Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo Begins: in 9 days, 5 hours, 51 minutes, 14 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam Begins: in 9 days, 5 hours, 51 minutes, 15 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Horizon - spolvid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Call it divine intervention, call it a message from the gods, call it anything you want.

    Call it a hunch.

    Something tells you what you've been looking for is here. After all these years, you can practically taste it on your tongue.

    The air is cold and bitter, the attitudes of your men moreso.

    Normally marching for as long as you have been would make you want to set up camp, but not today. Your men might want to stop, but that doesn't matter. They're all too afraid of you to say anything.

    The snow crunches beneath your feet.

    You are close.

    View spolvid's journal. | View all entries by spolvid

    Ratings

    Coolness81%
    #20Mood3.89
    #240Theme3.48
    #328Overall3.05
    #429Fun2.72
    #449Innovation2.67
    #629Graphics2.19
    #663Humor1.63

    Comments

    kroltan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:34am

    Interesting story!

    RandomM00 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:05pm

    Very nice! Had me on the edge of my seat!

    patricklorio says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:06pm

    I too brunt out after 48 hours of game making to read. Sorry.

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:19pm

    The mood is really intense. A story worth playing! :)

    Porpentine says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:28pm

    Good death march sim

    ananasblau says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:08pm

    I know, text adventures, but some backgrounds, maybe snowflakes flying through swirled by the mouse pointer and you'd improve on the mood.

    None the less, a nice story.

    goerp says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:42pm

    short but sweet, good storytelling!

    L says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:41pm

    The story is a tad generic, but the mood is quite nice.

    TeamQuadratic says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:10am

    Interesting, I was very curious to see where the story would go.

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:10am

    Interesting Story

    ming_tea says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:16am

    Enjoyable read.

    RARoadkill says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:19am

    I have not played a text based game in awhile. Cool story

    ripter says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:23am

    Good story. I expected opening the box to take you back to the start. I think with more time you can make it a lot longer and follow some of the choices.

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:36am

    Really interesting story, good job!

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:43am

    Good game although a little short.
    I liked the touch of having to click the dots. Really builds the anticipation.

    saguaro says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:23am

    I enjoyed this, but I wish there were more paths. Nice to see an IF entry.

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:04pm

    Nice short story! Definitely on the shorter side though - I think it could've done with either a few more choices or being a little longer overall.

    I love the description! It really made me want to play the game. Good job, all in all!

    VDZ says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:03pm

    The story started out interesting, and I was really curious who the protagonist was and what he was doing, but the conclusion to the story was just disappointing. What little answers the story did provide were generic and uninteresting, while major questions (who is the protagonist? Why is he looking for that artifact, what does he plan to do with it?) remained unanswered. In a story that seems simply made to make the reader curious to those questions, it's very disappointing that they are barely answered.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]