Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 21 days, 21 hours, 13 minutes, 16 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    "I Never COULD Get The Hang Of Thursdays..." - Zed - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Not only is this a Ludum Dare entry, it's also the prologue to my attempt at the 'One Game A Month' Project, which I encourage all LD-ers to sign up for (http://onegameamonth.com). I'll be telling a 12-part story wrapped around nonsensical minigames... Much like this game.

    Despite that, obviously as per the rules, I didn't work on or plan ANY of this before this weekend (Do you really think I'd PLAN something as ludicrous as this?). I just sort-of made it up as I went along, as I tend to do.

    So basically, there are three minigames, all of which require the use of a mouse. I really don't suggest trying to play it with a trackpad. That'd be torturous. But I mean, if you're one of those 'hardcore gamer' types, then go ahead.

    I'm not even going to give you instructions for any of them, because they're REALLY easy to figure out and you can't technically 'lose', so just kinda keep going until you get it.

    I will, however, give you some tips, in case you get stuck.

    Game 1: The point at which you have to move the mouse is actually REALLY small, so find it and then just kinda wiggle your hand a bit.

    Game B: There's a point in the middle of the road where you can just sit and complete the whole game. But y'know, put some effort in, first.

    Game Tres: This IS possible. I know it seems devilishly difficult, but your collision box is actually smaller than you think it is.

    Also, the theme won't make much sense unless you actually FINISH the game, so don't go giving me one star just because you got stuck on one of the minigames. Not that you'd do anything of the sort, of course. You're lovely, you.

    Think that's it. Sorry about the horrible patchwork I had to do to cover the crash. Flash apparently doesn't like resetting the location of the mouse pointer, so I have to ask YOU to do it. You don't mind, do you? No, of course not. You're lovely, you!

    EDIT: Bugfix. Updated the hitbox on the 'steer the turtleped' game to be less silly.

    View Zed's journal. | View all entries by Zed

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #10Humor4.06
    #82Audio3.36
    #119Fun3.40
    #153Overall3.40
    #158Mood3.21
    #235Graphics3.29
    #285Innovation3.04
    #614Theme2.56

    Comments

    KhaoTom says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:25am

    I enjoyed your funny adventure game.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:51am

    Is saying "It's A typical Zed-Game" good or bad? Because it totally is!

    Love the low-fi-approach. Nice work on the minigames, the "Yeah!" is awesome :D

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:56pm

    This all mouth-made soundtrack is nice.

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:00pm

    I finally got to stroke the turtle!
    That this is a the prequel to 1GAM foretells.. disturbing things. Can't wait!

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:29pm

    Very funny, well done. Can't wait for the continuation.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:31pm

    I stroke the turtle like crazy during 20 seconds before realizing I had to skip the last dialog line firt.

    I played the 2nd level 20 times before realizing I could just say on the middle of the road...

    Now I feel dumb. Thank you.

    As usual, your game made me laugh out loud, as usual (and as Matthias), I like the low-fi approach and as usual, your mouth-made audio is great.
    I like how you managed to make me play boring mini-games and feel satisfied about it.

    The annoying thing is I also made a games with mini-games and funny-narration, but now I realize it's not as good :/

    Nolan C says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:25am

    This game is absolutely awesome. Well done, fellow MS Painter.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:49pm

    And here I thought graphics made with mspaint couldn't look good, guess I was wrong. This was pretty nice, the final challenge was a bit annoying though. Hilarious writing and sounds!

    joekinley says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:51pm

    Oh man what an awesome game you made there. You should totally release the soundtrack :D
    Buuut, one but here, am I the only one who can't seem to be able to read most of the text as it doesn't show up in the boxes? Most texts made no sense as it didn't show everything :(

    Still fun game, fun minigames, and I was told to be a VILLAIN by that crazy lab goat. So I won. You did a great job

    leafo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:17am

    I love the art, it's very well done. Good game.

    NostraDamon says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:54pm

    I admit, I used the right-click cheat for the last mini-game :/
    Nice game though.

    saguaro says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:39am

    Best sound effects ever. The turtle-ped's hit detection is questionable HOWEVER it did not stop me or ruin my dreams.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:46am

    Loved certain mechanics of the game but there was quite a bit to read at the beginning. Nice Work indeed.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:25am

    Haha this is very cool :)

    evilseanbot says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:07am

    Very charming personality to the game. The turtleped part seemed too unforgiving.

    mcc says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:55am

    very cute! i love the how lovingly home-made it feels. the writing also reminds me of text adventure games i did when i was younger :D

    infernet89 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:44pm

    Woha, that was very long for a Ludum Dare game! Really liked the "music", very nice idea!

    Here are some annotations:
    1- In the 2nd minigame (the cars) maybe you inverted the graphics of the other cars, because it's looks like they are going backwards!
    2- Last minigame is insanely hard. I cheated that by clicking with right mouse button (two timees= and move the mouse directly to the goal.

