Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 23 days, 3 hours, 46 minutes, 36 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Universe's Next Top Villain - Floko - Jam Entry

    = Created with Scirra's Construct 2 =

    ==>> DOWNLOAD THE THEME SONG HERE: http://www.esnips.com/displayimage.php?pid=34266571 <==

    A game show where you must compete with two of the greatest villains in the universe , to prove that YOU are the greatest villain alive.

    Gameplay:

    Use the mouse to drag the icons on the right of the screen and combine the objects to find the most creative ways of killing someone.









    -- Our game has a goat !! --



    There are 27 different ways to kill Fat Pete, can you find them all?

    - Jesus
    - Cow
    - Rabbit
    - Energy Pole
    - Car
    - Bucket
    - Holy Cow
    - Thunder Rabbit
    - Zeus
    - Road Kill
    - Submarine
    - Accident
    - Void
    - Super SaiyaJesus
    - Wine
    - Robot Jesus
    - Horde of Rabbits
    - Bone Armor Rabbit
    - HOLY SHIT!!!
    - Dragon Rabbit
    - Zombie Cow
    - Unexpected Road Kill
    - Worm Hole
    - Grenade
    - Holy Grenade
    - Robot Zeus
    - Super SaiyaZeus ( that's the rarest death in the entire game, worth 500 points )


    NOTE : The preload may take a while, but be patient please :]

    NOTE 2 : If you don't feel like reading , you can press Enter , Esc or Q to skip animations.

    NOTE 3 : If you have trouble running the game on Chrome or Chromium, update your browser. The game has been tested and worked in updated versions of both browsers.

    NOTE 4 : I have added a Windows version for people who are having trouble playing it on the browser.

    -----

    New version is up:
    - Fixed chrome/chromium bug.
    - Fixed preload bug.
    - Fixed warning too fast to read.
    - Fixed exe super speed bug.

    --

    ==>> DOWNLOAD THE THEME SONG HERE: http://www.esnips.com/displayimage.php?pid=34266571 <==

    View Floko's journal. | View all entries by Floko

    Ratings

    Coolness81%
    #5Humor(Jam)4.14
    #7Audio(Jam)4.02
    #10Theme(Jam)4.18
    #25Innovation(Jam)3.76
    #26Fun(Jam)3.65
    #41Overall(Jam)3.67
    #44Mood(Jam)3.50
    #167Graphics(Jam)3.20

    Comments

    Crimsoneer says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:33pm

    Have ALL THE POINTS! I absolutely loved this. Well created, fun, original, and unexpected. Well done :)

    tomc says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:33pm

    I can't run it. I see the warning screen but nothing happens after the pre-loading bit. Chromium on Ubuntu 12.10.

    Floko says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:46pm

    tomc , i`m sorry, I can`t find anything in the forums that talk about construct 2 malfunctioning on ubuntu`s chromium =/ i don`t really know how i can help you...i`ll see if the programmers can find a solution. But did the warning screen came to disappear? because as I said, the preload can take a long time sometimes,and I apologyze for that ...

    Crowbeak says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:54am

    I think my favorite combination was Jesus + Void.

    enfyrneaux says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:55am

    Very clever, now I have to find all the ways to kill the poor guy.

    Floko says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:01am

    Let me help you . I made a list with every way you can kill him...now try to find them all! =]

    rinaka says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:23am

    This is a great game, I laughed a lot while playing. Trying to find the combinations is really fun. Congrats!

    heloheu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:34am

    After the pre-loading screen it took sometime for the game to run, I think it's not working very well >.< But the game is really funny, and the credits are the best ever xD

    gty says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:08pm

    genious!!! <3

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:04pm

    Excellent! Loved your interpretation of the theme. Also the game is super fun.

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:09pm

    Haha, extra marks for the Willy Wonka quote in there! :D

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:15pm

    Pahahaha. This genuinely felt like a gameshow. It was incredibly quirky, and had that hint of cheese with the contestant names. I liked all of the different deaths - very original! I would say however, that I had absolutely no idea what items were better than others, so it was really just a guess to see how many points I got. But in the end, winning didn't really matter all that much. Good job, I had a blast! :D

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:26pm

    Thx for the fun !
    I actualy had a good time :)

    illugion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:00pm

    This game is truly epic ! Super saiyan jesus ftw ! And the music was awesome ! Great job guys, this game was pure win !

    illugion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:17pm

    HOOOOLY COW !

