Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 78 days, 9 hours, 16 minutes, 28 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Tetrominoes Butcher - dacap - Jam Entry

    A little experiment where you handle the "behind the scenes" of Tetris game.

    There are several things to improve in the next weeks:
    1) the gameplay, and a progressive "how to play" in game,
    2) speed of pieces/CPU depending how many pieces there are chopped,
    3) score (less score for chopping the same tetromino shape several times),
    4) music, I didn't have enough time for a good audio mastering,
    5) sounds fx,
    6) kongregate API

    Tools: FlashDevelop + Flixel + Emacs
    Gfx & animations: http://www.aseprite.org/
    Music: SONAR 6 LE + Korg M50 + Adobe Audition
    Audio interface: Edirol UA-25EX

    View dacap's journal. | View all entries by dacap

    Ratings

    #5Innovation(Jam)4.15
    #51Overall(Jam)3.60
    #75Fun(Jam)3.25
    #98Humor(Jam)3.00
    #104Audio(Jam)3.19
    #113Graphics(Jam)3.50
    #120Theme(Jam)3.50
    #229Mood(Jam)2.56
    #1081Coolness20%

    Comments

    dacap says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:06am

    A little experiment where you handle the "behind the scenes" of Tetris game.

    There are several things to improve in the next weeks:
    1) the gameplay (complex controls),
    2) score (less score for chopping the same tetromino shape several times),
    3) music, I didn't have enough time for a good audio mastering,
    4) sounds fx,
    5) kongregate API

    Nolan C says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:29am

    Once again I am just blown away by the creativity of some of these games. Brilliant idea, great work.

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:38am

    Great idea, and the pixel art looks awesome!

    Birchmountain says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:20am

    This is an awesome Tetris "copy". Looks great, the gameplay is fun and interesting. Well done!

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:16pm

    I could'n figure how to play, and lost 3 times.
    The other comments kept me in the game and only then did I discover the use of the ENTER key. You sould had it to the description

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:54pm

    I just like, i have finaly got who's make me upset when i played TETRIS

    You had just made ma night...hahaha

    Bullseye8841 says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:56am

    Absolutely brilliant!

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:18am

    Whoa. Crazy awesome reversal of Tetris gameplay. Exceptional work here!

    Encircle says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:16pm

    That was pretty good game, I didn't expect that. Its a little slowish though.

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 1:29pm

    Difficult to play, macabre concept! Good work!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]