Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 23 days, 7 hours, 46 minutes, 7 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Cruel Cruel Dastard - alect - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    CONTROLS: With the "track" item selected, hold down the mouse to lay new tracks or re-route existing tracks. You can re-route existing tracks without spending money. Just drag your mouse over the existing track in the path you want it to take.

    Cruel Cruel Dastard is a game about using the fortunes of your railway empire to rid the earth of damsels. Play by re-routing the train tracks to use your trains for villainy.

    View alect's journal. | View all entries by alect

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #29Theme4.09
    #56Fun3.60
    #59Overall3.68
    #86Humor3.47
    #98Innovation3.57
    #211Mood3.08
    #242Audio2.79
    #439Graphics2.76

    Comments

    Almost says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:58am

    Nyahaha

    shatterhand says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:19am

    Nice game! :)

    savethejets1 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24am

    Awesome idea! great use of the theme.

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:41am

    Well polished game. Kind of easy. The time should tick down even before you start playing the level.

    SimianLogic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:03am

    Love the evil chuckle--the puzzles seem pretty easy, but it's really impressive to have so many done in a weekend. I wish I could press the spacebar to start the simulation, though.

    KhaoTom says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:17am

    Well made indeed.

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:57am

    Love that laugh ha

    Fireblend says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:16am

    Pretty spot on with the theme. Great puzzle game.

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:20am

    I love that 'Nyahaha' Sound effect. Brilliant.
    Fun, cute, polished little game. I like it.

    MvT says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:00am

    Great idea, i enjoyed play !

    Meep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:10am

    Very fun; clever take on the theme. :)

    Nanolotl says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:02am

    Really intuitive track placement

    Drabiter says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:04pm

    I like the screams. Good mechanism!

    pythong says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:54pm

    harharhar, very nice gsme, this made me really feel like a bad guy ^^

    zachstronaut says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:46am

    Niiiice. You went with paint-the-tracks instead of Pipe Dream style. I really like it. And you've got consistent sprites, audio, and LEVELS! Excellent! I'd actually play the crap out of this game. You should keep it going.

    zachstronaut says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:47am

    Missing goats though? heh

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:44am

    Very nice. One of the best I've seen so far. Good art, great use of theme (plays perfectly into pop culture and everyone gets it) and the mechanics are such that you can get a lot of levels out of them. I think you nailed it.

    Dioiminik says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:11pm

    I liked this Game a lot :D You should maybe just have a quick tooltip like thing to show what stuff is doing, because I pretty much discovered how everything works by accident... But that's fun too I guess ;)

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:23pm

    Interesting gameplay, not really on theme though.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:45pm

    The laugh sound is incredible. Really cool puzzle game, great work! Definitely the best application of the theme, too. Also, congrats on getting on Terry Cavanaugh's Site!

    Toadpud says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:31am

    Awesome. Just a little short.

    illugion says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:19am

    "Nyahaha" that laugh is really funny XD

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:48am

    this is good! nice little puzzle game, well executed idea

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:59am

    A nice little game with a fun concept. Well done!

    Red Mike says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:21am

    Hey there, rail-idea partner. o/

    Neat little game. Mouse interaction felt a bit odd when laying tracks, but it works fine.

    allinlabs says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:29am

    Amazingly good puzzle game !

    har_g says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:03pm

    Nyahaha :D

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:04pm

    Nice idea, controls a bit harsh but pleasant !

    recursor says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:13pm

    This is a really fun game. The sound effects are great, and the graphics fit nicely. Well done!

    JFlegle says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:35pm

    Very nice game

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:20pm

    Very good job, the game sucked me right in. Nice one!

    JesterBLUE says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:37pm

    Loved the win / lose level noises. Liked the variety of things to buy throughout the game. Brilliant idea with the theme.

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:07am

    Very nice puzzle game! The art style and theme fit well! Good job! :D

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:55am

    I think I like this more than Trainyard.

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:04am

    Very nice. Surprised at the depth. Liked the challenge. Great pacing. Nice work.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:13pm

    Awesome job! I love the implementation of theme here. Great little puzzler. With some fancier graphics and sounds, I can totally see this selling on mobile devices.

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:36pm

    Reminds me of Trainyard. I do really like the arcadey aspect of having to place track while it's running.

    3dwoody says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:13pm

    Good work. Great use of the theme.

    Nisshoku says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:44pm

    Great idea, nice puzzle game. :)

    Milo says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:22am

    Excellent job here. This is a really original and fun game - I was kind of sad when it ended.

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:23pm

    Nihaha :)

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:48pm

    Happy Death Train vs Damsels. Great job, esp. for in 48 hours.

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:40pm

    This is lovely :)

    zatyka says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:47pm

    Well done. I enjoyed it quite a bit. Nothing major to complain about.

    raincole says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:34am

    level design is very good. Reasonable difficulty curve.

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:49pm

    Good concept. Good work with levels.

    Mesene says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:18pm

    I felt villain, and that was good >:]

    ENDESGA says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:36pm

    nice!

    AdricZero says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:57pm

    Definitely a favorite of mine. Great concept, well executed.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:47am

    Impressive ! It's a really hard work to make a puzzle game in 48h. Very good work !

    tomc says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:49pm

    Good mix of mechanics; fun gameplay!

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:59am

    I WIN! :)
    Superb job! Cute graphics and audio, and great fun to play!

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:43pm

    I'm pressing space but there's no "Choo Choo". :(
    I like this game.

    mcc says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:50am

    i had fun with this one. nice idea and puzzle design!

    leafo says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:06am

    This game is really cool. Great idea! There's a lot of variation in the puzzles too. This is really good for 48 hours.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]