Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 15 days, 22 hours, 45 minutes, 45 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Hunt - marudziik - Jam Entry

    I think that this is the most stupid game I've created. Using your mouse, you have to shoot everything that moves. That's it. There are 5 levels. The idea may be stupid, but I hope you'll get at least some fun out of this pointless shooting. :)

    MOUSE = shoot
    P = Pause

    Entered Jam because of real-life interruptions, the game had a very short total development time (much less than compo time). I used AS3+Flashpunk.

    Get 25 kill points to advance.
    You gain 1 point for every kill.
    You lose 2 points every miss.
    You lose 1 points if one escapes their fate.
    You're defeated if you have -10 kill points.

    View marudziik's journal. | View all entries by marudziik

    Ratings

    #115Humor(Jam)2.88
    #182Mood(Jam)2.75
    #188Theme(Jam)3.15
    #200Fun(Jam)2.65
    #205Graphics(Jam)2.95
    #224Audio(Jam)2.24
    #266Overall(Jam)2.60
    #318Innovation(Jam)1.80
    #884Coolness37%

    Comments

    lucky.luddite says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:00am

    I liked the artstyle you used for this.

    Nolan C says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:37am

    I also like the art style.

    dek says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:20am

    The art style gave me a flashback to older games! It ran fluid, thats a plus as well :)

    caranha says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:28am

    The graphics are quite trippy. And the difficulty made it rather fun. Even if you didn't have the time to make a game to your own liking, this is not at all bad :-)

    Thanks for the game!

    NuSan says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:15pm

    Fun and simple

    Kotucz says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:37pm

    very well done. my hand hurts :-)

    amidos2006 says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:43am

    Reminds me of old NES shooting games :)

    Jiddo says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:24pm

    Visually the game looks nice, and the sound effects also work well. Unfortunately the game doesn't feel all that responsive for me which makes it really difficult to play. On top of that the hit detection feels kind of weird. Things that I consider to be hits count as misses instead.

    It's really good that the game has simple and well defined rules tho. Good work!

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:42pm

    Level 4 (or was it five?) got pretty hard with a trackpad.
    This is a very basic game, but it's still amusing!
    Though, I feel something was missing : Someone screaming RELOAD when needed...How many points did I lose because I forgot to reload!

    Funny things : This game reminds me those stupid (and vaguely ethics) shoot Bin Ladden/W.Bush games I used to play back in 2001. I had totally forgot about those!

    Joseph Miller says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:24pm

    The gameplay is not incredibly compelling but I like the graphics of the backgrounds.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]