Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 28 days, 11 hours, 18 minutes, 7 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Barback - Radiatoryang - Jam Entry

    full write-up on my blog: http://www.blog.radiator.debacle.us/2012/12/new-game-barback-for-ludum-dare-25.html

    CONTROLS =======
    WASD and arrow keys.

    THEME? =========
    I didn't want to make a game about a blatant villain. Maybe that's why this game doesn't seem to fit the theme too well -- villainy *has* to be blatant, or else you're not a villain?

    ABOUT ==========
    I was playing Tapper the other day at Barcade and it occurred to me how bad the multiplayer was: basically, one person watches the other person do stuff, no simultaneous play.

    One of the reasons was probably because of the screen ratio / joysticks: the arcade cabinet has a very tall screen, which means they had to orient the bar counters horizontally to make room for all of the sprites. That meant a player needed two joysticks: 1 for movement, and 1 to pull-down to pour a beer. (For 2 player simultaneous play, the machine would need 4 joysticks!!)

    The idea of a "downward motion" mapping to "pouring a beer" is very important. Fortunately, because 16:9 screen ratios are so common now, I can orient the counters vertically and now players just need 1 joystick each, and it still maps as "down = beer."

    BUGS / REGRETS ============
    - sometimes, 2+ patrons will take the same mug... essentially producing a net gain of mugs for you, actually
    - patrons keep drinking even after the level is over
    - typos and stuff, ergh
    - I want to rewrite the script but didn't have time
    - it's hard to find music

    CREDITS =========
    - all art by me, most of it handpainted within 48 hours
    - Rokkitt font by someone else
    - music by "Stormby" http://ccmixter.org/files/Stormby/39747
    - lots of freesound.org samples
    - some mechanics from "Tapper", but it's a very different game altogether with my rule changes

    View Radiatoryang's journal. | View all entries by Radiatoryang

    Ratings

    Coolness50%
    #55Fun(Jam)3.40
    #73Overall(Jam)3.44
    #112Innovation(Jam)3.13
    #129Graphics(Jam)3.42
    #135Humor(Jam)2.73
    #167Mood(Jam)2.81
    #208Audio(Jam)2.43
    #320Theme(Jam)1.78

    Comments

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:57am

    Very hard to play one-player, but otherwise a fun, well-executed game.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:06am

    Is this intended to be a 2 player game. I played it by myself and had a blast. Makes it really challenging though, in a good way. The only thing that was tough to rate you very high on was theme, but I think you probably already knew that. Great job!

    Tanner says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:34am

    Iam a failure. But the game works pretty good in singleplayer mode as a multi tasking nightmare too. :D

    Robotic says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:25am

    Pretty fun, and an original take on the theme

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:46pm

    It does not have much to do with the theme (as you said) but I must say that the graphics are amazing for such a short time lapse. Congrats!

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:21pm

    I need to find a friend to try this, but it's still fun to play alone (even if much harder, my right hand is doing great while my left hand keep making mistakes!)
    Overall, the game is great! Pretty, fun...everything! It doesn't even need music, it sounds just great like this.

    It's probably because the characters are called Jake and Elliott but I would totally see this bar somewhere on Kentucky Route Zero. ^^

    goulding57 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:24am

    Very fun to play. Completely forgot about the 2nd guy until halfway thru, so totally lost, but had fun doing so.

    Bensonance says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:03pm

    Dude, fantastic game! Loved the gameplay, art and music, but narratively as soon as you justify a character's actions they begin to lose their villainess. They turn into more of an anti-hero.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:20am

    Wow unexpectedly cool multiplayer game. Will have to play this with my brother before rating!

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:32am

    pretty tough game one player!

    evilseanbot says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:34am

    Five stars! Put the needle down on me!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:50pm

    This is fantastic. Excellent work.

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:12pm

    I have fun!
    Really hard to play by one player and control both of them. Yeah, I hate the blue one, ha ha. I saw your blog post on ludum dare website about the initial woring-in-progress, that time is just a bare-bone bars. This is a big leap. Good work!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:36pm

    Lovely title! Like the low-fi graphics, and how the 3d looks 2d :D

    Didn't like the unskippable intro though, and the "looping" movement, where you suddenly jump from the rightmost side to the left. Also too bad it isn't really about "villainy" :(

    mcc says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:57am

    cool idea. wish i could play this 2-player -_-

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]