Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 12 days, 22 hours, 47 minutes, 34 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Tale of Scale - ratking - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Started very late because of lack of ideas. Anyhow, this one is about how perspective is a subjective thing ...

    Theme is in it, if you play it through you can even see it. :)
    (Fun fact: I didn't play through the last level yet. I hope it's beatable. :P)

    \o/

    [SPOILER]
    If you get stuck at the 2nd level, think outside the box!
    [EVEN MORE SPOILER]
    If you think you've cleaned the room, but didn't win the 2nd level, there still might be something in there. (Hint: This is not a pixel hunt.)

    View ratking's journal. | View all entries by ratking

    Ratings

    Innovation4.72
    Coolness59%
    #7Overall4.10
    #33Fun3.74
    #40Mood3.69
    #87Graphics3.85
    #152Audio3.06
    #155Humor3.15
    #616Theme2.55

    Comments

    nate427 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:17am

    I really, really, really love the game-mechanic! Great game, can't wait for the voting to start.

    Deril says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:23am

    I fail to run this. I get "Error lunching unity player".. Invalid unity web file... (chrome, Last unity web player version)

    mpahrens says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:33am

    That was really enjoyable and I was glad to see a game that intuition was the main mode of gameplay. No guessing as to what I was supposed to do. I also wont penalize for prospective 3D making me dizzy, but I hope you don't get that complaint too much :)

    zazery says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:35am

    When I saw the screenshot I became really excited. Great concept and I was not disappointed with the execution.

    aeveis says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:07am

    interesting mechanic, very nice job!

    wallmasterr says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:30am

    this is soo fun. I love the machanic. played it for ages but got stuck on level 2, how do u clean , i tryed puting everything on the shelves including the other shelves :P

    ratking says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:55am

    Thanks, guys!

    @Deril: I uploaded standalone versions, do those work?

    @wallmaster: This level needs some ... thinking outside the box ... (hint, hint :P)

    wzl says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:06am

    Ingenious mechanic! Unfortunately the game's a bit dull. Looking forward to a post compo version though <3 (do eet!)

    Sanguine says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:12am

    I came here to complain about your game, but I wasn't able to. I really like the graphics and the scaling mechanic :)

    AtkinsSJ says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:18am

    I absolutely love this. :D The only problem I'm having is some slightly glitchy physics. I really want to see this made into a full game. :D

    Lidfrid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:48am

    I really enjoy the time spent on this game! Great 3D style :)

    my mind was screwed after 2 minutes playing -.-


    Good job :)

    NuSan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:00pm

    Realy great idea, never see that in a game before. And the fact that you need to discover the perspective effect by yourself instead of using a tutorial is really great, make me think a little. Owever im stuck in the second level, i have clean everything and nothing happen. I have seen some object passing through walls or ground, maybe that the cause. I will try againg.

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:28pm

    That was really trippy really liked the Idea and concept of the game.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:22pm

    The game-mechanic war really interesting.
    But I got stuck at level 2, I don't really understand what I was supposed to do.

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:44pm

    Awesome mechanic. Tricky, but not frustratingly so. I'd like to see this worked out even more.

    dek says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:46pm

    Really interesting game and Idea. I have never seen this somewhere. Got stuck at level 2 sadly, but I did enjoy it.

    bentog says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:10pm

    Yes, the last level IS solvable. And challenging. This game is ultra mindblowing, creative and fun. Gaaah, why didn't I had this idea before? You should really make a full-lenght game out of this, it has potential. I'll be mad if this doesn't show up on the top 20 at least! 5 stars!

    kivifreak says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:25pm

    Cool game though the object size kind of is confusing and it isn't really about the theme (at least the second level)

    bentog says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:37pm

    I've already commented, but I like this game so much I'm commenting again. If you make a real puzzle game with lots of stages out of this, I'll totally buy it!

    scriptorum says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:30pm

    This is a great mechanic. When I solved level 1 I thought there was a glitch in the game engine, it didn't sink in until level 2. :) Level 2's goal could be made clearer; I really needed that "think out of the box" hint to solve it! Level 3 is fantastic. Well done.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:58pm

    This is a nice array of mechanics :). Probably better that nothing is explained. Nice work!

