Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 24 days, 14 hours, 15 minutes, 41 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    AnteChristmas - nSun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You play a Troll, maybe Santa-Cloth take you for a smart sprite... Your pleasure : breaking packed toys ! (no mercy for cute kids !)

    Controls : Arrow keys LEFT, DOWN and RIGHT to move around the workshop
    Press SHIFT to hold your Hammer, release to hit a package.

    Warning ! Santa Clothes is watching you !

    If you let too many packages, and the sled is pretty loaded for a trip, climb immediately on top-screen by pressing the arrow key UP.
    Wield your hammer (SHIFT) and run down to the sleigh in the sky.

    View nSun's journal. | View all entries by nSun

    Ratings

    Coolness84%
    #142Graphics3.59
    #194Humor3.04
    #204Mood3.10
    #219Overall3.26
    #240Innovation3.13
    #263Theme3.44
    #273Audio2.69
    #358Fun2.85

    Comments

    Jacic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:22am

    I love the art style. :)

    ethankennerly says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:30am

    Looks and sounds like an authentic Game Boy or a handheld electronic LCD game! Way to make the time constraints into your style. After I realized I had a hammer to smash with, I had fun sneaking by Santa and smashing the toys. If you continue to develop this, my laptop resolution is small, and when I pressed up or down arrow key the browser scrolled.

    MvT says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:30am

    Cool graphics. :)

    nSun says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:52pm

    thanks ;)

    @ethankennerly : about scrolling
    It looks like a bug/fail, but actually I made this scrolling for small resolution (height need 900px) Pressing UP/DOWN focus on top-screen / bottom-screen, so follow the player.
    I code this effect early to fix that problem, but after that I dont find enough time to adjust perfectly with the game-play.

    Nolan C says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:44am

    Awesome, definitely reminds me of Mario's Cement Factory. Great art, my only complaint is I kept turning on sticky keys by pressing Shift too much.

    Keevor says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:25am

    Even though i havn't really played many(any) Game and watch games this still reminds me of them.sounds ans graphics fit.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:51am

    Graphic and sound arts are so true to the real Game&Watch.
    It maybe misses a loosing condition which will greatly enhance the gameplay experience.
    Nice work !

    nSun says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:21am

    @Colapsydo : loose / game over
    I agree, but missing time and have to chose between : finish top-screen game-play of making game over event.
    It will be done on post-compo ;)

    jsmars says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:12pm

    Really well made overall! Would have played the shit out of this game as a kid.. I wouldn't use the shift key tho since it activates sticky keys popup in windows/browsers.. also would be good to have some limit to how many times santa can see you while smashing a package before game over, so it's more of a challange :) Nice job!

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:25pm

    I love the minimalist retro style. Very charming. The gameplay is incredibly easy, though. Would've liked more of a challenge. Great interpretation of theme. Who could be worse than someone ruining Christmas???!!!

    dek says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:58am

    I love the idea and art! But I had problems playing it. When using the arrow keys, it would move the whole page, even though the flash app is active :S

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:27pm

    very very nice style! great job. is there a reason it's called AnteChristmas instead of AntiChristmas?

    nSun says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:27pm

    @rylgh : it's called AnteChristmas instead of AntiChristmas?

    Of course. I wanted to reffer to the name of "antechrist".
    But your question made me realize that in english the name is "antichrist"... "antechrist" is the name in french, and I thought it was derived from the Latin, so common in all languagesâÄčâÄč. That's a mistake, sorry.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:56pm

    What a great idea to emulate one of those cheap LCD handhelds! This doesn't look like it should be a lot of fun, but somehow it is, and strangely addictive. I couldn't figure out why I shouldn't smash packages under Santa's eyes though; I don't get any points, but it doesn't seem to do any harm otherwise, so you can just keep playing indefinitely if you bash Shift in time to knock down the sleigh. It would also be cool if every next level was a bit faster than the one before.

    As to the name: "ante" means "before", so although it's not what you intended, it's not entirely inappropriate ;)

    har_g says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:32pm

    Nice art.

