Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 1 day, 5 hours, 58 minutes, 20 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 1 day, 5 hours, 58 minutes, 21 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Nature's Villain - bach - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Controls
    ********
    Select Units with LMB, click on tile/enemy/base to attack/move.
    Enter: Finish your turn.

    Requirements
    ************
    You need Java to run this. On windows simply double clicking the jar should do. On linux/mac you can run it via CLI (java -jar NaturesVillain.jar).

    HTML5 port is coming tomorrow/tonight!

    Goal of the game
    ******************
    Your goal is the beat Nature by means of killing all their units or by capturing their bases. Alternatively, you also have the option to "bleed" your enemy out by capturing bases and defending them. If you capture an enemy base (the little wells/oasis in the forests), you receive an extra unit.

    The first party to reach 0, or lose all units, loses the game.

    The game is turn-based. That means you move all your units, finish your turn (press Enter), wait for the enemy's move and then it's back to you.

    If you get stuck, try a few different strategies. The game should be relatively easy to beat.

    Theme
    *******
    Unfortunately I didn't have enough time to fully develop the theme. But the basic idea is, that we as humans are Nature's Villain. So because of all the damage we do to our planet.. the planet is fighting back :)

    I wanted to work this out a bit more, by making the player taint the map by moving around and taking over bases.

    Keep earth green.

    Created with
    **************
    Code: Libgdx
    Music: Reaper
    Sfx: bfxr
    Pixels: GIMP
    A*: Adapted from (http://www.cokeandcode.com/index.html?page=tutorials/tilemap2)

    View bach's journal. | View all entries by bach

    Ratings

    #21Graphics4.31
    #43Overall3.75
    #98Audio3.31
    #105Mood3.33
    #148Fun3.31
    #362Theme3.22
    #375Innovation2.83
    #607Humor1.85
    #711Coolness47%

    Comments

    arkeus says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:48am

    Love the graphics.

    Manuel777 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:16am

    I have no idea how to play this.. I get stuck all the time =/

    bach says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:50am

    Hey Manuel777 - when you say you get "stuck".. Do you mean you can't beat the level or some sort of bug?

    Anything in particular you are confused about? :/ Would love to help & provide better description if needed.

    Manuel777 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:30am

    Oohhh, you had to press ENTER! (it wasnt specified on the description before) :D
    Thats a lot better, stage 2 gets quite difficult!

    dcolgan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:57pm

    Neat and an ambitious idea. Really nice tile graphics. The game did freeze on me on the second level, and there isn't much strategy yet, but an excellent 48 hour product. Good job!

    headchant says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:52pm

    Nice graphics I really like it. Why can't the units go past other units of the same side?

    bach says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:37pm

    headchant, that's an excellent point. Didn't even cross my mind to allow that. Thanks for checking it out!

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:42am

    pretty good audio

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:16am

    Nice. I love tactics games.

    otus says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:37pm

    Awesome game.
    Great graphics, great gameplay, great everything.

    Bravo!

    Kickerua says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:54pm

    Thank you for web version.

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:02pm

    Amazing entry. Love the graphics and I'm amazed you were able to make an advanced war style game in such a short amount of time. Good job.
    (Fyi I ran into a bit of a bug on the second level after my first turn where the cpu does nothing and the game can't progress)

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:15am

    Froze twice and gave victory to nature while I still had 3 soldiers, then I gave up.. It's got nice graphics and could become a nice game after the bugs are crushed (pun intended) ;)

    bach says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:11am

    @Atomic: I'm sorry that it didn't work well for you :( I know there's a freezing bug which I couldn't crush in time. The 3 soldiers still left.. Are you sure you just didn't run out of Victory Points? There are 2 losing conditions, no units & no Victory Points. You don't have an endless amount of time.

    Cheers to everyone for checking it out! Much appreciated.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:24am

    I really liked the game but the second levels seems to demote strategy. Also, the AI got stuck after I tried to redo the level. Great game, though! Loved the art.

    vrav says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:31am

    Despite the difficulty, I love it. Hard is good. Nice game overall, good work!

    Cthulhu says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:47pm

    The HTML5 version is not working on Firefox/Ubuntu. But I think it is a libgdx issue because I've never been able to make my libgdx games work on firefox/ubuntu.

    Dir3kt says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:43pm

    Wow one of the nicest entry I tried so far. Thanks :)

    char68 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:11am

    I really liked the premise of the game, and the tactics style gameplay was great too. The only issue I had was that it took a couple tries to beat level 2 because it seems like enemies would repeatedly block the bridge until I ran out of time (although I'm sure that would be something that's easily fixable).

    Falkreon says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:02am

    The strict time limit and frequent choke points discourage strategy, favoring an all-out suicidal rush instead. It takes many tries to get through the later levels, making it even more likely the AI will stall. About the stalling: You know you're allowed to fix game-freezing bugs after the deadline, right?

    Zathalos says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 12:16am

    I love the simple turn based strategy.

    beeglebug says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:43pm

    Nice game, couldnt work out why my points kept going down though?

    krutech says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:52pm

    Cool game.

    Houly says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:17am

    Oh man, this looks really great. Very polished graphics and I love turn based games so this is really great!

    impulse9 says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:59pm

    Great game, very fun! :) Easy one of my favorites.

    Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:18pm

    Really nice graphics and audio, but I couldn't get past the second level though, the points kept running out. Guess the strategy to fool enemies to come one at the time at you is out of window.

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:50pm

    This was a really great entry. Simple and to the point, and everything worked great. It would have been nice to have more control over how my units attacked (for example being able to choose which square I attack from instead of it choosing one for me automatically), and I apparently died for no reason on level 2 (it just said I lost, but I had all my guys and none of my bases were captured), but overall this is a great game and could definitely become something more.

    By the way, if you're looking for a better host than dropbox, you might check out the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. I'd love to see this game there! Either way, nice work!

    sletari says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:16pm

    Nice, it remembered me of Master of Magic =)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]