Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 17 days, 0 hours, 49 minutes, 38 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Do Not Help The Princess - sharbelfs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Your goal is to defense the castle and do not let the warrior rescue the princess.

    The game is in waves (total of 4). Each wave is a different warrior, and you have to use the monster to help you.

    Each monster is different, and each time the monster hit the warrior you get a little money to buy new monsters.

    ** To play you have to click to buy a unit and click somewhere in the map

    It was made in html5. It works on modern browsers, iPhone and Android (I tested on both mobiles).
    I used the Impactjs, SoundManager, Paint.NET, bfxr.

    All the code and images are free to use for any purpose.

    - Mushroom: bomb, explode when touch a knight
    - Gren guy: Basic unit
    - Slime: More life, slow
    - Ghost: Better attack, more resistent
    - Fire unit: really fast, strong but small defense and small life

    View sharbelfs's journal. | View all entries by sharbelfs

    Ratings

    Coolness52%
    #120Graphics3.67
    #162Theme3.67
    #269Mood2.96
    #292Humor2.74
    #335Fun2.89
    #368Audio2.42
    #397Overall2.92
    #591Innovation2.39

    Comments

    xviniette says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:37am

    Fun game !

    stigmawall says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:33pm

    Love the ghost! :D

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:29pm

    I really like the graphics! I won pretty easily the second time playing by only using the bomb mushrooms. They seem way over powered.

    Ashkin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:30pm

    The graphics were cute, but... I had no idea how to play. Clicking the buttons at the top did nothing, so I could only sit there and watch as the knights stormed the castle.

    RyanArcher says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:31pm

    Great game but short and fairly hard..

    arhpositive says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:31pm

    Great game! Tried a couple of times but the boss was kinda hard. :) Graphics are really cool, gameplay is basic but addictive. Solid.

    robashton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:31pm

    It just about worked on my iPhone, would have been nice if touch had been implemented :)

    Markavian says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:33pm

    Ahh, looks good, got all the elements of a decent tower defence. Could have done with a "You win!" screen or something just to polish it off.

    Digiraze says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:33pm

    Nice art and game. Can you explain what each unit does? Is the slime the tank minions?

    tompudding says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34pm

    I loved the graphics, and the little bad guys were quite original

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:36pm

    Nice little game. Seems a bit strangely balanced though. The fire thingy is crazy strong for most of the game, but the last hero I cannot seem to stop. I also had trouble when trying to "play again". Some of the heroes apparently were still counted as being there. But good job :)

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:01pm

    Haha, in the preview pic I read "do NOT click to play" of course that's exactly what I wanted to do.

    Just using the bomb mushrooms does seem like the easiest way to win.

    sharbelfs says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:47am

    thanks for the great feedback and I just updated the info about the game with a how to play and some info about the units =)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:16am

    Seemed very unbalanced as others have said. I lost every time, until using the bomb. I like the reverse TD idea and eating the princess at the end.

    namuol says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:46am

    Yay, now I can eat the princess!

    Fun. There were some balance issues with the units but that's something that can be fixed with some playtesting and number tweaking. Lots of potential. Nice artwork!

    Mava says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:01pm

    Wow that is really original!
    I love how it combines tower defense and an RPG world together, really well done :)

    Sprites are really cute too xD

    rubna says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:04pm

    Great game! Nice graphics! But sometimes, when an enemy is at the door, you can't kill them anymore.

    otus says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:41pm

    The graphics are great. The game was a bit hard for me, but I may just be a noob.

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:57pm

    Mmm, princess... Nom...
    Cute - could use a little balancing but pretty fun.

    gnx says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:50am

    Nice presentation. The well done animations give individual character to both the knights and the monsters and it feels like your choices matter, which is good.

    Perhaps some long range units or more varied terrain would enhance the gameplay a bit more.

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:40am

    It's fun! But you should win money all the time, it felt bad when the money was over and there was nothing else to do.

    timtipgames says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:25pm

    This was fun :) I found it actually quite hard and played a couple of times to not run out of money after the second knight :) Nice and clean graphics too.

    sanojian says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:52pm

    I really like the graphical style. Unfortunately once I had lost once, it kept telling me I lost again after just a few seconds of play. Anyway cute and fun.

    char68 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:45pm

    It was pretty cool, but difficult to tell why I would choose one unit over the other (without reading the instructions :D), but after reading them it made sense. Perhaps there should be an attack/defense display under each unit?

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:37pm

    Hurrah! One that runs on my iPhone! Pretty graphics and a fun game. Someone already mentioned about the game being awkwardly over once the heroes are at the door. Still, fun little game, well done!

    Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:04pm

    The click detection was a little shaky at times, and I felt like I couldn't drop my minions on the field despite having enough money. When I *did* get them on the field though, it was a fun little defense game. The little battle sounds were satisfying, and it was neat to watch the money counter rise.

    Raptor85 says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:32pm

    The grahpics are great, very well animated. The enemies are far too hard and the clicking a little non-responsive when trying to place though, would have been more fun if my guys seemed to stand a chance.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]