Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 2 days, 10 hours, 22 minutes, 16 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Blob Revolution - kill0u - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    ---------------------------/!\----------------------------
    If you don't get the theme interpretation, please
    use the "Skip level" button to get to the end!
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    I added a demo for those complaining about this
    game's difficulty ;)
    ----------------------------------------------------------


    " In a place that looks like a prison cell, some blobs are complaining about the same tasteless food they have to eat every day.
    The place is creepy, with bars on small windows, low lighting and mold everywhere.

    One of those blobs has had enough of this life, and wants to break jail.
    Help him escape from this hell. "

    ______________________________
    PS: Will you find the alternative ending?

    View kill0u's journal. | View all entries by kill0u

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #280Graphics3.15
    #309Mood2.89
    #337Audio2.51
    #406Overall2.90
    #461Fun2.64
    #468Innovation2.64
    #663Humor1.63
    #666Theme2.33

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:07am

    nice platform physics. Feels a little bit like "sound shapes" (ps3) - in a good way!

    TheCze says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:10am

    Game looks pretty good. Unfortunately I am the worst plattform gamer there ever was and I could not beat the first level. Nice music though.

    Arakade says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:16am

    Um, very Gish-like but nicely done in HTML5. Controls are a bit finickity but with some tuning, this is good. Not certain how it fits with the theme though?

    kill0u says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:20am

    Thanks :)

    SelectricSimian: never heard of this game x) but I watched a video just now and it seems awesome :o

    TheCze: the music⦠hmm⦠I had some issues with my computer on the last hour (when I was making the music), and all I could get was my sound tests, and I used them as the music for my game xD
    By the way, if you can't beat the game, use the "Skip level" button. You won't get the theme interpretation if you can't reach the ending =/

    metadept says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:10am

    Very well done, reminds me a bit of Gish with the wall-sticking mechanics. I was impressed by how much content you had (multiple levels, story, a boss, and everything!) without skimping on graphics, sound, or gameplay. I did have some trouble controlling my movement, however. I'd love to see a post-compo version with a bit more polish on the controls (or maybe I just need to l2p?). Great job!

    oldtopman says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:52pm

    Although a bit difficult for my tastes, this game is well polished with well designed graphics. The level design is no slouch either, with a variety of challenges to keep the game fresh. 5/5

    Dioiminik says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:53pm

    Not the style of Gameplay I prefer for a platformer but nice graphics and overall a good entry ;)

    joekinley says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:18pm

    Wow nice game. Although the controls were just too hard for me. I kept dying and dying on the second level. Even the first one took me ages to collect every piece.
    But it was a fun game. You did a great job with the graphics and the audio. Also it was fun to play, even when it was hard as hell.

    Also the mood was really well done. Great job.

    ENP says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:53pm

    Great game!

    zazery says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:57pm

    As others have mentioned the controls were difficult to master. Often I would try to jump from a wall and just fall instead. The game looks nice and the audio is pretty good. I did skip to the end to see the theme and it's an interesting idea.

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:00pm

    A nice Gish-like platformer! Pretty tough though, I couldn't get past level 2. Minor complaint: I was able to float off of walls sometimes, allowing me to fly a short distance. Not a useful glitch, but it looks a bit weird.

    kill0u says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:12pm

    Thanks for your comments =)

    For the control issue, I didn't want to spend too much time on it or else I couldn't have done graphics & co before the deadline. Plus, I coded this game on a slow computer, and so the game is faster on your computers =/

    The game is meant not to be easy, but the control issue might make it a little harder than how I wanted it to be. However, I did complete all the levels, so some of you should be able to too :)

    metadept:
    well, I tried to keep it simple on all those aspects, to be able to do all of them.

    CireNeikual:
    that's an issue I'm aware of. I had some problems with the "hold" system, and I solved it the easy way to avoid spending hours on a bug at 5am. That implied allowing the player to stay in "hold" mode for some tenth of seconds.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:10am

    Nice game. I like the way angle collisions are dealt with.
    The story aspect in the last level is interesting, it would have been great to have it during the whole game.

