Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 20 hours, 35 minutes, 11 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    A Maze Game - hannardynamite - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Read the README for controls, and bit of background to the game.

    EDIT: It's just today dawned on me that although I've been around the Ludum Dare scene for quite a while now, I've never seen what it's like behind the submission process. Hence the lack of updates til just now.

    Anyways, for those of you who don't follow me on Twitter, this game was made in approx 10-12 hours. And I also created a Jam entry (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=19372). So two entries for my first Ludum Dare! Woo!

    View hannardynamite's journal. | View all entries by hannardynamite

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #556Audio1.56
    #695Humor1.45
    #734Mood1.55
    #736Fun1.80
    #752Graphics1.51
    #765Overall1.85
    #765Innovation1.43
    #766Theme1.42

    Comments

    Dec 15, 2012 @ 3:36pm

    You made it, woo!

    It's somewhat fiddly, but the acceleration is a nice touch. Too bad you didn't have more time.

    Dec 15, 2012 @ 4:11pm

    The movement was very trial and error. The values I used were the lesser of many evils!

    But yeah, I've finally made it! :D

    CNIAngel says ...
    Dec 15, 2012 @ 4:18pm

    I love mazes :D Great to see you finally did something for a Ludum Dare.

    Adok says ...
    Dec 15, 2012 @ 6:26pm

    It's quite fun. Maybe a timer would have made it more challenging.

    Zed says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:06pm

    I am AMAZEd by this game.

    mcc says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:57am

    what a straightforward name! the movement was pretty awkward and i got stuck on corners a lot because of the shape of the avatar.

    delpes says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:02pm

    Mazes where nice but sadly no real challenge : /

    TheMelon says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:23pm

    Great little maze game. Would of loved not getting caught on corners so I could attempt a speed run.

    caranha says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:18pm

    Welcome to Ludum Dare!

    You took the time to make a title screen, and the acceleration felt nice. The collision detection was also without problems!

    A few simple suggestions to improve your game:

    1- Regarding collision detection, you could try to detect if the collision happened in the horizontal or vertical axis, and remove the speed in only that axis. The end effect is that the player will "slide" when colliding to a wall, instead of stopping immediately. I think this would make the controls more satisfying.

    2- When you collect all the pieces in a level, it is not obvious that you need to go to the exit. I thought that the game had ended there! You should light up the exit or something.

    3- One think that make even the simplest game a lot of fun is score! If you kept a running clock, the player could try to challenge himself to finish your maze in as little time as possible.

    See you next LD!

    HeXoT says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:54pm

    Very well done game.

    ust one thing, but the shape of the player made it hard to avoid collisions with the walls :/

    char68 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:40pm

    I wish I would bounce off the walls when I hit them. It seemed really hard to navigate through the halls, but the acceleration was a nice touch!

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:35pm

    I don't understand why I'm the villain in this game...

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:53pm

    Basically you're an accidental villain in that whilst you've "collected" friends, you've also taken the suns away from hundreds of solar systems. Ergo potentially killing billions of life forms.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:19am

    Well it does exactly what it says on the tin!

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:23am

    This was...

    a MAZE ing.

    YEAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

    Neonlare says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:29am

    Welcome to Ludum Dare! Good first roll mate, but a bit hard to control.

    Jan 2, 2013 @ 10:29pm

    Welcome to Ludum Dare!
    It was a good first game and doing anything in 48 hours is an impressive feat in it of itself. I just think there's several simple things you could do to vastly improve the game. First I felt that the movement was awkward. While the acceleration is fine, the starting movement is rather slow. It also took me a little while to figure out what to do after I collected all of the stars since the exit wasn't very apparent. Finally, I agree that there should be some kind of score system or time based restriction to give the player a restriction or another goal besides "collect all of the things". Regardless the game is a good attempt.

    ilo says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:48am

    I like the premise behind the game. :)

    An alternative way of introducing challenge into the game might be to make the star grow as it consumes other stars, so the player has to plan their route through the maze and avoid getting stuck.

    Jan 3, 2013 @ 9:00pm

    Too bad the villain theme didn't really show in the game itself. Is something supposed to happen after collecting all the starts?

    Like others have said, the controls could use some fine tuning.

    eli says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:33am

    I understand this is your first LD -- congratulations!!
    You put a lot into this. Keep it up!

    HeyChinaski says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:30pm

    Nice simple maze game. Well done.

    RawBits says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:04pm

    I would up this for the maze... :)

    ...although I don't think pixel based movement is a good idea here. Together with the momentum makes you stuck on the walls. To overcome this you need to implement slipping on walls - maybe using a circle for collision but that will look bad at the end of the walls.

    The entrance or at least the exit should be signed somehow - it's hard to see even if it is a the same place every time. Like with a big ass yellow arrow pointing to it.

    Also from the second level the sound is gone. Bug?

    That's all I can say. Maybe it would be better if you concentrate only on one game and add actual game elements to this one - I don't know the circs. Anyway it's a nice 1-2 hours of work. Is this your first time? In that case you have a nice start! Keep up! :)

    Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:32pm

    i would implement few additional features:
    - maze should be generated randomly
    - you need to be very precise when turning in routes in maze : you should allow to turn easier (not stack in wall just because 1 or 2 pixels)

    SuperDisk says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:09pm

    Erm. I'm not really sure why it gets all the raving reviews it did. Most people comment stuff like "You made a game congrats" signaling that they're voting on it for you rather than the game itself.. anyways

    The game was.. not themefitting at all, and actually quite weirdly put together. It uses MMF2's built in 8direction movement, you get stuck on walls, the theme doesn't make sense, the graphics were subpar, and the stars look stretched out by MMF2's resizing tool. Sorry :\

    Once I beat the first level, I could bear to play on because it was really just clumsily floating through a maze.

    impulse9 says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:36am

    The movement felt a bit rough and I'm not sure how this game fits the theme. But congrats on finishing it, anyway.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:46am

    Welcome to the dare! Hopefully you had a good experience :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]