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:24pm

    I got burried alive under a mountain of giant cubes...so close...that was epic! Thanks you, this is the best LD game I've played so far. Now I hope there will be other ones that good!

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:12pm

    Mindblowed by the perspective thingy. Very cool. Nice simple art style. Couldn't figure out the 2nd level :|.
    Good job!

    NuSan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:45pm

    Ok, nevermind, you just have to clean everything ! The final level is tough, i have tryed 3 times before completed. But once familiar with the concept, you can begin to control scale and orientation of your objects. I wonder what other puzzle type could offer that gameplay ... realy impressive.

    recursor says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:41am

    Quite a unique mechanic you came up with. The graphics are nice and stylistic. I agree with everyone else that a full game designed around this concept might be really fun.

    31eee384 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:48am

    Huh, interesting mechanic. Took a bit to figure out how to wield it, but I became a proper villain in no time!

    I got far (I think) in the third level after using the "spoiler" hint. Just as I was getting the room filled, though, a jump failed, I hit the ground, and got stuck in a wall. Couldn't move at all. I encountered similar glitches in the earlier levels too.

    Cool game, interested to see if you expand on it later. At the moment I think it's very innovative, but not very exciting at them moment. Has potential, though!

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:26am

    Wow it took me forever to wrap my head around the perspective properly to do the last puzzle. XD Really awesome concept though, I'm really curious how you pulled this off code wise.

    Radiatoryang says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:33am

    fantastic!

    vrav says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:20am

    Awesome innovation. Took me a while (until a ways through cleaning) to realize what was going on. I like that it wasn't obvious at first, though I knew things were changing somehow. Very surreal and ominous.

    SmallDeadGuy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:49am

    I swear it kept taking control of me and I couldn't do anything. I was only trying to make everything tiny! Great concept :D

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:12pm

    wow, this game is so special!

    emveyh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:44pm

    Wow! And that in 48 hours. Nice game, had a lot of fun playing it :D

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:58pm

    a really good idea!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:13pm

    Idea is fantastic, but it's really hard to control the scaling. Plus the jumping really needs some work.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:25pm

    mindblowing in a few ways :)

    Jezzamon says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:39am

    Cool game, but obviously lacking as far as the theme goes.

    My friend thought of this idea years ago, great to see it implemented as a game. :D

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:26am

    Most innovative mechanic ever, awesome mood and storytelling

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:36am

    Incredible. The mechanic is absolutely brilliant from top to bottom. It reminds me of all the times I've held up my hand to my eyes and done the proverbial "I am crushing you with my fingers" maneuver.

    The levels were fun and different which helped keep the mechanic fresh. I do hope you expand upon this! :D

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:04am

    Super neat mechanic, but it's all really clunky now. I saw the red blocks in level 3 and pulled some out but it seemed way too hard to get to the top. I'd continue this idea, because it's super fresh and clever but work on much MUCH simple puzzles using the perspective trick. All 3 of these puzzles were pretty rough and you could do a lot more with a lot less. This is a really clever idea for a premium puzzle game. I also really LOVED the context of the little kid and mom. You could easily make a fornt line game from this mechanic and that setting, assuming you polish the mechanics enough and simplify it so it's less clunky.

    ratking says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:51am

    @Eniko: You can have a look in the source code? It's not dark magic, just resizing and repositioning the object based on the current camera view, combined with thousands of collision checks.

    @SmallDeadGuy: I hope that error is on your side, I never experienced that ... :-/

    @bradleypollard: Yeah, the character controller is suboptimal, and not only the jumping needs a lot of work. Every complaint about stucking walls is due to me having no time to do a cool controller. :-/

    @Jezzamon: The theme is in it, you just have to play it through to see it! Think of "Looper" ...
    Oh, and I had the idea already as a kid, so your friend didn't have the idea before me. :-P

    @GeorgeBroussard: You don't have to get to the top in level 3, there's just window. I think you can even use the pins only.
    Altogether yeah, you can do more with less, but I thought having some kind of sandbox to play with is kind of fun. That you have certain goals in each level is a bonus, really.

    ratking says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:52am

    Thank you everyone for the kind words!

