Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 29 days, 7 hours, 38 minutes, 41 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 64 days, 8 hours, 26 minutes, 41 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Extinct : Humankind fade in the mist - Benjamin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is my little puzzle game I hope you will like it :)

    GOAL :
    You have to drag and drop traps on the road of the human tribe so they can never reach the meat.
    Humans always find the best solution to reach meat, so you have to find a way to build an unbeatable puzzle.

    HUMANS TRICKS:
    - Masked warrior can take 3 damage before dying
    - Fire holder can use his fire to scare animals or to solve some traps
    - Masked warrior sometime hold a spear. It can be used to solve trap or against animals to have a first strike. With fire, spear deal twice more damages.

    HINT :
    If you are stuck at first level, here's an HINT for you : The god statue must be placed a the first position...

    View Benjamin's journal. | View all entries by Benjamin

    Ratings

    Overall4.38
    Coolness73%
    #6Innovation4.29
    #7Fun4.03
    #22Mood3.87
    #23Graphics4.26
    #34Audio3.65
    #55Theme3.97
    #110Humor3.35

    Comments

    nSun says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:47am

    Le jeu est excellent. Un bon concept plein de potentiel, mais qui exigerait du contenu en grande variété et quantité pour atteindre le top du top, ce qui n'est pas évident dans le contexte des 48h du LD...

    MvT says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:26am

    I may don't understand the all GP, but i can't finish the 1st lvl because humans always have the fire.

    Manest says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:18pm

    Il n'y a pas un soucis? Je mets les pieges dans l'ordre que je veux mais quand les humains avancent sur les croix, il ne se passe rien du tout. Ils arrivent toujours tous au bout.

    Manest says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:20pm

    ok, pigé, il faut les glisser sur l'ecran. Je pensais qu'ils fallait juste les mettre dans l'ordre en bas

    Robotic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:32pm

    Wow, my favorite entry so far. Great concept, and the levels are perfect. Awesome game.

    naughtyloose says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:58pm

    Very hard game but really awesome! :)

    jhrrsn says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:16pm

    Super sweet, but way hard. What the hey!

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:36pm

    You're right it's too hard :-/ I definitively should have start with a 3 points problem instead of 4.
    I hope that someone will still make it to the end...

    har_g says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:53pm

    Complex ! i like.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:00pm

    Damn, i'm stuck. The last one guy hold the door, so nobody get the food. but the game doesn't know that i beat the level.
    screenshot : http://imm.io/PtJi

    har_g says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:03pm

    Ah yeah, screenshot issue. Now, it's better : https://dl.dropbox.com/u/48036137/Bug01.png

    ncannasse says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:23pm

    Finished it, love it : moore levels please !

    Worse says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:21pm

    Excellent entry in all respects!

    Yacodo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:00am

    Too bad I can't finish it... :(
    http://ld25.roboot.fr/ld-ben.png

    The one standing for the door never die and the only one to pass don't continue on his way (eat the fruit and die : game finish...) (Trap-mammouth-Ice for the reproduction.)

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:33am

    very sosphisticated gameplay, i liked it and i'll try to finish it :3

    boena says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:04am

    I LOVE IT! By far the best entry i've played so far.

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:23pm

    Instant bookmark. I'm pretty sure i will come back to the game multiple time this year during my lunch breaks :)

    I completed the first level as soon as I understood the concept (and that you have to drag and drop the traps), I feel like the difficulty is just fine. Maybe a step by step tutorial would be better than a wall of text to explain the game?
    Bonus point for the mudic, which fits the game really nicely

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:14pm

    Without challenge, there is no fun. Playing such a game without difficulty is, imho, a waste of time. Hence the difficulty is just right.
    Is there truly a part of random in the AI choices ?

    I'm looking forward to see some extensions.

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:54pm

    No random in AI choices. AI just try to find a working solution. If there's one, it'll find it and play it.

    Carduus says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:42pm

    Brillant-brainfuck gameplay! I can't imagine how it was brainfuck to make :)
    GFX are very nice!

    soupy says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:46am

    I beat it! Very good design. The fun animations and interactions compliment the puzzle design very well. The sound was good and even though I had to replay the levels many times it didn't feel very tedious.

    01101101 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:00am

    Nice one! The graphics and animations are really cute. I'm stuck on level 2 though, I'll have to try again later...

    Demurgos says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:35pm

    Nice game but too hard.
    Graphics are nice and it's a good puzzle game.

    There's juste an horrible bug with the lvl 4 :/
    http://i.imgur.com/wgI16.png
    This config can kill everyone but I do not win :(

    Wan & Manu says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:56pm

    Impressive work on the animations and general polish, and the gameplay is really interesting.

    It would have been perfect if it had more easy levels to introduce the "items" one by one, to avoid making the player read loads of text to even get started. With some work on this aspect, Extinct would really look like a complete, really enjoyable game.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:04pm

    Very cool puzzle game, the graphic and the audio are great, excellent work. BTW, I found that when the people enter the gate with only 2 people, and 1 of them is the leader, the game just stocked.

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:04pm

    Really liked this one - polished, funny and challenging!

    TheCze says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:01pm

    Awesome game!

    loren says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:43pm

    so fun! I love the pathing and obstacles. great sounds and sprites

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:17pm

    Really nice concept and excellent! though it's hard it makes players think about the choices. Pixel Art is super nice.

    Taffaz says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:47pm

    Really enjoyed the game, one of the favourite ones I've played so far.

    Found a bug on level 4 (I think). I had pit first, t-rex left path, mammoth right path, then winter, then temple, then apple. The men went the right path, through winter and had two men left then the masked man held open the temple gate for the other man and the game just remained with him holding open the gate and not dying or going through. Other than that, top marks.

