Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 25 days, 16 hours, 40 minutes, 4 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Painful Traps Master - allinlabs - Jam Entry

    You're the traps master, a special type of demon with weak strenght but the ability of placing nasty traps. Don't let the heroes go through the end of the level and pursue their quest. "Cut them all into pieces" as said your boss.

    === How to play ===

    Move with WASD or Arrows Keys.
    Shoot with the mouse.
    Select a corresponding trap with 1,2,3,4,5 keys and then place it with a mouse click. You can press <Escape> to cancel.
    <Space> to start the waves
    <E> to interact with the teleporter.
    <R> to Restart.
    <P> for Pause.
    <M> to Mute.


    === Traps Stats (sorry, didn't have enough time to include it in the game) ===

    <1> Spikes
    - damage : 35
    - cooldown : 5 sec

    <2> Ice Floor
    - damage : 0
    - cooldown : 4.5 sec
    - slowdown duration : 5 sec

    <3> Ghost monster
    - damage : 10
    - cooldown : 1 sec

    <4> Arrow Shooter
    - damage : 15
    - cooldown : 3.5 sec

    <5> Acid Floor
    - damage : 55
    - cooldown : 8 sec

    View allinlabs's journal. | View all entries by allinlabs

    Ratings

    Coolness59%
    #77Graphics(Jam)3.79
    #81Fun(Jam)3.21
    #89Theme(Jam)3.64
    #112Overall(Jam)3.30
    #176Audio(Jam)2.70
    #187Mood(Jam)2.74
    #191Humor(Jam)2.42
    #217Innovation(Jam)2.63

    Comments

    Slushy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:46am

    Love the sprites!

    blob says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:00am

    There's something about the running animation of those little sonic guys that cracks me up.
    Simple but fun platform tower defence game, which is a mix of genre I havent actually seen much before.
    Cool art that reminded me of Sword & Sorcery.
    Couldnt figure out what the last trap was doing ?

    nickworks says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:55am

    Nice inclusion of classic gaming characters!

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:53pm

    Was pretty confused at frist, took me a minut to figure out what to do. Great art and references! Congrats! I don't know how i can bring myself to kill Link :(

    emveyh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:40pm

    These are some pretty sprites :D loving those references!

    illugion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:52pm

    I liked the visual style of this game XD

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:58pm

    i thought this was great! extremely addictive. i like the balance and scarcity of resources, means trap management is important. died on wave 8. great game!

    DiscoFish says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:02pm

    I love visual style a lot!

    YopSolo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:31pm

    a cool td game :)

    psychopsam says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:49am

    Great attempt at a tower defence game in such a short amount of time. It was solid game play, just needed more sound effects. I really liked the sheer number of sprites and artwork created. I got to level 6/9 but I want to try again. Well done.

    DTG says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:49am

    Really cool visual style, neat references

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:54am

    Very cool and innovative. Well done!

    Wan & Manu says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:01am

    Very nice entry, I played it and enjoyed it until the end :) It's the first time I see a such mix of the Tower Defense and platformer genres, it works quite well!

    If I were to make suggestions, I'd say:
    - The balancing of items is quite average. Spikes (and maybe Ice floors to earn more time to shoot) are the only items worth making.
    - The sprites for traps are a quite small, a colored aura or an icon below them would make it more comfortable for the player to distinguish the traps and their types in a glance.
    - Be proud of your pixel art :D

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:36am

    Liked this a lot. Loved the retro game characters as the good guys and using things like PacMan ghosts as bad guys. Pretty slick, fun and easy to play and well polished for 48 hours. Well done.

    DeathBySnail says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:07pm

    Simple and fun little game.

    DragonKN says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:12pm

    the best one that i played so far... the game remembers me the Orcs Must die xD but in 2D

    nitramgc says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    Nice graphics, I loved to discover the new "enemies" in the new wave.

    I was that close not to be a Villain :D

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:49pm

    Cool twist on the tower defense genre and nice consistent art style.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:28am

    Nice work! Very addictive game =)
    But I think there is bad balance. First trap is very useful, and fifth trap useless at the time.

    krutech says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:49pm

    Cool sprites. Fun setting for the theme.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 7:04am

    Nice sprites and tunes.

    csanyk says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 2:49am

    I wasn't very good at this. Seemed like the Marios would kill my ghosts and then I wouldn't have anything left to fight with. Would have been more fun if I didn't suck so much.

    Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:08am

    Goat-legged villains are the best kind of villains.

    Nearly killed myself with spikes at first (somehow). Some sound effects might have juiced this up nicely (obviously).

    Though I had fun smashing the NES and SEGA characters :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]