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:06pm

    The visuals are amazing!!

    allinlabs says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:38pm

    5 stars for innovation.
    You should really dig more into it, it's a very unique concept that I've never saw anywhere else.

    impulse9 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:54pm

    Great concept. :)

    DeathBySnail says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:33pm

    Nice concept! Loved it.

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:29pm

    The concept and the execution are really really great. Look further a bigger game with this idea! It's so clever and simple at the same time! Congrats for this beautiful entry! 5 stars innovation, no hesitation!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:25am

    Always impressed with what you managed to come up with gameplay-wise in less than 48 hours, and this is no exception. Good work.

    P.S. Check back on my entry for a full explanation of the design choices I made ;)

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:27am

    Really really nifty concept. Love it.

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:09pm

    Amazing.

    Hatscat says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:41pm

    Very good game! I love it! At first I was asking me how have you did that, but you've certainly get the distance to set a scaling coefficient, this is genius!
    The only thing that annoyed me is that we can't jump if we walk, that make the last lvl very hard, but doable

    otus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:09pm

    thats was great!
    the mechanic is so outside of reality that it looks like a nightmare or a dream, i'd like to play more games like this

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:29pm

    Love it!

    Caironater says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:51pm

    Thanks, that was awesome! I managed to finish #3 without the extra blocks btw.

    blob says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:29am

    What a freaking awesome idea ! The 2nd level definitely needs an ingame hint, even with the hint on the site it took me a while... The last level is kinda tedious, but it doesnt matter: this is a really clever mechanic and you should exploit it.

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:32am

    You've managed to capture what is probably a universal childhood fantasy that many of us may have forgotten about. For a few minutes I reexperienced the awe, creativity and mischievousness of being a child left alone with his imagination. Thank-you.

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:05pm

    Well, that was a mindfuck. I love how Ludum Dare encourages people to make innovative experiments like these. Definitely needs fleshing out, but this could be the egg from which the next Portal hatches.

    Cell says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:41pm

    Good game :)

    Kharza says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:56pm

    mindblown.gif

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:39am

    Lovely! Reminds me of psychonauts visually, for some reason. It's full of style, and the idea is so meta! Congrats, ratking!

    Codexus says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:17pm

    Wow, amazing concept, that's really original! Fun to play but a bit confusing: the objectives should be more clear. Also sometimes a bit glitchy (I got stuck several times in the last level) but that's to be expected when trying to implement such a crazy idea in 48h.

    Houly says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:44pm

    Great idea! But a little bit off from the theme.

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:13am

    Ahhhhh I got motion sickness, but this is awesome!

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:18pm

    Wow this game has one of the most brilliant game mechanic I've seen here, to be honest! Great game! It wasn't quite clear how to clean stuff up in level 2 though.

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:36pm

    holy innovation rat-king. That's totally blown away concept! superb coding and execution. last level was a great application! a real head scratcher. loved it!

    odrega says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:17pm

    Awesome!

    I couldn't figure out the second level though, which is a shame. I interpreted it to mean that I have to put everything outside, but that didn't work.

    Also, it would be awesome of there was a way to 'craft' items, e.g. picking up two lego pieces and slotting them together.

    Harsay says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:46pm

    My face when I played it -> :O

    Harsay says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:47pm

    My face when I played it -> :O

    Darkfrost says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:32am

    This was absolutely amazing! Spent a while WTF'ing about what was going on until I realized it!

    Loved the last level, such a simple goal, but so hard to pull off until you get your head around the mechanic :) And then it gets pretty easy!

    Please, please, please develop this into a full game!

    One thing that might of been nice is the ability to rotate whatever you're holding, although I got the hang of that later by the jumping around it and picking it up!

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:47am

    I'd say plenty of parents would get the theme link here ;) This is a brilliant concept - I hope you continue to work on a final version post compo. I really like the presentation, actually. The child's hand is a very well realized UI element.

    Xavier says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:49am

    Nice job man. I love the idea, but it's a bit mess and confusing the change of the size of the objects. Anyway, it's a great game that will be nice to see a later development.

    krutech says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:15pm

    Fantastic. At first i thought there was something wrong with z buffer but nay, it was a mechanic!

