Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 75 days, 12 hours, 53 minutes, 3 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Ore Chasm - Black Ships Fill the Sky - Jam Entry

    [We didn't get as far as we would have liked to. We didn't manage to incorporate the theme in a clever way. Though we hope you can enjoy what we did make.]

    A game about shooting lasers and mining ore in beautiful unspoilt mars.

    With your friends! (It is multiplayer and it should be playable multiplayer online we hope...)

    If it works perfectly for everyone that would be pretty miraculous. (Given how hard multiplayer is to get working during a jam).

    Please be patient if it totally fucks out. We'll be fixing errors in a post Ludum version.

    View Black Ships Fill the Sky's journal. | View all entries by Black Ships Fill the Sky

    Ratings

    Overall(Jam)4.20
    Audio(Jam)4.27
    Fun(Jam)4.20
    #10Mood(Jam)4.00
    #13Graphics(Jam)4.50
    #16Innovation(Jam)3.93
    #112Humor(Jam)2.92
    #268Theme(Jam)2.60
    #930Coolness33%

    Comments

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:11am

    Getting a 404 on both links.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:36am

    oops, 404...

    nickworks says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:35am

    Wow, very nice! I had a hard time getting enough resources, making it to the top, and affording much fuel. Maybe I was missing something, but what I did play had me wanting more!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:44am

    @Nickworks Thanks for giving it a try! It was super hard getting it all working and sadly we didn't have the time to adjust the gameplay.

    We'll definitely take this a bit further. Hope you get a chance to play it then!

    Carduus says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:09pm

    AAAaaaah, i follow your work since my first ludum dare, and one more time you come rocks out butt off with a brilliant game. Am wondering where is the theme in your game, nevertheless, i am on your game for 10 min and i am already fan!

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:26am

    I think I ended up playing this more than any other LD Entry. It's great fun, I can see me and my friends playing this lots.

    caribou says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:54am

    I loved your game, there is a really nice feeling destroying everything, i was stucked playing trying to unlock all the weapons, art is awesome, all those particles going away when mining made it look really polished ! The difficulty was really well balanced to me and the music/sound was fitting the mood of your game.

    I don't know who's the villain though. I said it was well balanced and it was, but only for one player in my opinion. My first game was with an already started multiplayer game and it was hard to upgrade my weapons when you have to go 500 meters under the ground and going back (Punk* if you're reading me). I guess you are supposed to play the game with your friends from the beginning but even though, the more players in the game the harder it becomes for everyone. That's the main disappointment for me, it's a co-op game but it's really hard to stay with your friends and there's no actual co-op mechanic.

    That's nitpicking stuff for a LD but this is surely the best LD game i've played so far and would definitely play it if you are going further with it!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:31pm

    @Caribou Thanks for playing! I'm super pleased you enjoyed it!

    I don't think we succeeded on the theme myself :)

    Deril says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:58am

    Awesome!
    mix of couple very good games!

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:29pm

    great job! worked perfectly online for me. what did you use for the 2d graphics (ie. which Unity frameworks, if any)?

    Carduus says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:21pm

    Many stars, this is awesome bro!

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:16pm

    Amazing!
    The only issue I had was that it became pretty much impossible to get back to the refueling station after a certain amount of blocks had been destroyed.

    Houly says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:24pm

    This looks pretty and works like a charm for an multiplayer game in under 72 hours. Impressive. Had some fun playing it. But it doesn't really capture the theme.

    Dyn says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:11pm

    Maaaan, that's awesome!

    Planet completed (and all content)!
    http://gyazo.com/b9c7e17c3ba8190dc2ea89dd21af5250
    http://gyazo.com/1ddcafa9c20b81d0261e89a0483ff38a

    I personally think that Fat man (and lesser version) is better than Bass Cannon 'cos of explosion.

    Fastest way to got all stuff in the game:
    http://gyazo.com/1cad148f306bef838e6329b7d97da2d7
    http://gyazo.com/46ae13bcaf2b09f307a6785423b20202
    http://gyazo.com/4fcb0b18e0dd1e587f9ac7bbc140e0d1
    1. Buy 5k weapon and one or two upgrades. Very fast with the hint below.
    2. Dig (one line down) from left to the selling point until you will find a pirate station
    3. Gather saphirium and rubyium
    4. Buy 20k weapon from the pirate station
    5. Go deeper and hunt for diamondium

    HINT:
    At early stages don't refuel if you can buy an upgrade or a new weapon.
    Buy and die. You will not loose your new stuff :)




    I love you game and want to play full version)))

    Tom 7 says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:07am

    I liked the graphics and the controls a lot! I played a number of times, but I found it way too hard to get enough gems to even repay the cost of the fuel it took to get them. Maybe just make refueling free?

    Dir3kt says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:00am

    Just one word: Brilliant :)

    Jan 4, 2013 @ 8:11pm

    Really really good! The multiplayer is fun but I wish I could interact more with other players. A minor complaint for a great entry.

    allinlabs says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 3:03pm

    One of the most addictive game of this LD. I played and finished it many times; all alone, with friends, and with strangers.

    What I liked :
    * the game feels really good and is very fun, with all the lasers, and propulsion, and explosions.
    * loved the in game interface to buy stuff.
    * the theme worked for me. You're just destroying the planet to get the last resources, so yeah, the players are definitively villains greedy bastards.
    * the pirate cave ! so awesome the first time I found it !
    * graphics and music, just well done, you know your stuff.

    What I didn't like / could be improved :
    * there's no ending :( I would expect to find something after the last layer.
    * the first ~30 minutes or so is challenging, but after getting all upgrades/weapons the game is too easy. Maybe some monsters or something could change that.
    * I would had love to keep every weapons I bought.
    * the upgrades buttons would need confirmations with <space> like weapons. How many times I felt on the wrong upgrade...
    * in the post LD version, me and my friend encountered the bug where we got stuck and disappeared.
    * on the post LD version, if I host a game and a friend join the game, but I get disconnected or refresh the page, the host is listed with others and my friend can still continue playing but I can't join the game (didn't try on the normal version).

    I really think this game has a huge potential. Fuck, I would even pay for an enhanced version with more upgrades, maybe monsters/boss, proper ending... or at least, I'm sure more players could enjoy it if you post it on web portals like Kongregate.

    Long story short, I know you're busy with BroForce, but this game is super addictive and already complete on itself, it only needs some little changes to be freaking awesome !

    Anyway, you got a new fan :)

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:41pm

    Oh wow, this has to be the most gorgeous game I've played this time around!

    OU GDA says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 5:53pm

    Fantastic game. Great graphics, audio, and controls. I was curious if you would do a postmortem / tech post about how you all actually made the game. I've been trying out various ways to do 2d in Unity and you all have definitely nailed it.

    torcado194 says ...
    Jan 9, 2013 @ 12:24am

    this is very nice! i love these types of games like Motherload. you said you will be working further on the game, is there any way to get notified for future releases?

    nodoxi says ...
    Jan 9, 2013 @ 7:42am

    game is awesome!
    which software used for server?

    DiThi says ...
    Feb 24, 2013 @ 9:29pm

    Please, provide a Windows standalone executable, for us Linux users. Wine can run these just fine, while we can't run the web plugin.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]