Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 17 days, 19 hours, 42 minutes, 56 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Greatest Relic Identify Expert - Spotlightor Gao - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    [INTRODUCTION]
    Red dragon is strong, dangrous, evil, and always collecting treasures.
    However... How do they live in peacetime?

    [HOW TO PLAY]
    Clik to fire a fireball.
    Try to destroy all the pieces of fake treasure in the time limit.
    Make COMBOs to get higher score!

    View Spotlightor Gao's journal. | View all entries by Spotlightor Gao

    Ratings

    Coolness53%
    #38Graphics4.14
    #67Audio3.41
    #83Mood3.42
    #116Humor3.32
    #161Innovation3.31
    #162Fun3.28
    #164Overall3.38
    #398Theme3.14

    Comments

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:44pm

    It's excellent !

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:48pm

    I've read your blog entry earlier, so I bookmarked it - and boy, am I glad I did it. The gameplay is fun, but where the game really shines is polish - everything looks so neat and is well tied together. (And I like the story of the dragon who didn't want to be a villain. :D )

    PS: Dragons are awesome!

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:49pm

    Oh, and I forgot: Please rate a few entries! The more you rate, the more people see your game - and I think it deserves to be seen!

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:40am

    Overall a very polished presentation.

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:24am

    Very well done! love the music and sound

    Husky says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:17am

    The story and dragon is cute :)
    I like the different way you define the villain.
    Good job!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:16am

    @Wuhao Thanks for your comment! I'll play your game soon!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:21am

    @Tobias Wehrum: It's my honor to be bookmarked by you, because I know the game didn't look good at the early stage. Thanks for you suggestions, I'll start rating games soon!

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:03pm

    Confusing but nice graphics!

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:37pm

    Very polished and fun. Well done.

    berkano says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:16pm

    Really cool graphics and music, great fun!

    Lashiz121 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:24pm

    Great game!

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:38pm

    I didn't always get enough time to read the dialogue. Other than that this is pretty great!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:51pm

    The text bubbles would always disappear too quickly and I had no idea what was going on, but the physics based gameplay was pretty fun.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:50am

    That was funny !
    After a few level, I got chain-stunned, I couldn't do anything...

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:55am

    @JaJ @bradleypollard: I've changed dialog speed a little bit, now it will be easier to read the dialog. I hope it will not break the rules since it's a bug fix.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:58am

    @ReveLorenfield You are right, lv4 is quite difficult. I suggest focusing on cleaning the nearby area.

    goerp says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:12pm

    The dragon looks great! I like the hand drawn characters and somehow it works with the 3D.
    Very original take on the theme and funny.
    I think there are some bugs, sometimes I got hit but there was nothing near me?

    azurenimbus says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:54pm

    I was confused at first, because it really seemed like the game was going to be about spotting the fake, and I feel that would have been a really great idea and a unique game. So I was a bit disappointed at the actual gameplay.

    One thing's for sure, though: you did an amazing job with the presentation. Really polished stuff, congrats.

    rvmook says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:54pm

    Nice job with the 3D camera panning stuff it really ups the mood. Dialogs were a bit cheesy at times but the game itself was fun to play.

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 6:46pm

    It is just complete it is hard to believe it was made 48 hours , good work :)

    Jacic says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:39pm

    Why do you think all dragons are evil? They're awesome! Nice game though.

    Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:16am

    @azurenimbus I've planned to add a "spotting the fake" part before destroying the fake. You must find the fake by the character's description. e.g. "A stone age television", "A Qing dynasty vase"... But I failed to implement it in the time limit.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]