Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 18 hours, 17 minutes, 36 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 18 hours, 17 minutes, 37 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Greed - Gib - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    ***********************

    Greed is a social experiment. I wanted to take a different approach on the theme, by not making you play a villain, but instead by making YOU the villain.

    I've put 50$ at stake. In one month, on January 13th, I'll give those 50 bucks to someone.

    You break blocks, you earn points. You can keep those points, or give them to a charity. The more points you have, the more likely to be selected at the end you are. Easy maths.

    I plan to post some statistics on the experiment after it ends.

    Made with a fine blend of FlashPunk/Adobe Flash. Source coming shortly, sorry for the delay.


    ***********************

    View Gib's journal. | View all entries by Gib

    Ratings

    #4Innovation4.34
    #24Theme4.13
    #107Overall3.52
    #200Mood3.11
    #258Graphics3.20
    #388Humor2.44
    #566Audio1.47
    #629Fun2.22
    #948Coolness32%

    Comments

    uuav says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:04pm

    That's awesome.

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:53pm

    Clearly a great, unique and unsuspected way to perfectly answer the theme!
    Go CHARITY! Go!

    Fonserbc says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01pm

    Interesting!

    chribbe1 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:05pm

    I like the interpretation of the theme, making one of the player (possibly) into a villain. The game itself could have been a bit more fun though. Nice clean design.

    timtipgames says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12pm

    Great great great idea. Agree that the game itself is quite repetitive. 5 Stars for Innovation anyways.

    Volpes says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12pm

    Very interesting idea!
    Hope charity wins!

    Jesse Freeman says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:15pm

    I really like the art style and the multi-layered effect for layers you "scratch off" was interesting. A lot more interesting then I had thought. Not much of a "game" but I think there is a lot of potential here you can build upon.

    Luis Anton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24pm

    Wait, what? When did Peter Molyneux enter LD48? :D Best part is that this version of Curiosity at least may end up donating something to charity! Or not, if we are villains...

    Manest says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:25pm

    More original game I've see here :)

    Theorem says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:26pm

    Brilliant!
    Is earning points random? I can't seem to find a pattern.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:29pm

    I'm... curious...

    MrOtton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:32pm

    This is a pretty interesting idea. Very unique! I like it :)

    robashton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:41pm

    Haha, funny one - hope Unicef wins!

    xgeovanni says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:43pm

    This is the first game I've rated 5 for innovation. Pure awesomeness.

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:47pm

    Well, this is a fresh take on the theme.

    Dir3kt says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:52pm

    Nice, looking forward for the results.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:18pm

    Greed is now on my desktop.

    Harsay says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:20pm

    The best thing I saw ever O_O

    GFM says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:23pm

    Okay this is awesome... and scary!

    (I'm not able to explain why... but I just don't fell like playing this... it seems wrong, somehow... >_<)

    NinoScript says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:27pm

    I like being a villain. :B

    FrozenCow says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:53pm

    Awesome idea! I'm intested to know what will happen 13th of Januari.

    bentog says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:02pm

    Good idea.

    NinoScript says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:25pm

    The game stopped working for me. I click the "TO ME" button and nothing happens :C

    Also, many buttons do weird things if pressed more than once before the animations stop.

    gritfish says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:55pm

    Very clever entry. Would have been great for the fuckthisjam.

    Datw says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:23pm

    Not really a game, but very interesting. I should warn you, though, to autoclick user.

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:24am

    Curiosity Plane?

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:39am

    It would be interesting to serve ads during gameplay that would add cash to a global pot to be divvied out monthly. The visual aesthetic is awesome as well. Great work!

    Faust says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:22am

    When I first see the title, I thought you approached from a similar perspective as I do, but I'm totally wrong. This is definitely one of the most meaningful challenge I've seen so far in this LD, great work.

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:26am

    Such a special idea...WOW

    caasi says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:57am

    When I found a click with 30pt, I know you are a genius!
    Well, you are the villain, although normally we don't call people villain when they make rules. :p

    Gib says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:54pm

    Thx everybody for the kind words.

    01010111 -> I've considered ads, but it will ultimately make so few money it wasn't worth degrading the clean look of the page :)

    Datw -> I can track them. Dunno what to do with them though.

    I can't make an improved version yet, as I need to wait for the voting round to end. If I can have some free time, I'll put together an new version that will go live at the end of the contest.

    Robotic says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:36pm

    This is a powerful idea and probably the most interesting take on the theme I've seen.

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:17pm

    Nice idea, good luck with this!

    allinlabs says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:50pm

    Gib is the anonymous account of Peter Molyneux, yup.
    5 stars for innovation, very original and unique answer to the theme.

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:53pm

    Disturbing concept, i wanna see the results now 3:

    lucasncv says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:35pm

    Neat idea! 5/5 innovation

    YopSolo says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:13pm

    Benetnuts is the villain :)

    daredevildave says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:20pm

    Nice idea. I suspect the LD crowd will give the money to charity ;-)

    I had a bug where "0 points" was visible all the time.

    Claite says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:49pm

    I took it upon myself to raise the UNICEF rating by at least .2% :)

    Very interesting game.

    Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:46am

    I fail at villainy, apparently. :)

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:03pm

    Very interesting use of the theme. I'm waiting for the results!

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:52am

    Amazing entry! I really like the thought and idea of either being a villain or donating. I had a lot of fun fiddling with it. :)

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:54am

    rather addictive, and I don't want any money, just the leaderboard..
    Also I like how rare the 30's are, makes getting one always exciting, and getting 2 on the same board thrilling

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 7:49pm

    Cool idea :D. Good job.

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 6:44pm

    Genius!

    I clicked. I clicked a lot.
    Why ? It's repetitive, it's not especially funny...
    But I clicked. I clicked for charity.

    Now I'm sure, I'm a good guy. This game demonstrates it.
    This is one of my definition of gaming : helping the player to discover himself.
    Who need fun when you have this?

    Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:44am

    Clearly inspired by Molyneux's Curiosity. I didn't particularly think clicking the blocks was fun/flashy enough so I just did one round.

    tompudding says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:03pm

    Beautiful aesthetic and a fantastic take on the theme.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]