Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 15 days, 16 hours, 44 minutes, 59 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Gobelin's dungeon - Manest - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    It's my second attempt in Ludum Dare and first time I finish.

    My game is very far away from what I hoped, but it's running so I'm realy happy.

    The goal is simple, the adventurers advances and you must block them with walls and monsters when they are ready to be used. If they save the 3 princesses, you lost. You must kill all the adventurers for win.

    You can click on '1' or '2' on you keyboard for choose the stuff and click with mouse where you want to paste it.


    Thank you for your feedback!

    View Manest's journal. | View all entries by Manest

    Ratings

    Coolness88%
    #170Theme3.65
    #174Fun3.25
    #199Innovation3.22
    #246Overall3.21
    #292Graphics3.12
    #315Mood2.88
    #363Humor2.53
    #489Audio2.00

    Comments

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:49pm

    Entertaining !

    rumachine says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:24pm

    Great game! Thanks for it.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:06pm

    My second favorite (the first favorite is an expert god of ludum dare, so you can consider this as a great point)

    gwozdziu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:10pm

    Should be continued. Keep on working.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:40pm

    Fun idea! It works and sounds are appropriate, good graphics too. Well executed.

    MvT says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:19pm

    Graphics are great, but a little bit too hard at the beginning.

    amidos2006 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:27pm

    Nice innovative game :) I like the idea the more u leave the enemy without spawning the better he become

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:22pm

    Nice one!

    mrspeaker says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:47pm

    Great fun, and a great idea.

    vidarn says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:50pm

    Entertaining and well executed. Great job!

    joekinley says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:51pm

    Veery nice game. The graphics were brilliant. So was the fun. Although it sure was hard. Nice touch on the theme.
    The mood was awesome too. Man, but the graphics were just brilliant and spot on.

    Nice work. I had a lot of fun fighting these gnarly heroes. They were just too strong and the mermaids/princesses too runny. But it was a brilliant game.

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:01pm

    Really great concept. Sort of like anti-Zelda tower defense...Or something :)
    Would be great if there were a few more choices for things to place (e.g. stronger walls/trolls with a longer cool-down)

    Volute says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:31pm

    Nice concept !

    YopSolo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:17pm

    cool idea

    Meep says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:26pm

    Nice graphics and gameplay. I really enjoyed this one. :) I feel it should be clearer as to what 'too close' to the adventurers is. Like, where I'm not allowed to place things. Other than that, good wor!

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:30pm

    Simple but fun. I did spend a bit too much time trying to block the path before told I wasn't allowed to but it provided enough of a barrier that my goblins...I mean Gobelins were able to beat the last hero into submission.

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:01pm

    Neat game! I liked the graphics and basic game play. I hope you keep working on it!

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:11pm

    Really enjoyed the tower defense feel, nice sprites too!

    drizzlybear says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:04pm

    Love the concept! Was fun! :)

    AhNinniah says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:28pm

    I really like the idea and gameplay.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:41pm

    That was entertaining! The adventurers were kicking my butt quite a bit, but it was nice being challenged.

    Scott McBee says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:04am

    Battles were a bit confusing since all units stacked on top of each other, and it sometimes felt weird to place blocks or units because there was no feed back prior to clicking if I was too close or not. I did enjoy it, though, and played through a few times.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:45am

    Fits the theme well and overall a nice and polished game.

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:59am

    Kinda reminds me of Gauntlet in reverse.

    Lythom says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:10am

    Very nice game ! Everything is very good to me, except thoses points :
    - Title screen might be a little more attractive (colors / pictures / a button that looks like a button)
    - Sounds are very aggressive, somethink smoother would be great
    Mentions for :
    - Severals walls and floor tiles => It gives a very nice looking to this game.
    - Talkings between monsters and heros are fun.

    Thanks for the game !

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:24pm

    Nothing like some hero blood to help the decor

    Waynetron says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:12am

    Nice game, I like the concept. I used the blocks to funnel everyone into the same chokepoint, then filled the chokepoint with monsters. It made the game a little easy. Perhaps making clusters of monsters less effective could help combat this strategy.
    Another monster type could help spice it up a bit also.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:22am

    A little bit slow but well executed :)

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:36pm

    Entertaining game I liked it, but i think it might need some extra music ,ooh and when the game ends by killing all the adventurers I couldn't figure out that it realy ended because nothing had happened, there was't even a message, but a good game though keep doing well :)

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:42pm

    well i think after playing it again there was ;)

    Yacodo says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:27pm

    Really interesting one, a bit slow but excellent.

    Hatscat says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:43pm

    I love it! Realy cool! Great idea!

    dev_redant says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:15pm

    Really enjoyable game. Fun and challenging at the same time! One of the favorite games of mine that I've reviewed today. Bravo!

    Kenaron1703 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:29pm

    I like the game, but there must be a second level (or not, I'm just saying).
    It's really good, but you should do more of it

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:00am

    it's nice! I love vertical scrolling and adventurers destroying walls, really well done! You should continue in development of this game!

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    Quite cool, I suggest some tweaking to speed up the play and improve the AI.

    Datw says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:43pm

    Good game, just a bit slow. The lack of background music was bad too. But still, very fun!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]