    Yacodo says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:39am

    That feeling... old portable console. :)

    The height is too damn high, can't see the upper part when playing

    Zener says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:04pm

    I like the art style and the overall idea. My only complay is the sticky keys popup appearing all the time.

    nSun says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:54pm

    @Zener, @Jsmas : "sticky keys" (Touches remanentes)

    Sticky-keys are useless for most users, I think. Personally I disabled it, and I think everyone should do it. But I know take this feedback into consideration the next time I have to set the controls.
    About this game, it is not necessary to smash the SHIFT key, besides the fact that the action is triggered by releasing the key goes in this direction: Press to hold the hammer, release to hit.

    TIP :
    http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/window-on-windows/quick-tip-disable-the-sticky-and-filter-keys-in-windows/3910

    (french)
    Les touches remanentes sont inutiles pour la plupart des utilisateurs, je pense. Personellement je les ai desactive, et je crois que chacun devrait le faire. Mais je saurais prendre ce feedback en consideration la prochaine fois quand j'aurais à definir des controles.
    Concernant ce jeu, il n'est pas necessaire de marteller la touche SHIFT, d'ailleurs le fait que l'action se declenche en relachant la touche va dans ce sens : Presser pour lever le marteau, relacher pour frapper.

    Astuce :
    http://www.commentcamarche.net/faq/870-windows-touches-remanentes

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    I liked your idea and the art style, but I think the game is too repetitive.

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:06am

    I loved it! great job

    feili says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:32am

    An overall good game! Well polished!

    goerp says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:59am

    This had a real feeling of the old lcd game consoles. Very well done. I think this would play well on an actual machine.
    I played for some time, but didn't find a winning or losing condition. It would help if there was more danger of losing.
    But nice.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:37am

    Very nice art work and style. Fairly simple game, but LCD games are like that. Good stuff!

    timtipgames says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:56am

    Back to childhood with this game :) You really matched the simplicity of these devices games. Also like how the sound-effects match. I agree, that a loosing condition would have been nice, but I also understand the lack of time and the priority to finish upper-screen gameplay. All in all really nice.

    Houly says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:08pm

    Cool game and watch style game :) Perfect for this time of the year. But I had no problem with santa, he doesn't really seam to care.

    caranha says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:59pm

    Pretty cool game!

    I think you captured perfectly the mood and spirit of those game and watch systems. I felt myself nostalgia-ing hard while I played your game.

    Only problem is that the difficulty didn't seemed to increase over time. Once I got myself a rhythm in the factory, I couldn't see how Santa could ever hope to defeat me. Maybe the presents/Santa could speed up over time?

    Also, it would be a neat little extra bonus if the "buttons" on the game foreground were clickable :-)

    Thanks for the creative entry!

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:11pm

    You really managed to get this Game & Watch feel. My only criticism would be that Santa doesn't seem to give a shit. He should try to stop me!
    Anyway, great job!

    caranha says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:42pm

    Pierrec - It took me a while to realize that too, but If you break things while Santa is watching, you don't get points!

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:14pm

    Nice electronic game feeling :) You managed to design a cool game even with the "no-sprite-overlap" rules. I think that santa watch should be game-over, or maybe angry santa watch ( 2x errors in short times ) . Not scoring for a miss is not enough. The up part is more an easter egg than a real gameplay mechanic.

    chambers says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:03am

    I loved the idea. Since you went through all the trouble of making all animation frames not intersect with each other like in a true G&W game, I think it would have been great if you always rendered all possible object positions with 5% of opacity or so, as it happens when you hold a LCD screen in a certain angle and look at it. It would certainly bring the game a very realistic, retro feeling!

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:01am

    Very solid retro feeling. Good job!

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:44pm

    Throwing the hammer at the sleigh was an awesome touch; it feels so wrong to do that. I love the LCD look.

    Xavier says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:59pm

    Yeah, nice graphics and sounds though the gameplay is a bit odd.

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:53pm

    Liked the retro vibe, wished SHIFT wasn't used as the main control key, though (get lots of Windows suggestions to use Sticky Keys)...

    Demurgos says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:37pm

    Je n'ai pas oublié de venir noter ton jeu même si j'ai eu l'occasion de le tester pendant son développement. ;)

    Pour le thème et les graphismes tu obtiens la note maximale parce que l'idée est claire et le concept bien rendu. Après la durée de vie est un peu courte mais c'est sympa.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]