Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Compo (Solo+Scratch+Src) Ends: in 1 day, 5 hours, 10 minutes, 44 seconds
  • Jam (Solo and Teams+Relaxed) Ends: in 2 days, 5 hours, 10 minutes, 44 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Submit/Edit Game | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Space Liberators - ceronman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is a simple game where you play as the space invaders, now liberators of the earth.

    View ceronman's journal. | View all entries by ceronman

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #230Theme3.50
    #296Innovation3.02
    #490Overall2.76
    #501Graphics2.59
    #566Fun2.40
    #614Mood2.27
    #616Audio1.13
    #623Humor1.81

    Comments

    dek says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:29pm

    Nice Idea and gameplay. Takes a while to learn though, not that easy!

    MvT says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:32pm

    Some lags, but good idea. :)

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:23pm

    Not Bad

    Blodyavenger says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:01pm

    Woah, really nice concept but it gets hard to navigate trough everything so fast. I had fun :)

    Freakill says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:45pm

    Really ncie and quick gameplay. I like the idea of taking and old game mechanic and given the theme reverse the point of view of the player :D. I just have a problem, everytime i select a player and it is immediatelly killed, the game freezes and have to restart :( A part of that, nice concept, and like the controls :D Also no sound, this is because it does not have or my problem? (playin under Ubuntu 12.10).

    PD: I've added Linux and soon adding Mac version of my game, as you said you didn't have Windows ;)

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:54pm

    Interesting... had trouble using the mage and healer...

    Kenaron1703 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:50am

    the game is good, but a little tricky, and takes a little to learn how to manage all the ships.
    Also, the game works in Opera 11.64 :)

    dekart says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:00am

    Wow, you've maid it with Dart! That's really cool!

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:39am

    Quite hard to play on an azery keyboard, and after a while I couldn't select my ships, so I lost. But cool concept, I like how it becomes more and more hectic. Good job!

    Birchmountain says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:45pm

    A very fun little game, a bit hard to understand at first but you quickly get the hand of it. Good job!

    Bobrocket says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:42pm

    it seems that after i got through the first level it froze completely, also sometimes when switching fighters i need to reload

    GameRespect says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:37pm

    Interesting concept to play as the enemy in those top-down space invasion games, though the controls could use a little more polish.

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:27am

    Great idea but the controls sucked.

    caranha says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:32am

    The game froze for me every time I tried to buy a new ship.

    Some sounds would have made quite the difference - you can make very simple and effective sounds using the BFXR software :-)

    The gameplay was quite interesting, and it is a solid take on the theme. I like how the player's ships have a more "evil" look than the enemies.

    Good luck next LD!

    Infin8 says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:08pm

    Yea I had the same problem with the ship buying.

    Nice concept with the reverse space invaders/liberators. I liked repeatedly pressing 'd' to spam bullets at the enemy.

    I can envision a sort of reflex based gameplay with this, kinda like magicka and its keyboard and mouse setup. Maybe one key chooses a ship that slows the enemy, so your other fighters can spam it.

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:38pm

    Congrats on finishing! I really like the idea, but had the same control issues as others have mentioned.

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:49pm

    Difficult controls, but I liked being able to control the whole fleet instead of just one guy.

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:59pm

    I can't switch from one healing ship to the other by pressing the same key. But the switching works for the attacker ships. Interesting idea. I hope you keep working on this game, adding sounds, audio, a proper ending screen and so on.

    GagaPete says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:27pm

    Nice idea and well done.

    ceronman says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:27pm

    @Infin8 @caranha Thanks for the bug report, it only happens on firefox. I have added a post-compo bug fix link.

    AumaanSnake says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:34pm

    Nice work!! It really fits the theme.

    Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:55am

    Interesting game! I only ended up using the fighters, and made it to level 10. Eventually I ran out of money and could no longer buy more ships or select my old ones to shoot with, so I died. I wasn't really sure where my money was coming from, or how much each unit costed, but I enjoyed it! If you work on it more, definitely add some sounds and try to simplify the game system!

    hnjslater says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:19pm

    Really original and fun. Saying that, I couldn't get the hang of the healers and mages.

    Milo says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:15am

    I found the controls almost prohibitively difficult. I ended up quitting after level 4 because I somehow got stuck selecting only "buy" tiles and it wouldn't let me select something else or buy anything more. I think, in general, the controls for buying things were what threw me off the most - I was able to use the healers and shooters (although with difficulty) until my ships started dying. It's a neat concept and definitely original, but I feel its potential is hindered by this.

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:47pm

    Nice concept, managed to figure out the healers and fighters and got to level 7 or so before falling into the trap of selecting a buy tile with no money remaining. I couldn't seem to get a mage to work, it always seemed stuck on "reloading".

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:19pm

    Interesting idea, but challenging controls.

    Neonlare says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:22pm

    Nice concept, I seem to have gotten stuck when selecting the healing unit though, I couldn't swap to anything else! :(

    shatterhand says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 6:23am

    Good idea, but like people say, the controls are hard to get used. I just kept pressing all buttons and spamming the mouse button to play it :)

    Mago says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:11am

    Cool game. Nice concept, It really fits the theme. Unfortunately controls are terrible.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]