Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 16 days, 6 hours, 45 minutes, 43 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Spawner - Digiraze - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Tutorial: Get into the game screen, and then just press and hold "3" to spawn the chasers. You will get 10 - 11 kills.

    Note: Very bad feedback. When you kill the player's ship, I restart all your minions to zero. But I did put in the code that give your gold back to you.

    View Digiraze's journal. | View all entries by Digiraze

    Ratings

    Coolness54%
    #252Innovation3.11
    #401Fun2.78
    #414Theme3.11
    #430Audio2.20
    #460Overall2.81
    #474Mood2.59
    #629Graphics2.19
    #667Humor1.61

    Comments

    MvT says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:21pm

    Sometime all the minions disapears, with any reason.

    Digiraze says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:57pm

    Sorry about the very bad feedback. When you kill the player's ship, I restart all your minions to zero. But I did put in the code that give your gold back to you.

    This game is basically a reverse of Geometry Wars / Neon Wars, and in those game when you die, you clear the game screen.

    SiENcE says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:03pm

    Forcefeedback would be nice for this game. I really love the old 8bit sound effects.

    Hazel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:14pm

    Nice idea and decent application. Had fun once I learned you can use hotkeys rather than clicking :)

    alexlarioza says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:24pm

    I like the premise, but I there doesn't seem to be any strategy to play it as I can just mash the spawning keys. Maybe if the "player" AI was a bit smarter?

    robashton says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:11am

    Good to be on the other side of the fence in a bullet-hell game :-D - wasn't sure if there was strategy or I should should spam the buttons but I got 11 kills

    nickworks says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:04am

    Awesome! Very similar to mine. I actually like aspects of your game more than I like my own. Also, you have sound and I don't. :)
    http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=18927

    Digiraze says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:13pm

    I agree that this game is more spamming the button. I realise it very late in the compo when I was testing it all out. And I didn't have time to change it.

    When you play on the other side (as the player like geo wars, and neon wars), it is meant to be more fast and frantic, so when you switch it around, it becomes spamming button. So I think if you want strategy, you have to slow it down, like what nickworks did. His game has strategy and it even has upgrade.

    raincole says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:03pm

    It seemed too easy but got hard quickly. I think it's still strategical because you can't beat it by simply spawn one kind of minions.

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:28pm

    You got so many different types of minions there. :p I think then maybe the hero need some more different arsenal.. :) Overall nice one.

    Digiraze says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:33pm

    @raincole yes I made it that way. My thinking is always by the 3rd level you should know what you are doing. In this case the 3rd kill. I got this idea from playing all those capcom fighting games, for some reason when you get to fight the 3rd character is always harder. Make me think now ... hmmm.

    @arch.jslin Yeah I was going to add laser, but ran out of time. First it was only firing bullet, then I realize it was not hitting the minions. So I put in a homing missile in =)

    Thanks everyone for trying the game!

    ahnt says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:57pm

    very nice idea, and the AI of the ship is good

    Digiraze says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:05pm

    Thank ahnt.

    Klakwa says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:13pm

    Cool ! I liked it.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:56pm

    Wow this is awesome :D i like concept too :D and the AI looks very interesting :D

    ceronman says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:47pm

    Interesting idea, but it's hard to follow a strategy. Nice sound.

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:02pm

    Whew, your game has a tough difficulty curve. At first its very easy, and not far later even my button mashing skills can't kill the enem-- eh, player anymore.

    I like the concept, and the fact that you have so many units at your disposal. Alas, I have no idea what those units actually do and when to use them! And the fact that the player moves erratically and has very good targeting makes it hard to plan anyway - it dissolves into button mashing very fast.

    Still, I think with a little more strategy this concept has a lot of potential.

    I would've liked a bit more introduction to the story for the theme to be stronger - right now that part is rather bland. That doesn't deter the gameplay from being fun though.

    All in all: A job well done!

    valeroth says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:16pm

    Nice idea but there wasn't enough variation amongst the minions for my liking. They just seemed to vary in speed and health. Best strategy was often to mash the cheapest minions. Like the sound.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]