Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 14 days, 11 hours, 7 minutes, 13 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Nature Beat - Retroid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You play as the most dastardly villain known to man, Boris. His mission, smash as many animals at he can at his local park in one minute. His weapon of choice, a hammer.

    The web build might have performance issues on some computers so I would recommend playing on the desktop version for best performance.

    CONTROLS
    Move - Arrow Keys
    Smash Hammer - Z Button

    View Retroid's journal. | View all entries by Retroid

    Ratings

    Coolness55%
    #392Humor2.42
    #450Theme3.00
    #594Fun2.31
    #629Audio1.00
    #709Innovation2.00
    #710Mood1.89
    #716Overall2.19
    #717Graphics1.81

    Comments

    robashton says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:19am

    I like how you can pretty much herd all the animals into a corner and beat them as they try to escape ;-)

    tzamora says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:40am

    nice tremors..

    Suese says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:14am

    Could have been improved with more sound effects, music, and more exaggerated hammer animation. Perhaps he could have lifted it over his head.

    kewry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:24am

    fun graphics there

    Yacodo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:31am

    Too bad, the IA is really a bitch ! Who's the villain in that game, player or IA ? :D

    Mase says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:28pm

    The park clearly has an infestation. Boris is just doing some necessary wildlife management.

    pillbrain says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:14pm

    Quite good fun, would be nice to see splatters or other feedback when you kill an animal though.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:53am

    Haha, this game amuses me. Felt like I needed to play some heavy metal music in the background.

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:56am

    Fun little game, could've used sound effects and some visuals when you kill something (like spatters of blood).

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 12:29am

    The game is nice, and it's always fun to smash things. But having some kind of lose condition (besides the timer) would improve it, I think.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:29am

    Well... I certainly did beat nature! lol
    Needs moat blood n guts and also rad sounds.

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:43am

    The shake when you hit is somewhat nausea-inducing, and a bit of feedback to tell that you killed something would go a long way.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]