Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 20 days, 20 hours, 29 minutes, 50 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Villains' Empire - Colapsydo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    !! IMPORTANT !!
    If you get stuck on a grey screen after the text intro, please wait a few seconds, music is still loading (it seems dropbox is experiencing some difficulties).

    --

    The villains' empire is threatened by the heroes.
    Using your ability to control spaceship telepathically, you are the last hope against the menace.

    Be sure to avoid the destruction of the ship you are controlling. If you are not inside, it's ok. The empire can afford some material loss.

    Arrows to choose which ship to control,
    space bar to shoot,
    "m" key to mute sounds.

    View Colapsydo's journal. | View all entries by Colapsydo

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #169Audio3.00
    #350Graphics2.99
    #354Theme3.25
    #394Innovation2.79
    #495Mood2.55
    #511Overall2.73
    #603Fun2.30
    #614Humor1.83

    Comments

    nSun says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:42pm

    J'eu un peu de mal a suivre quel vaisseau j'incarne, avec toutes ces etoiles qui defilent en fond.. Un sacre challenge, le "gentil" ne se laisse pas abattre facilement.
    Bravo pour cette recherche, les vaisseaux de l'empire sont d'une bonne varitete.

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:53pm

    I like the story aspects, but the controls make it very very hard to do anything. I don't see any advantage to shooting with one enemy vs. another, and didn't see a way to dodge at all.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:08pm

    @nSun: yep le jeu souffre entre autre d'un problème d'équilibrage, mais cela reste possible.

    @sclark39: It should be an advantage to shoot with one ship or an another since it modified a bit the "hero" moves, but it's AI is fore sure too rudimentary. Playing on this modification of the hero moves and selecting the right ship you can succeed to dodge most of the attack.

    Tanks for your comments.

    jujule says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:01pm

    En effet, même après plusieurs essais, sans réel contrôle sur le mouvement de la cohorte de vaisseaux le jeu est assez frustrant. J'aime assez les graphismes et la musique.

    Indeed, without proper control on the ships and even after many tries, the game remains quite frustrating. Good graphics and sound, though.

    Manest says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:33pm

    Bonne idee, mais il aurait peut etre fallu donner plus de controle au joueur. Ca va trop vite pour que notre choix de vaisseau ai une incidence.
    J'ai teste plusieurs fois mais j'ai a peine blesse le gentil.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:22pm

    Since LD is an international contest, let's try to keep comments in English (ok, bad English isn't better but at least everyone can understand).

    @Manest: I agree player controls have too little influence on the attack phase, but they are mainly present to dodge. The issue regarding attack is more about the balance in projectiles damages.

    I'm writing a post mortem mainly about gameplay issues.

    berareu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:36am

    Love the idea, it's a shame about the issues but I'm sure that with a little more work it could be a fun game!
    I really liked the presentation too :)

    bms says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:49pm

    pros: ship formations, story, nice twist to space invaders, graphics.
    cons: i don't have enough control over my ships, steep learning curve.
    tips: try to make it so it starts easy and gets harder over time e.g dumb down the enemy ai.

    tl;dr: well done!

    juaxix says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:48pm

    I was looking for something like this so badly, thanks!
    Reading your MovePattern class right now, ...why do you implement so many functions in stead of a switch or another kind of paradigm?

    DTG says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:34am

    Cool idea, very challenging though, and it doesn't feel like you have much agency over wether you win at all.
    I found just holding space and occasionally switching was the way to go.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:53pm

    @juaxix: I always do it that way when I have multiple behaviors to deal with. Is it wrong ? (I'm learning).

    @DTG/berareu: Yes this is the main issue, the player do not have enough control since I didn't have enough time to come back to it (you can read my post mortem if it's not too long for you).

    @bms: Thank you for the tips.

    Thank you all, for playing and leaving me your feelings about it.

    Dir3kt says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:08pm

    Brilliant idea, really :) However I felt I didn't had a lot of control, maybe because of the movement pattern. But still I think this has a lot of potential.

    Oh like the retro art style as well!

    har_g says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    Le pixel art, c'est bien, mais avec des pixel semi-transparent, ca le fait pas trop... on dirait que le rendu est tout flou..

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:21pm

    @har_g: Actually it's not pixel art, it's stretched vectorial drawing (cf post mortem). It was the first time I used it and I like the result, but I understand that some people might not like it.

    @Dir3kt: Thank you. I'm thinking of working on an enhanced version when the rating will be finished.

    Zed says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:46pm

    I really like this and think it's very clever, but it's bloody impossible. The music's great, too.

    blob says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:03pm

    Strong concept. As commented already, make the beginning easier, and make the ship selection clearer and less confusing and you got a pretty solid gameplay.
    The game has a cool mood too.

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    Cool idea but the controls got in the way of me enjoying as much as I could have.

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:43pm

    Rad idea. Love the concept of an inverse bullet hell shooter. Could use some work on the implementation. I had a hard time figuring out who I was controlling and what I could do. Once I figured out how to shoot, I still got smoked right away. Liked the art and audio.

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:40am

    After the small text intro, the game just stalled on a grey screen for me. Can't play it unfortunately.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:03am

    @BlackBulletIV: The text intro is also a loader for music and sfx, since Dropbox is experiencing some troubles right now it takes more time to load.

    Please, if you encounter this problem just wait few seconds.

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:14am

    Ah I see, it works fine now.

    I like the concept of being the enemy ships in bullet hell shooter. However, the controls weren't great, especially when it automatically switches the enemy you're assigned to (which caused me to lose right as I killed the boss).

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:49pm

    Didn't figure out until 2nd playthrough what I was controlling. Not sure if I can win or use tactics. Interesting idea, not sure how to make it work in this form.

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:17pm

    Very innovative. I found the balance between attacking and dodging perfect. One of my favorites so far. :) Awesome audio by the way.

    Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:10pm

    I liked the idea of jumping from ship to ship to avoid bullets, but I felt it's not very balanced, because you can't control the way the ships move, sometimes your ships get shot to pieces with you not being able to do anything about it.

    lotusgame says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:53am

    Overall, i loved this game.
    Bit hard to strart... missing a learning curve, but splendid work for a compo entry !!!! Perhaps a post compo version some day ?

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:39am

    Interesting idea, could use some powerups :-)

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:19am

    Pretty cool idea about possessing ships! Though it got distracting with the stars around, needs more contrast. The difficulty is either normal or impossible based on the pattern.

    AdricZero says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:36pm

    I liked the graphics and sounds effects, but didn't feel like I had any control at all.

    Demurgos says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:45pm

    Joli jeu (surtout les graphismes)

    Je l'ai juste trouvé un peu dur, mais il colle parfaitement au thème.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: using cached page]