Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 75 days, 14 hours, 51 minutes, 37 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    They All Fall Down - Fififox - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    "They All Fall Down" is a puzzle platformer where you have to make the characters fall from the platforms.
    To achieve this quest, you are allowed to choose some characters which the others will run away from.

    Note: Sorry about the short and "not as good as it could have been" audio, but my laptop's soundcard died after after my first tries at making a soundtrack... That laptop is 10 years old; I'm happy it hasn't died completely. :O

    View Fififox's journal. | View all entries by Fififox

    Ratings

    #21Innovation4.00
    #89Overall3.56
    #114Fun3.41
    #122Theme3.76
    #236Mood3.03
    #363Audio2.43
    #446Humor2.27
    #475Graphics2.68
    #948Coolness32%

    Comments

    ChainedLupine says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:28am

    Wow, intriguing concept! I usually do not like puzzle games of any type, I kept playing this one.

    Scott McBee says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:46am

    Enjoyable take on the theme.

    RylandAlmanza says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:50am

    Really well done!

    Sos says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:01am

    Clicking the guys mid-air is really tricky! I love the puzzle desing, awesome work!

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:22pm

    I impressed how you play around theme! Nice job! I like gameplay and game mechanics. Just audio is annoying.

    Fififox says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:14pm

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

    SaintHeiser: Sorry about the short and "not as good as it could have been" audio, but my laptop's soundcard died after after my first tries at making a soundtrack... That laptop is 10 years old; I'm happy it hasn't died completely. :O
    I'm gonna add that as a note in the description...

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:44pm

    I lost my hearing while playing this game :(
    Some actions were also a bit tricky to do (I don't want to spoil, so I won't say which one)

    Anyway, that is a nice concept. And a nice concept is what makes a good puzzle game :)

    jsmars says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:37pm

    Really well polished, good mechanic and challanging puzzle s.. didn't really fit to to just add the theme though imo, I think it would have worked better with another theme, just having magnets or something.. but not your fault the theme was as it was.. great job!

    robashton says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:43am

    This is a good idea for a puzzle game - I wasn't able to solve the last couple of levels - I guess I had to click them when they were moving and I'm on a mousepad :)

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:15am

    Great puzzle game!

    Husky says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:38am

    Fun!
    A new kind of puzzle game! :)

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:23am

    Very good theme idea! And quite good puzzle!
    Can't beat levels 7 and 8 though. Maybe because I'm too slow with my trackpad

    gnx says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:59am

    Simple clever concept with lots of possibilities, I like it :)
    Visuals are fine, the soundtrack gets a bit aggravating after a while, but that is pretty much the only problem for me.

    raincole says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:35pm

    Very original. It's a potential gameplay.

    caranha says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:09pm

    Very cool idea, and great take on the theme. The "reset" button was not very clear. Maybe add a name to it in the first few levels?

    It was not very clear to me if there was any way to make men reliably go up holes. I managed to do it once (maybe at level 5?) but I'm not sure whether it was intended.

    Arihy says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:26pm

    Good idea and good game ^^

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:42pm

    Not Bad at all :D

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:29pm

    I love puzzle games so playing your game is a plus for me!
    Not so innovating, but I like your effort: puzzle games are never easy to design and test, so I hope you will continue and made a more polished version!

    feili says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    nice! =)

    Infin8 says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:25am

    Brilliant stuff. Simple and solid gameplay!

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:33am

    Finished all the levels. Innovative and fun game to play. There was some glitches when the figure could climb up. I enjoyed the game. Good job!

    mkpictures says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:48pm

    Great game :o I Really liked it!

    Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:23pm

    5* Innovation & theme -- awesome use specifically of the villain concept.

    Fififox says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:42pm

    Thanks everyone :D

    laaph says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:53pm

    Awesome entry! Despite the short loop, I loved the music! The puzzle mechanics were tricky but I made it through all 8 levels (though it tells me there was an easier solution on level 8)! Strange and odd feel and look, but well done!

    csanyk says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 4:14am

    Very challenging and tricky.

    Jan 4, 2013 @ 8:14pm

    Solid puzzler!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]