A very good retro feel, whith very good music.
    Impressive to have done this in so little time.

    angrygeometry says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:52pm

    this was nice! only issues i had is with the web version, sometimes the tracks play twice over each other, the collisions are a little strange etc. but overall, nice job!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]