Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 3 hours, 47 minutes, 13 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 3 hours, 47 minutes, 14 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Kollum: The Pressure Valve - ananasblau - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You are Kollum the Destroyer!

    Back in ye olden days you hath brought Death upon the ancient underground Cite of Ludarume.

    You have but one precious little thing left in this dark world: The Pressure Valve

    But you lost your precious, near the Surface, where some adventurer by the name of Tombo found it.

    You want your precious back and you must stop Tombo in his quest.


    Created in LOVE2d, downloads available for all the platforms. Music is created with MilkyTracker and the sounds with bfxr.

    Follow the future development on IndieDB:
    http://www.indiedb.com/games/kollum-the-pressure-valve

    View ananasblau's journal. | View all entries by ananasblau

    Ratings

    Coolness60%
    #288Audio2.64
    #437Innovation2.69
    #517Mood2.50
    #538Humor2.05
    #567Fun2.39
    #587Graphics2.33
    #620Overall2.50
    #630Theme2.50

    Comments

    leafo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:59am

    I played for about 15 levels I think. I was a little confused about what is supposed to happen. I collected pressure valves when I could but I couldn't tell if it had any effect.

    Also I got this error after playing a bit:


    http://leafo.net/shotsnb/2012-12-16_23-58-04.png

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:06am

    This is quite fun, but am I right in thinking the randomisation means you can't win some levels? I started near a no-go area and any route around it meant Tombo getting all the treasures and reaching the exit before I could get near?

    jahlgren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:07am

    I played through the game. But I could not tell if it had any effect collecting the treasure

    TomK32 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:27am

    @DustStylus: Yes you are right. Some days you loose, some days the other guy wins. Just like in live.

    Collecting treasures has no effect for yourself but Tombo won't be able to get it and score. Each level you have to look and think about what the best strategy is for this particular level.

    Should I go near a treasure, wait for Tombo their to hit him, or should I just go to the exit before he does. And more.

    @leafo: Quite a rare bug, I fixed it.

    jmk says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:59am

    Interesting idea. It seems as though the levels can be rigged from the start; either you'll beat Tombo or you won't because you move at the same rate.

    In some cases I decided just to dash for the exit because I couldn't beat him to the valve ... I couldn't tell if there was a consequence to this, but it could make for an interesting gameplay idea: "do you go for the prize, or the exit?"

    I also ran into a level where the exit couldn't be reached, though -- it was completely enclosed by walls.

    TomK32 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:08am

    @jmk: If you use WASD and the arrows at the same time you'll run at the double. More a bug than a feature... And those bad levels, I consider them the final stand.

    TuxedoFish says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:26am

    Cool game and very innovative idea, the sound effects were good the ai made it quite enjoyable figuring out how to do it. The only place to improve on maybe is the objective and the progression of the game. But as a game it was fun and awesomee ;D

    Quarry says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:15pm

    The randomization was pretty game breaking in my opinion...

    Freakill says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:41pm

    Nice style, and to some point good that scenario is generated randomly, it means eternum play :D, but also means sometimes there is no way to win, or even worse, to finsih. The sounds are nice and the caves look good with the colours selected :) Simple mechanic but entertaining thinking how to beat the npc and leverage wether try or not take the valve. Sometimes, after already I having taken the valve, the NPC was still chasing towards it.

    ananasblau says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:15pm

    @Freakill thanks for the feedback on sound and colours. That's one thing I have to polish once I continue working on it.

    About those few maps that don't work, I have some simple method in place to test them, simply look for paths between the points. In case anyone wants to have a look: https://github.com/TomK32/kollum/blob/master/level.lua#L92-L99

    goerp says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:00pm

    I had an error as well:
    main.lua:145 bad argument #1 to 'ipairs' (table expected, got string)
    traceback
    [C] in function 'ipairs'
    main.lua.145 in function 'drawfinish'
    main.lua.129 in function 'draw'
    [C] in function xpcall

    dekart says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:05am

    I tried it, but either my keys are broken or the game doesn't actually allow to control the character. Looked more like pressing random keys to make something happen

    ananasblau says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:49am

    dekart: your the character that should turn up at the bottom right of the screen. The one in the top left is AI but won't move unless you make a move.

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:22pm

    Great potential. With more objects and different kind of obstacles it could totally work, I really see this concept.
    However, as colour blind, I really had problems finding the exit everytime, I suggest you to draw a symbol on it or to use a different colour.

    eraldo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:25am

    My precious..

    fr_automatik says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:32pm

    It's fun, but I was kinda confused : Are the objects useful ? When "The Game had ended", does it means I won or I lost?

    31eee384 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:20pm

    Very cool sound and graphics, but the gameplay seemed too simple. I couldn't see any strategies to get the valves and reach the exit before the enemy that didn't entirely hinge on the level placement.

    doos says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:33pm

    I really like the dungeon creation, and think that has a lot of potential.. I just wish the gameplay was more interesting.. Tombo is usually spawned much closer to the exit than me and sets off before I know what the level really looks like. Hope you're going to use this as a base to make a rogelike!

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:51pm

    There are certain levels where there's no way to prevent Tombo from getting the treasure and reach the exit. I like the gameplay, it can definitely expand to have other neat stuff like maybe interactions in the level, etc. Also, love the music beat! :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]