    Very funny story too!

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:51pm

    what an intriguing game !
    really custom made... :)

    Zed says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:52pm

    Ha, I didn't know you could even cheat in the last minigame. I actually hate that one, since it decided to just... not work (hence the ugly fix, I do apologise). The collision detection in the racing game is meant to have 'depth' to it, in that your handlebars can go in front of the cars on the top, since you're technically in front of them, but that's kinda hard to do with my, ahem, 'limited' art skills.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:05pm

    Well, its fun to see a MS Paint design :)
    Its sort of classic, but i had fun playing it and the voice is very good! Humour is good :)

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:13pm

    The turtle stroking was intense!

    Ditto says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:19pm

    Soundeffects and soundtrack made me giggle^^ Also super nice graphics!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:38pm

    hahahahahahaha funny game bro! :D xD LOL poor turtle :S xD

    steamgirl says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:40pm

    It was pretty fun - and certainly very funny! But the turnip challenge made me feel dizzy/sick and hurt my eyes (not sure if it was the flashing or the tension building up). That sort of ruined the fun for me.

    Other than that - really well done! I'm impressed how much you managed to achieve in such a short amount of time!

    hypp says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:06pm

    Very nice especially the music!

    Strkl says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:35pm

    Very very funny, reminded me a lot of Runman (graphic wise) the sound is ridiculously funny,

    I closed the game after my tenth attempt a the car minigame, way too frustrating, but great job, love you humor

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:31pm

    Initially very funny and then I got a bit tired of reading. We think it needs a higher action/dialogue ratio. It was indeed ms paint-errific though, and we loved the soundtrack until our ears started bleeding.

    OrangeeZ says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:09am

    Strangest little game I ever played. With BB and goats.
    Minigames could use some polish - if it wasn't for your tip about 2nd one, I'd never finish it - but overral enjoyable.

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:20am

    Leaving the sound of you catching your breath during the singing was pretty funny. The whole thing progresses nicely and is fun to play.

    gritfish says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:03am

    Very funny. The voice-music is great. Congrats on building three separate games in one.

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:23pm

    Pretty funny. Some hitboxes could have been a bit smaller though.

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:02am

    Amazing. Love your art style and vocalized music. Hilarious game - one of my favorites! :D

    grifdail says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:55pm

    Wahou ! I loved the music. I guess you already know the car hitbox probleme.

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:05pm

    I was quite completely entertained by this experience. Thanks.

    bentog says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 12:05pm

    Dun dururun daran dun durun darun dun dun... Funny game!

    wademcgillis says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 6:40pm

    I NEVER COULD GET THE HANG OF THE TURTLEPED. YOUR COLLISION BOXES BELONG IN THE LOO.

    Jan 2, 2013 @ 7:21pm

    I was a little skeptical of all the words at first. Then it got fun and I didn't care ;)

    feili says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 10:54pm

    I enjoyed that ugly game! good job!

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:44pm

    lol... awesome! ...i think the music has melted my brain.

    impulse9 says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 3:19pm

    Nice music and great humour. :)

    kibertoad says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:36pm

    Turtleped was too hardcore for me.

    DavidErosa says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:32am

    I really LOVED the "music" and the audio! I almost give up with the last mini-game (I'm the worst with the mouse...) but I finally made it! GREAT game! Thanks!

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 6:04am

    Pretty awesome game. I enjoyed the dialog and improv voice, there must have been a lot of breath catching to make this game. Props to that!

    Jan 4, 2013 @ 5:59pm

    I like these kinds of things. If games can be classified the same way art is, this style is definitely part of the "Brutalist" movement. Good work.

    Aslai says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:18am

    Those sound effects...

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:13am

    Absolutely Zedalicious :D

    Loved the changing mechanics of the different levels. You did a great job unifying everything through concept and presentation. Also, you're the master of vocalized audio effects/melodies.

    Really enjoyed it, was the perfect ending to a terribly stressful evening.

    recursor says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:51pm

    This was quite humorous, and I like the MSPaint artwork too.

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:33pm

    very fun to play game , only if I didn't restated the second mini game a dozen times :(, and great story too , it is prepared for a second part when you kill the g**t scientist and save the world

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:46pm

    I had to mute early on so I wouldn't start hurting people. Quite a bit of animation involved and a lot of verbiage, the game parts are a bit underdeveloped.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:37pm

    Okay, that was funny, and the art and music style really meshed well with mood of the game, but that demonic abomination of an operation-like mini game is ridiculous! It took me half an hour, using a digitizer pen which should as precise as one can get. Finally with my resolution as low as it could go I got through. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!

    Anyway still a really good game.

    Volpes says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 3:07pm

    Very funy game, but the second minigame had some broken collsions and was therefore quit hard. But overall an extremly nice game!

    Bobrocket says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:41pm

    very fun!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]