    Madball says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:09pm

    Phew! Completed it! Good job, nice idea and theme implementation!

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:39pm

    This is one of these games where I think, this would be a fantastic (commercial) game with many puzzle rooms to solve. I hope you continue to work on this game at ratking entertainment! Solved all the rooms, but I needed the hint in the second one ^^

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:56pm

    Yes great mechanics, but I dont the Villain in your entry, sorry.

    juaxix says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:00pm

    I am totally fascinated with this idea and development , thank you so much for share :)

    juaxix says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:05pm

    Could you explain this line?:
    ---
    floorLayerMask = 1 << LayerMask.NameToLayer("Default");
    ---
    i dont understand very well what are you doing here...

    jayhC says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:04pm

    perfect.......

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:14pm

    Brilllllliant perspective mechanic. Nice interpretation of the theme with the 'origins of a villain' story. But holy CRAP the platforming controls are seriously frustrating. The jump is either broken or just completely unpredictable. Not being able to jump while walking down an incline on the boxes nearly kills the entire final level. It took me 12 tries on the final level before I finally decided to just try it without the boxes. Made it all the way to the top with just the tacks by picking them up from under me while jumping and resticking them immediately... almost like an elevator. The game is innovative enough and interesting enough to make you fight through the controls, but the ending that you get is a serious letdown after spending that much time trying to get out of there. GREAT WORK OVERALL!!!!

    SuperDisk says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 7:59pm

    This is a great puzzle concept that would fit right in with Portal or something. Nice job.

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:56pm

    Got thinking about this game again, and having the player play as a child is one really nice touch here. Playing from a perspective you're not used to to begin with, where everything starts out looking bigger than you're used to makes the mechanic that much more impactful when it clicks.

    goerp says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:22pm

    I didn't read anything beforehand and just started playing, and I found it almost immediately clear waht was happening and what the goal was. Very intiuitive I would say.
    Looks good and very VERY original.
    wow.

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:10pm

    Awesome concept. Please make a full game out from it :)

    infernet89 says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:01pm

    Five stars in innovation, awesome idea. Keep working on it, please!

    Mago says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:49pm

    Mind blowing!

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:30pm

    None less than incredible. The fact that you done this is 48h is incredible. Sir, you should feel proud.

    Strkl says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:53pm

    This game is beyond amazing

    Dec 30, 2012 @ 12:51am

    Great game, really nice concept and well thought through! Also, OMG, I just spent an hour on level 3 and couldn't beat it, got close to the top a phew times, then ended up in red brick central after a wonky jump. Still really loved playing it!

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:41am

    Like this man!

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:49pm

    Extraordinarily innovative! Brilliant! Well Done!... I couldn't even solve the first puzzle though :/ had no idea what my goal was.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 1:12am

    What the? That is brilliant. Never seen this used this way. Brain-breaking bizarreness. Got stuck a few times and it all takes a bit long but this is certainly worth investigating more!

    DTG says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:58am

    Really awesome mechanic, Could easily be used in a lot of other types of games. The graphical style really helps with the feel of it too.

    nilstastic says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:58pm

    Good: Excellent game mechanics and super-nice graphics!
    Improve: It was actually a bit boring. To many legos! =)

    Patacorow says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 8:43pm

    CRAZY work for 48h

    Benjamin says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:37am

    Wow totally crazy game. Top idea, top execution, even the controls feels good and it must have been a nightmare to tweak. And you even had time for story telling o_O

    evilseanbot says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 2:04am

    The level design/puzzles aren't great, but otherwise this is a very nice showcase of a fun, novel core mechanic.

    leafo says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:00am

    What an incredible idea :) Great game. All the levels were great.

    DavidErosa says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:02pm

    Really original idea and very well made! Great!

    ahm99 says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:41pm

    THAT WAS AWESOME!!! I was amazed by the concept of scaling the objects to win the level. You did an amazing job!

    mrexcessive says ...
    Mar 7, 2014 @ 5:55pm

    Nice ratking! Very (very) much simpler example and some code for Unity at http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/03/07/forced-perspective-example/comment-page-1/

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]