Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 28 days, 2 hours, 41 minutes, 47 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Responsibilities - mcc - Jam Entry

    Made by Liz Ryerson
    Programmed by Andi McClure
    Protagonist sprite by Erik Osheim

    Note: The Linux version was uploaded after the deadline.
    A post-compo version is linked above, this fixes some small camera-related problems.
    If you can't get the download links above to work, Erik has a mirror of the LD version here: http://plastic-idolatry.com/erik/mcc/

    View mcc's journal. | View all entries by mcc

    Ratings

    Coolness85%
    #6Mood(Jam)4.04
    #32Audio(Jam)3.66
    #136Graphics(Jam)3.37
    #143Innovation(Jam)2.96
    #176Overall(Jam)2.96
    #218Humor(Jam)2.20
    #271Theme(Jam)2.58
    #287Fun(Jam)2.18

    Comments

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:42am

    Ouch my shoulder. Kind of hard to move around with my clicky keyboard (need to tap the arrow keys a lot), but I love the look and feel of this game. I made it to what I think was the fake ending. I'll have to try this again some more later. Good work!

    Milo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:06am

    This game does a good job with its mood. Its audio is certainly not pleasant to listen to, but I gave it a 5 because it's appropriately unnerving and builds a exotic mood.

    ripter says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:08am

    I could slowly move around, but nothing else happened.

    canary40 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:24am

    A crazy adventure! Took me a while to navigate the whole game, but quite unique. Code looks quite solid too.

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:27am

    Well that was weird.

    goulding57 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:33am

    Not my type of game, but hit the theme dead-on. Way to go. Liked the character design.

    nathanj439 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:40am

    Feels like an evil Earthbound.

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:49am

    this is great!!

    zatyka says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:40am

    I honestly had no idea what was happening. Nice visual style.

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:53am

    It really gives out the sense of "responsibilities" and sense of "shame" for humanity. Although it' just walking around, but that explores more story. My heart beats faster with this game, you know.

    The atmosphere the game created can be treat as a child to slender man, amnesia, or even fibrillation. Congrats guys !

    PS. Just one thing for blocked path, I really want to see how this game ends but I don't have that much time to figure out which path is clear to work on. Especially in the dark level that you have to figure out the way yourself.

    Wan & Manu says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:00pm

    The atmosphere of the game is pretty interesting, but the clumsy controls/camera/text display (if you pass through a "text tile" while holding an arrow you don't even have the time to read) break the charm a bit.

    Grouflon says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:40pm

    Atmosphere is really well done, great cohesion between graphics, music and gameplay, but I don't really see the point behind all this :(

    wademcgillis says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:19pm

    This was great. I'm looking forward to a sequel or Director's Cut.

    mcc says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:24am

    wade: (this is liz) i was obviously limited by time, but my plan is to add more areas to this so there's more branching paths and stuff to get lost in (sorta like Yume Nikki)

    Porpentine says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:02am

    download links are broken (at least right now) so i hosted the PC download here: http://aliendovecote.com/uploads/LD25.rar

    mcc says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:46am

    thanks, porpy! i edited the entry so people can download the windows version from there until the server problem gets fixed.

    mcc says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:17am

    Download link is fixed. I am really sorry about that. I will try to stick in an extra mirror link with all 3 downloads.

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:07am

    Wow, this game really oozes atmosphere. I'm afraid I couldn't rate you very highly on theme, as I have no idea what the theme of your game is, but whatever it is, I'm sure it's great. It seems like with more work it could be a really great interactive story. Oh, and I liked the space invader.

    mcc says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:00am

    Update: In addition to Porp's link the post has been updated with a link to a mirror of all three platforms hosted by Erik, in case the main site goes down again.. Many thanks to Erik and Porpentine.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:33am

    I like the mood but the camera controls threw me off a bit.

    psychopsam says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:36am

    Great music and sound, but I couldn't get anywhere. Got to a zoomed in view and it would no longer scroll. Looked promising.

    mcc says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:46am

    psychopsam: the weird camera control is a part of that particular area. there are lots more areas to explore.

    mcc says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:47am

    er, by that i meant that it's intentionally that way.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:20am

    What did I just play?

    You guys did a great job building up that sense of dread about the mundane workaday world, and as I progressed further and further into the game it became more and more apparent what some of the really abstract, early stages were.

    It sure was difficult to keep the arrow keys straight in my head, though.

    OxyOxspring says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:05pm

    A certainly odd but very unique game!

    Tom 7 says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:58am

    Man, this game is super weird. The graphics and music are great. In addition to the difficulty that seems purposeful (invisible mazes), I had a hard time because I think it assumes my full screen resolution is a different aspect ratio than it actually is, so I often had my character off-screen and couldn't figure out how to get him back. That would be worth fixing! I would also usually miss text because it only displayed on a single cell, but most of the time I was tap tap tapping away to move more quickly.

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:53pm

    Sorry, but I don't get what to do here :(
    I've approached the eye, then made a couple of steps on the platform and after that the camera zoomed in heavily and I've started moving on giant psychedelic ladder back and forth and... nothing else, I even can't get back into the view â the character walks out of the camera view.
    Anyway, shoegaze music's really nice and I like graphics!

    Dir3kt says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:09am

    Weird mood (in the good sense) :D

    Got stuck on the white 'Space Invader like' buddy :(

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:33am

    Loved it! The weird controls and camera during the zoomed in level was the highlight. It felt like I was on the edge of discovering something indiscoverable. I interpreted the ending as if I had just forced the character to commit suicide. Dreary. :)

    eli says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:32am

    Innovative, beautiful, moody as heck. Trial-and-error play made it quite aggravating, but I guess that only adds to the Mood score? I feel this is an extremely personal game that I can only see the surface of. Thank you for sharing this intimate experience.

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 12:48pm

    creepy.

    Pierrec says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:29pm

    I felt totally lost...which I think is a good thing. Some features were really disturbing...like the camera not always following the protagonist, but once again, it sets a mood. I got stuck in the black and white maze :/

    rylgh says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:37pm

    Very cool style and mood... loved the little dog-monster... got to work, haven't tried a different path yet.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]