Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 25 days, 16 hours, 42 minutes, 19 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Grand Wreck Auto - naufr4g0 - Jam Entry

    You are a thug, who like violence and to vandalize things punching them. Your aim is to destroy all cars on the screen avoiding cops.
    Try to destroy cars when cops are far enough. If a cop see you vandalizing a car, he run to you and hit your face with a club!
    I'm sorry for the bugs. I'll try to remove them soon.
    Enjoy the game and leave me a comment.

    Controls:
    Arrow keys = move
    Z = throw a punch

    UPDATE: I uploaded a post-jam version of the game, where I solved some bugs and activated all menus. The game is also a bit more easy to complete since I improved collision detection.
    There is also available a jam version for OSX.

    Gameplay video:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cBP8YEpjIuU

    View naufr4g0's journal. | View all entries by naufr4g0

    Ratings

    Coolness63%
    #113Graphics(Jam)3.50
    #154Audio(Jam)2.86
    #161Humor(Jam)2.62
    #170Theme(Jam)3.27
    #211Mood(Jam)2.64
    #225Overall(Jam)2.77
    #253Fun(Jam)2.37
    #279Innovation(Jam)2.23

    Comments

    krutech says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:24am

    When I press "Play" the game crashes and I have installed the vcredist 2012. :(

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:43am

    Try to open the game more times. I know there are some bugs (the game surely doesn't work 2 times in the same session), but I'm working to correct them.

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:22pm

    MSVCP110.dll is missing and I can't play :( Although I should have everything installed

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:23pm

    (I am on windows 8)

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:56pm

    @krutech: Try this version:
    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/4564869/LD25/GrandWreckAuto101.zip

    @MaTX: you have to download Microsoft VS2012 redistributable from: http://download.microsoft.com/download/1/3/2/13297EFB-ED35-46B5-BD9A-F32CF7CC2CFF/VSU1/vcredist_x86.exe

    Kuulog says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    Nice looking game, but setting the options doesn't seem to work for me.

    tumoxep says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:16pm

    I guess I understand why your game crashes: I just set full screen:off in options and it worked.
    The game is very hard by the way. But the music and grraphics are very nice.

    dsoft20 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:22pm

    Nice little game, a little bit difficult

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:28pm

    The game doesn't work for me and I have the redistributable installed (as far as I know). Additionally trying to install the redistributable I got an error on that.

    Will try to play it again later on on a different computer.

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:11pm

    @tumoxep: thanks for trying to make the game work, but options menu don't affect the game anyway. Maybe it was just a coincidence.
    @Kuulog: I had no time to add this feature, although I had expected it.
    @Starspell: I hope you manage to make it work on the other computer. :)
    @dsoft20: thanks! I hope you have it finished!

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:01pm

    Can't play windows games. :-(

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:52pm

    Really nice pixel art and sounds. Although I am not sure how I am supposed to avoid those superpowered guards :D

    Nice entry!

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:16pm

    @Starspell: I uploaded a new version with a lot of bugs fixed. Let's try it! :)

    @MaTX: you could fight, until they fall unconscious to the ground. ;)

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:38am

    I just found it really difficult to actually get more than 2 cars. Once you have people attacking you from both sides it's just tennis, I can't see a way to win this. I can't tell what ducking does either. Nice graphics though.

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:10pm

    Very good entry :D

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:39am

    Impossible to win, but nice idea.

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:37am

    @Brothers: I assure you that you can. :)
    Anyway I know about the game difficulty, but having created only one level, I couldn't do otherwise.
    I'm planning to create more levels with increasing difficulty and new blows (punches and kicks).

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:17am

    Haaaaaaard man! I always get killed!

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:18am

    I would love to see a vid of you beating the game :) Maybe it runs differently for you but from my experience You can't run away from being punched, it's luck who gets the first punch in, and that person is the one who dominates for the rest of the fight, people only stay down for about 2 seconds, there's nowhere you can punch a car from without being seen, if you get started on from both sides, you're dead, and if enough people start on you at least one will not be unconscious at any given moment, meaning you can never run away (you die) haha. Seriously, I have no idea how anyone could beat this game!! I'm intruiged.

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:18am

    The graphics are very nice, but it's way too hard. The cops gang up on you and you can't do much against them.

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 1:49am

    @BrothersT: I invite you to try the post-jam version of the game I just uploaded. I think is a bit too easy.
    Anyway I'll soon make a vid of me beating the original jam version. :)
    @h.attila: If you want, try the post-jam version.

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 1:51am

    @BrothersT: I mean "a bit MORE easy", not "a bit TOO easy". Sorry.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:37pm

    A vid would be awesome, and I will try the post compo version for sure!!

    Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:51pm

    Nice. The guards awake to fast.

    Pope PAF says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:49am

    Doesn't work on my school computers sorry ;)

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:51am

    @Pope PAF: Which OS they use? Windows XP?

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:52am

    This game looks so good, and I'm sure it'd be a blast to play, but the cops are way stronger than you are. It needs either more balance or... a JUMP BUTTON!

    Dunno if you've added either of those in the post compo, might take a look soon!

    Otherwise you did do a pretty good job!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]