Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 14 days, 17 hours, 22 minutes, 18 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Bad Driver! +1 - uncade - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This game is an homage to Noby Noby Boy where you get points for being a terrible driver.

    I am a bad game designer and should feel bad :P

    View uncade's journal. | View all entries by uncade

    Ratings

    #47Fun3.67
    #61Humor3.62
    #242Overall3.22
    #260Mood2.97
    #283Innovation3.05
    #394Graphics2.85
    #495Theme2.91
    #594Audio1.28
    #742Coolness46%

    Comments

    jcvsmc says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:23am

    This game is incredible! Love the crazy amount of bonuses :)

    nihilocrat says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:19am

    Get the car on its roof by turning sharply while going fast, then see what happens when you hit W.

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:07pm

    This is an awesome prototype, had lot of fun. Polish it and release!

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    It could be a lot more fun with sounds !

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:49pm

    Awesome idea! Love the flood of popups :)

    Did you make the driving-engine yourself or is that a plugin? (also remeber to upload the source, so the game counts :)

    uncade says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:24pm

    I spent the first day trying to make the driving engine, but it would always freak out and not work correctly, inspiring the idea to just run with the wonky physics with explosions. I ended up using the driving code from the Unity Car tutorial, which is available here:
    http://u3d.as/content/unity-technologies/car-tutorial/1qU

    I included the source in the Windows and Mac downloads, uploading a source only download now.

    Hazel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:07pm

    Hahaha, very cool. Unfortunately I ended up with a massively negative score but I like the game, especially the little touches like the mushrooms.

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:00am

    So many bonuses. Wonderful. I like to think of myself driving a matchbox car, and stabbing the feet of those giant people.

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:18am

    hahaha just run everyone over! very funny

    2DArray says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:04am

    Hey man, glad to see this came out well! All the bonuses are awesome, and this is just too funny. Great work!

    zeh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:06am

    Reminds me of Stunts.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:35am

    It's clunky. Carmageddon style.

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:06am

    You know how I feel about this game. GOTYAY. Nice going man!

    RARoadkill says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:10am

    Ha very fun. Would like to see more added onto this one

    ripter says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:37am

    My first thought, "this looks like Katamari", was surprised to learn about Noby Noby Boy.

    Fun game. The car got out of control really quickly. The second time I played it my car just spun in the air forever.

    Team Tibbles says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:30am

    Wow! I love the graphics in this! I think it came out polished indeed!

    Claite says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:26am

    I liked the idea! Pretty fun to play a game where being completely crazy gets you points!

    OU GDA says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:58am

    amazing lovely fantastic very good game

    LogGiant says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:21am

    I loved how goofy and crazy all the bonuses are! My only problem was if I managed to flip the car I would just explode and fly through the air forever, but resetting fixed that right up!

    Dmitrix says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:24am

    Lol, this game is fun.

    evilseanbot says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:56am

    I don't think physics works like that BUT I'M MAKING A MILLION POINTS I DON'T CARE

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:10am

    I have over a million points right now AND IT ISN'T STOPPING.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:16am

    Great craic!

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:33pm

    This is so crazy! haha

    Peping says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:38pm

    Simple idea, had fun. :)

    degtyarev says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:51pm

    Bonuses rock! But it's pretty hard to play with it's crazy physics

    Spierek says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:36pm

    Hilarious as hell, great job :D Hitting the mine is the best thing.

    Schwiggy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:55pm

    I thought I was a good driver... but now I'm not sure

    otus says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:25pm

    Whoa! This game is crazy! Hahahahaha.
    Really, it's pretty good. I like the whole "crazy driver" thing, it's funny and the stupid amount of bonuses in the screen makes this game even crazier. It reminds me of Katamari Damacy!

    But there's things that need improvement: Some sounds would be nice. Really simple ones, that you can find for free on the internet would definitely make the game 200% more fun, a nice song would do the trick even.
    The graphics are okay, but then I'm reminded that this game was made in two days by one guy and then the graphics are pretty awesome.
    Also the land mine kind of breaks the game in a sense, but it's all good. That's what the reset button is for.
    I don't really see the theme much in it, but I suppose the Noby Noby Boy homage makes up for it.

