Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 14 days, 13 hours, 35 minutes, 52 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    BendoReflector X-25 - caribou - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Multiplayer online game about school shootings in the future.

    View caribou's journal. | View all entries by caribou

    Ratings

    #122Innovation3.47
    #389Audio2.33
    #404Graphics2.83
    #433Overall2.84
    #450Theme3.00
    #484Fun2.59
    #560Mood2.41
    #776Coolness45%

    Comments

    Lidfrid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:24am

    Cool job and great story behind it :)

    I read it all, you love that font, isn't it? :)

    Dioiminik says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:13pm

    You should maybe use another Font/Background combination next time ;)
    But good Game

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:06pm

    Interesting. I wasn't sure what the to do as the white player, but the fact that this is online multiplayer is awesome!

    ix says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:07pm

    Never really got into a round where anything interesting happened. Also: too soon.

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:57am

    Connection error! :(

    HeXoT says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:20pm

    It seems I'm the first to connect.

    It is a nice idea for a little online shooter.

    Me fingers kept moving from ESDF to WASD and I still liked killing that green guy with his own shoots :D

    HeXoT says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:23pm

    Extra: Its the 2nd game I see with some networking, which is greater. And the other is the one we made :|

    caribou says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:33pm

    @Lidfrid
    Thanks ! Yes i've not really chosen that font, time chose it for me *cough*

    @Dioiminik
    Yep you are right :/

    @ix
    I fail to find a counter-argument for the interesting part, sadly.
    "too soon", the idea was to react about it, there's no point for me to make that game later and i don't believe in a kind of reaction latency need towards those kind of events, towards any event actually.

    @Mythalore
    Sorry, i regularly connect to the game to check if the server hasn't died yet and it's ok right now, try to refresh or something :/

    caribou says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:37pm

    @Hexot
    Haha, a labyrinth speedrun, interesting :D

    You should definitely check Ore Chasm it's multiplayer and everything is awesome about it http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=3041

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:55pm

    Had to get a friend play it too since I was waiting for another player forever :) The game had a really nice retro feel to it, and if nobody wins by shooting eachother then its a mindblaster :D

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:13pm

    Maybe it's because it's 7 AM, but the game never starts... :(

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:35pm

    I couldn't try it out, it just waited for more players.

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:56pm

    Waiting for someone to play...

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:32am

    Tried to play it several times now, and apparently no one connects. Too bad, it looked cool! Good luck!

    TheSheep says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:04am

    The back story is very gloomy.

    caribou says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:39am

    Sorry for the lone guys (and girls), it's indeed empty so you'll have to come with a friend or just drop the link on #ludumdare@AfterNet on IRC.

    Also i've found that it's buggy in some scenarios that i can't seem to reproduce, just refresh the page.

    RawBits says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:52pm

    Nope, I will never read something that lengthy especially with a font this bad and with a color that makes my eyes flowing out of my eyeholes. Other than that, "waiting for more players..."

    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:07am

    Waiting for players :(

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]