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:01pm

    One of the best entries! Very good idea, very good work on the AI, but veeery hard as well. Couldn't complete because the game got stuck in an animation while some people passed the door. The game did not freeze, but nothing happened anymore, except of music playing the the guy doing the lift-the-gate-animation. Really well polished though!

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:34am

    Thank you everyone for comments and bug report. I was unsure about my right to correct the gate bug. I finally decided to do it since it can be seen as a "crash". I hope everything is fine with this :-/

    Suese says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:35am

    Outstanding

    Meep says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:51am

    Difficult, but that's what made it feel more of an accomplishment to beat. :) I really enjoyed this one; the graphics and sound were amazing, and it was just overall fun.

    daredevildave says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:23am

    Lovely game, sophisticated gameplay. The level design was a little weak. I found the first level really hard (basically just ended up testing each possibility, even with the hint). Second level I finished first time, then stuck on the 3rd.

    I didn't quite understand how to predict where they would go, e.g. when they would turn back, sometimes they would sacrifice fire, sometimes they wouldn't. I think it would be more enjoyable if it was totally predictable. (if you know what to look for)

    Still, I really enjoyed it. Very good game.

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:35am

    Ooh, this is a fresh take on defense games. Loving the puzzle aspect of it which forces you to think like a programmer. The prehistoric motif is memorable and well presented.

    Great game, but not quite flawless. The difficulty curve could be more refined - it feels like the second level was easier than the first, for example. And the AI has obvious bugs, most clearly in level 3. Sometimes in crossroads, they manage to clear one path but then take the other one anyway. It seems their behaviour isn't perfectly predictable either (they do different decisions with the mammoth even in identical setups), and I'm not sure if that's a good thing considering the planning this game requires.

    I wrote a lot about the flaws, but that's just because I think this game has potential and I want to give you ideas for a post-compo version. Even now, it's a 4-star game that stands out from most other entries.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:59am

    Very very good game! ^^ The graphics are amazing, the music is good and the whole feel of the game is wonderful.
    The gameplay is very very cool, I loved thinking about possible ways to make the tribe get rid of certain assets or guys. Playing through the game was a very satisfying experience :)
    The only thing I didn't understand is one what basis the tribe would choose a certain path, which made the game quite a bit more difficult. But not in a bad way :3

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:14pm

    This totally deserves more levels. Very clever puzzles.
    Sometimes the human come back to fall on traps that aren't even on their way, this is a bit weird, but aside from that, this is an excellent game!

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:26pm

    @daredevildave @ MaximShoemaker Infact the game is predictable as long as you are making a puzzle with only one way to the meat. If you dont I will play the first winning solution I find. If you success I will play one of the tribes failure and it's pretty difficult to choose one ( I wrote on this here : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/19/216557/ )

    @Jiggawatt In identical setups, they should be totally predictable, no random in solver. If your experience is different, I'm interested in knowing the level & sequence.

    rubna says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:52pm

    Solid entry!

    Blodyavenger says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:24pm

    Very innovative puzzle game, I loved everything from music, graphics and difficulty puzzles. Good job!

    nate427 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:53pm

    Really cool idea, but I couldn't beat level 4 no matter what I did. It seemed to be that if I changed something further down in the course, the humans would act differently earlier in the course, making it impossible to win.

    rvmook says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:02am

    Great game, good art, nice music and perfect mood. Only thing I didn't really like was the chance factor. But then again, that made it actually pretty fun to play. Great work!

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:18am

    @rvmook @nate27 There's no chance factor. A perfect solution always win and an unperfect solution always loose.
    But too many people think the opposite, I really have to work on my game explanation.

    char68 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:52am

    Really great game. The atmosphere was well set up for both graphics and audio. The only issue I had was that the puzzle's weren't so intuitive. Sometimes it felt like I was just guessing as to what I had to do, but in later levels I think I got a hang of it.

    voidstar69 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:29pm

    Brilliant game! Fantastic puzzles and excellent pixel art.

    markusfisch says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:36am

    Best game I played so far! Really good idea, really nice graphics and a subtle, atmospheric background music. Outstanding.

    frischideu says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:51am

    awesome game! it's rlly well done, graphics and music are very nice and the idea is outrageous. Please make more levels with more deadly traps!

    arhpositive says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:17pm

    Great entry! We need more levels!

    joaorequiao says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:22pm

    Great game!

    EdoMiyamoto says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:01pm

    Really good, i was so sad when I reached the "end", add more levels ! Enhance it ! I'll buy it !

    FrederickK says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:07am

    Interesting use of the theme and very well executed!
    Great job!

    Mago says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:37am

    realy awesome level puzzles. It take me a longer while to finish whole game. Very good game

    Ariake81 says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:14am

    love the cannon fodder style to the graphics, nice!

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 2:35am

    Good job with the results! You deserved to be in the top 10.

    gsw says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 3:58am

    This will solve level 3, but it seems like it shouldn't. The last human throws fire at the tiger, then goes to winter to die, rather than just continuing past the tiger to the meat. http://imgur.com/SK7z8

    Firestorm8 says ...
    Mar 8, 2013 @ 4:14pm

    Awesome game!I can't believe that I finish it!Can you do a more complete version?(Sorry for my not excellent english,I'm French)

    May 20, 2013 @ 3:53pm

    Lvl 4 is broken i complete it then it just freezes forever then i refresh and lose my progress.

    PandaGod117 says ...
    Jul 2, 2013 @ 7:07pm

    can somebody please tell me how to play this game

    PandaGod117 says ...
    Jul 2, 2013 @ 7:10pm

    PLEASE

    PandaGod117 says ...
    Jul 2, 2013 @ 7:24pm

    is there a play button somewhere or

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]