Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 30 days, 5 hours, 55 minutes, 20 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 65 days, 6 hours, 43 minutes, 20 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Shadow Of The Bosses - superjoebob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Create and program bosses, then fight endless waves of what other people create as the hero.

    In editor mode, place a core first, then place things attached to the core. Click the gear to add actions, click components to change their action timelines. Once you've named and branded your robot, it will start showing up in other peoples games.

    View superjoebob's journal. | View all entries by superjoebob

    Ratings

    Coolness50%
    #11Innovation4.19
    #47Overall3.74
    #58Fun3.59
    #106Audio3.28
    #109Graphics3.74
    #194Theme3.59
    #205Mood3.09
    #295Humor2.73

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:50am

    Like the symmetry between the editor mode and fighting mode

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:02am

    Really cool concept, but a little complicated. Unfortunately a number of people are going to get no further than putting in a core and leaving it, so then you have a bunch of bosses that just die, and that is no fun for the fighting part. I think you bit off a lot here and I'm impressed at how well it works.

    Falkreon says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:30am

    I'd love to see a post-LD update to this, with more boss pieces and logic tiles. I really spent a lot of time on this one fine-tuning bosses, fighting bosses, and jumping all over where I'm not supposed to be (you can jump around on/in bosses!). The design decisions actually wind up being surprisingly deep. This is not just a throwaway game.

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:20pm

    This is frikkin epic :D

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:12pm

    God damn, man! One of my favourite games so far. Ok, I sucked at creating a boss (attempted it... I had a guy crawling to the left firing wildly about :D). But God, you did all of that in 48 hours? Props to you, my friend.

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:28am

    Building a boss!! So cool!!

    doos says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:04pm

    I made a core, surrounded it with frame, gave it spider legs, clicked the green arrow and it exploded. I obviously need a manual for this game!

    jujule says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:22pm

    I'm spending too much time on this game. I just love it. Any chances for a post LD release ?

    Philip Wagner says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:28pm

    Yeah, cool idea. But I had more fun being the hero and destroying other users creations. Had a little tough time finding out how to create one boss that does something right.

    nkling says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:39pm

    Wow awesome work on this! Really impressive. I'd love to see where this could go if you continued on it. Right now I think its a bit too much depth on the boss building side for the depth of the actual battles. If the ingame battles were more fleshed out it would make the time it takes to build a boss more worth it.

    zerebruin says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:18pm

    Great mood & sound. Building the robot is fun, but assigning actions is a bit too tedious for me. With an automated mode for lazy people like me this would totally rock! :D

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]