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:17pm

    It felt very much like a gameshow! "Browser" is an inspired host!

    Slight annoyance: The game told me "you get nothing, Sir". If I was a military woman that would be fine, but otherwise I'm not a Sir :)

    Really original, really inventive, really fun, top marks for humor!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:18pm

    also the monty python reference ^-^

    Floko says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:19pm

    Christina, sorry for the "sir" , it's a willy wonka's quote, that's why it says "sir" =]

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:03am

    This is so humor and fun!

    bugninja says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:49am

    This was pretty dark actually, and you put A LOT of work into this it seems. I don't think I got through everything, but what I saw was cool.

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:05am

    The art work and music is rad and combines nicely with the talk show idea. Great job! :D

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:06am

    +1 points for the epicness in the credits! Please put a "warning, may cause seizure" :P This game is pretty diabolical. I love it. Great music and diabolical art.

    Floko says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:12am

    There is a seizure warning in the loading screen... maybe it`s vanishing too quickly, we will check it out. This was definitely one of our concerns when making the credits scene, don`t want anyone having seizures because of our work =(
    and thanks a lot for the comment,it means a lot !

    Jiddo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:53am

    Loved the music and the humor!

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:26pm

    The music is fantastic! I love the concept and got a giggle out of the deaths. 5 stars for humor, go!

    Ludonaut says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:52pm

    Funny, original, great music and art. This game is awesome.

    FrederickK says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:14pm

    Very creative and funny!
    Good job!

    stigmawall says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:59am

    Ohh shit I laugh with this one. It's very original.

    gnx says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:29am

    Very entertaining, played this a good while :)
    The music and cheesy gameshow dialogue are both spot on and the combinations and death images are very fun and creative. Great job.

    Husky says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:17am

    I like your idea and the many kinds of pictures!
    Good job!

    tomc says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:21pm

    It seems to work now. Good job on your game. I love the sense of humor you put into this.

    chambers says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:38am

    Holy cow! this game is amazing!

    The first time I played it I didn't realize the picture in the left was only for show and tried dragging stuff into elements in the picture. Then I figured out how to play properly and tried playing a second time, and had a lot of fun.

    I found the idea of having to memorize what combinations have already been used quite interesting. Too bad it's not really necessary to win the game, especially in short matches.

    chambers says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:39am

    Also the credits minigame is awesome

    Floko says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:47pm

    This version of the game ends up being more of an exploration game indeed, where the discovery of the combinations is what matters the most. But we are working on a post-compo version that will provide an actual challenge for winning the game =]

    We are really glad with all the feedback we're getting here, it's awesome to see how many people are enjoying the game !!

    juaxix says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:19pm

    I love the idea of the roulette :)

    I'm using this in a game, maybe? :)

    Mesene says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:15am

    AAAAAAAAleluya ... BOOM!
    nice game! solid and funny

    rvmook says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:44pm

    Really enjoyed it, took me a while to figure out how to combine stuff but eventually I played a lot of combinations! Would've been cool to see what the other two contestants played or did so you get a hint of what combinations are out there and how original your competitors are.

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:47pm

    Ah ah :)
    Nice entry !I loved the multiple rabbits! DO NOT GIVE WATER!

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:05am

    Ok, this game is really awesome! :)
    I've a lot of fun trying the different combos.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:44am

    lol!... Good graphics, style and presentation. Interesting idea.

    aare says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:49am

    It woule be better if they also sang on ice :P

    TheMelon says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:28pm

    The gameshow is such a great setting. I felt that the game part(killing someone), while interesting but felt a bit out of place. Otherwise it was fun and funny!

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:52pm

    Why was this fun?

    Seriously, this was really ridiculously fun. I think your game show setting really pushed this over the top. You had a great concept and executed it really well in a short time. Great job!

    My only complaint is that I did not realize early on that you could drag items onto each other, though I did figure that out by about round 3.

    The minigame in the credits was fun too!

    Sestren says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 5:05am

    One of the best Jam entries I've played. Once I figured out I could combine items it got a lot more fun. The audio and the use of the theme are great, as well!

    Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:00pm

    Nice work! I love that you've built this framework for endless creativity. Simple concept, well executed. ALSO AWESOME CREDITS SCREEN

    mohammad says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:39am

    I guess you could say there are-
    *Puts on sunglasses*
    -1000 ways to die.
    YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]