    Good job man, and great game!

    alwaysinbeta says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:27pm

    Great fun. The bonus gfx is awesome. The physics is bonkers! Just needs sound to be 'finished' imho.

    DaviDeMo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:52pm

    Bonsues! haha

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:23pm

    No points for the goat, what is this?! Game is pretty hilarious, although you can get stuck upside down in a flipping loop quite easily. People were great!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:56pm

    *flips upside down*
    *spins crazy through the air*
    *text spamming the screen*
    Me: "WHAT'S GOING OOOOON?! :D"

    Seriously though, it's quite a fun game and concept. It's kind of annoying you flip on your side quite easily. And when you do, you shoot through in the air getting a **** ton of bonuses. While it's fun that this happens, it's not that fun that it happens every ten seconds, so you should tweak it so you don't flip over THAT easy.

    Cosine says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:20pm

    Wow, this is tons of fun to screw around in! Fits the theme in a way I didn't quite expect. Only complaint from me is that the graphics, even though intentionally simple, were just too simple. Also, becoming small and crashing into a car could send you through the ground of the world (http://puu.sh/1Csox). Otherwise, an excellent entry.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:27pm

    Wish there were sounds and a few less bugs, but I really love how you placed the scores on the screen. Great work.

    Cosine says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:28pm

    Actually, collisions are just buggy with large/small cars in general (http://puu.sh/1CsEq).

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:46pm

    Hahaha, I was having some fun until I hit another car in a head-on collision and fell out of the world. Then it was an air bonus paradise.

    Fun game. Simplistic graphics were fitting, it would be an altogether different experience with realistic graphics. The physics were a bit off (getting onto ramps is tricky!) but didn't take too much away from the experience.

    Great use of the theme! :D

    tcho_i_er says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:07pm

    Not bad but i think it's too much crazy xD
    I couldn't play for like 5 mn since the because of the car barel rolling

    DeathBySnail says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:11pm

    Loved it. No idea what was going on.

    boarderboy67 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:06pm

    ummmm. ok AMAZING game

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:47am

    Fun concept, love some of the weird bonuses you can get! Vehicle mechanics took a little getting used to but over all a solid entry!

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:37am

    Good job! Felt like I was playing Grand Theft Auto with a dash of Tony Hawk :D

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:45am

    Hell of a good time playing this one.

    barigorokarl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:41am

    24 billion points!!11!1 Gut stuck on the diamond, though ;-)

    jerrre says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:56am

    Fun! I think I found a goat

    The explosions and all take a bit too long, I spent more time waiting flying controlless through the air then driving, but funny game

    chrismwaite says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:02am

    Fun game. I like how the people continue to walk even when they're knocked over - very funny. Had some weird clipping issues but overall its a nice concept (definitely feeling the Noby Noby boy influence in the visuals)

    LTyrosine says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:09am

    I liked it!

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:39pm

    Haha love it. Carmagedooooooon! The score/text makes it quite funny.

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:51pm

    The bonuses really made this game. It felt like a strange cross between Second Life and Toy Commander, which I didn't even know was possible. I was sad that even though there were bonuses for tailgating and even your car exploding, that there wasn't a single bonus for crashing into other cars. Fun game though!

    bentog says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:07pm

    This sounded like a good game, but I couldn't play it, it was REALLY buggy. I started driving and the my car started flying and spinning crazily... I'm sorry, it's just so buggy it's unplayable.

    FinalMirage says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:48pm

    Haha, cool concept! I ended up getting shot up into the air and never came back down and I some of the different popups were pretty funny.

    dek says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:56pm

    Loved it, funny :D

    zatyka says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:07am

    I enjoyed myself quite a bit. This isn't typical, I liked that there wasn't any goals, and I just had to figure things out myself. High on the fun factor.

    hissssssssss says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:16pm

    Even after I "finished" everything (hit everything, made all the jumps etc.), I still wanted to keep driving around running over people and smashing things. Does that make me terrible? Something this simple shouldn't be this fun.

    I left to go get soup for a minute and came back to find the car in a never-ending explosion loop in the middle of the sky. Probably a bug?

    garygreen says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 10:17pm

    Chaotic and fun. :-)

    DavidErosa says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:11pm

    Wow, found the goat, but took me a while as I kept on bouncing around!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]