Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 25 days, 16 hours, 41 minutes, 14 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Attack of the Mummy - dray - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    BUGFIX : I fixed the bug with the snake that make your character flying.

    You are the terrible Mummy ! awake for killing stupid adventurers looking for treasures!

    The game is really rough, i'm sick and sleep most of saturday...

    Controls :

    Arrows to move
    Space to attack
    Left Ctrl or LeftClick to puke snakes.

    View dray's journal. | View all entries by dray

    Ratings

    Coolness61%
    #356Graphics2.97
    #447Mood2.64
    #482Innovation2.61
    #532Theme2.82
    #538Humor2.05
    #609Audio1.18
    #644Fun2.17
    #669Overall2.39

    Comments

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:36pm

    Nice looking game; models are really good.

    An issue is that everytime when you place down a snake you seem to rise up above the map slightly, eventually making you unable to interact with anything.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:25pm

    could be a lot of fun when it's better refined. love the idea of defending my tomb from explorers...but doesn't that make THEM the villains if they're disturbing my eternal rest?

    dray says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:26am

    @ SanctuaryInteractive Yeah i saw that bug yesterday, forgot to keep the player at 0 on the Y-axis

    @ mikemacdee well there is a little story i didn't had the time to put in the game, the adventurers are looking for treasure to build an hospital for orphans, so they are not here for greed, you just want their blood to get power (blood is the unit for spawning snake and other powers not implemented) i hide this variable because i didn't had the time to make a proper GUI to display it, so you have something like 1000 blood.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:05pm

    Not sure why, but the Unity Web Player isn't loading. I've got the latest plug-in & running Chrome on Win7.

    kevincorrigan says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:12pm

    its a great game, until you place a snake, I think your allowed to fix a bug like that, as long as you don't add anything.

    shinD says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:19pm

    @Dark Acre Jack, you should get a shield icon at the url box, try clicking that and allow loading content. Seems to be an issue with dropbox hosting and unity(?)

    Rough, like you said, but with a little work it could be a fun little game

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:32pm

    Great art, shame about the collision and gameplay in general.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:52pm

    hehe cool idea of the mummy! :DD

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:16pm

    Think you've got an interesting idea here, might include some game objective that encourages you to leave the base... perhaps, to close off one of the entrances or something?

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:53pm

    Yeah, you gotta remove the "s" from the https in your web link :)

    This was really good. It's pretty incredible that you managed to model/rig/animate humanoids in under 48 hours. I'm still struggling with that. Good work.

    dray says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:55pm

    Thanks for the tips, i'm correcting it right now.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:30pm

    hehe nice villain

    DaviDeMo says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:44pm

    I had fun =)

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:54pm

    You've got some nice ideas here, you should keep up with this one.

    dray says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:55pm

    I fixed the bug with the snake spawning. thanks all for the feedbacks

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:00pm

    Too bad you didn't manage to put a real gameplay on it, the engine is pretty cool!
    Just add a treasure that they steal, and some kind of adventurers waves and you will have a nice game :)

    Drabiter says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:33am

    I want to pay you back but I only have linux here :( and wine not works fine.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:52pm

    Looks nice enough, with good models, but wasn't exactly sure what was required of the player.

    Houly says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:33pm

    It looked like I controlled the ball and the mummy wants to catch it. But without the description I wouldn't know what was going on.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]