    Having to released the shift key in order not to create the levitation glitch on platforms is decreasing the fluidity of the players moves.

    illugion says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:16pm

    That was really cool, i like the sound effects and the controls are really smooth but i got into a wall on the third stage LOL XD

    pfirsich says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:23pm

    I'm just too dumb for this. I don't think I'm capable of mastering the first level.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:37pm

    damn, my fucking ghostkeyboard make that i cannot finish the first level. sorry, but this happens with very few games.

    DTG says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:24am

    Really nice tight controls, the levels were a bit too hard for me but I'm a terrible platformer so don't take that to heart.

    Yacodo says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:43am

    Good game but a bit hard to control.

    Birchmountain says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:05pm

    I couldn't figure out how to stick to walls, but i still see a well though out platformer that could go far if given more then 48 hours! Looks great!

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:13pm

    The game is obviously very polished, but I couldn't learn the controls so I gave up.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:15pm

    Looks pretty but control of the character is inconsistent (shift would often not actually hold me against a well but sometimes it did) and the sometimes quite pixel perfect jumps combined with on ice like slipperiness of the movement made me rage-quit after dying too often. Please tweak so old people like me can play this.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:16pm

    I like the art. Unfortunately the controls make it unplayable. After several attempts I finally managed to reach the exit on the first level, only to get the message that I needed to collect all the items first... This is a shame, as you seem to have put a lot of work into the game. There are several level, enemies and stuff. The story is a bit stupid though.

    Niavlys says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:00pm

    I'm sorry but I have to say that the controls were really annoying... At first I liked the concept, movement and graphics, but after that I losed my nerves trying to understand the controls, especially the wall climbing mechanic. I skipped the last 2-3 levels because I really couldn't beat them. The music began quite annoying as I kept dying and retrying too :)
    In my opinion it's really too bad that the controls aren't enough polished, as I really liked the graphics and mood, I think there's a great potential here!

    Nice ending. I think I've had the alternative ending too, but I don't know how, and I didn't understand everything; but this is my fault, as I don't speak english fluently :)

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:21pm

    Concept is really cool. Had a lot of problems with the controls. Space and shift were only registering for me like half the time - some kind of key buffering problem?

    kill0u says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:24pm

    cwilloughby: It depends.
    - I don't think the game works really well on Chrome/Safari.
    - "Hold" & "Boost" have a timeout. You can't use them all the time, and "Hold" only lasts for some tenths of seconds.

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:07pm

    I really like the graphics and the controls feel smooth. But unterstanding the controls is something different. I had heavy problems to play this game, because I'm too bad in platformers. Sadly I skipped the most of the levels. For your next Ludum Dare I would encourage you too make insanly stupid checkpoints so the worst players (like me) have some success :D starting from the beginning of a level is not right. Nice ending monologue anyway.

    kill0u says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:13pm

    Thanks for the idea, I definitely should have added checkpoints x_x (like at each quarters gathered, "R" key still used to restart the level from the beginning, just in case)

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:39pm

    Solid platformer controls

    Faust says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:05am

    Well polished platformer game, although I can't play through it by my skill. :S

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:26am

    Very nice platformer, although having to press the stick key so far in advance was a little bit annoying. I liked the ending. :)

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:07pm

    Nice graphics but the controls are a bit hard, i really liked the idea, it remembers me of the Commandervideo character in super meat boy :3

    ENDESGA says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:37pm

    nice!

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:40pm

    I don't get it, sorry

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:27am

    Nice style, had a bit of difficulty with the controls.

    aare says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 2:58pm

    The boost is a not very predictable and accurate. The general idea is fine, and totally has the potential, but small glithes and problems with f.e. sticking to the wall make it very hard. In not the good sense.

    DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 5:04am

    Controls could have been a bit tighter, but nice job! Good thought with the skip level button too (b^^)b

    Demurgos says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:42pm

    J'ai eu l'occasion de voir le développement du jeu mais je ne le note que maintenant :D

    Les controles sont frustrants, ou alors c'est le jeu qui est trop dur mais j'adore les graphismes (5/5). J'apprécie aussi l'utilisation d'HTML5 :P

    (Le rapport avec le thème est un peu tiré par les cheveux avec l'histoire à la fin.)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]