Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 19 hours, 4 minutes, 13 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Goat Mechanic - EpaceGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Be a goat villain and drop objects into traffic from a bridge! Collect money to buy more things and progress to the next levels. Use grenades, beach balls, eggs, stuffed cats, and more.

    Elliot Pace
    @EpaceGames

    View EpaceGames's journal. | View all entries by EpaceGames

    Ratings

    #5Fun4.07
    #15Overall4.04
    #19Graphics4.32
    #26Humor3.82
    #49Innovation3.83
    #86Theme3.86
    #98Mood3.37
    #169Audio3.00
    #912Coolness35%

    Comments

    ElScootro says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12am

    The game was awesome, until I couldn't get past the second level. I played for around 10 minutes and never scored a hit after the first level.

    deathray says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:15am

    Wonderfully polished! Great artwork, gameplay, graphics, etc.
    I haven't quite figured out any particular strategy to playing though...

    savethejets1 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:16am

    Really polished. Great stuff! + 1 for goats.

    Psytew says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:20am

    Very fun, although since rocks tend to be a lot more effective than a good chunk of the other weapons, it feels a bit useless to try to move on.

    tomvert says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:59pm

    I'm impressed

    epiplon says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:14am

    Someone tell me where the drop button is.

    epiplon says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:35am

    Excellent game, so polished! Doesn't looks like a 2-days game!
    I liked to play, although throwing rocks and eggs was hard to hit.
    Oh, and I found the Drop button. Sorry. =P

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:40pm

    Such a polished entry for the 48-hour compo, really impressive. The gameplay items could maybe be balanced a bit better given more time, but it was really fun to watch the outcome. A slightly sad but excellent ending too...

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:33am

    Poor squirrel! Nooo!
    Great job! The art was great and with more depth (more levels/objects/etc), this would do well on touch devices! :D

    loren says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:52pm

    really fun idea. Great art! To be honest, the name caught my eye, I'm glad I checked this out :)

    DragonKN says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:07pm

    good job =) nice game play, i just think that the audio could be better. but overall its a really nice game =)

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:48pm

    Very fun! And the graphics are cool

    scriptblocks says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:40am

    Awesome! I really wanted a strategy but ended up just using lots of rocks.

    galman says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:07pm

    Awesome game! Really fun, funny and looks extremley polished :D Well done!

    beeglebug says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:15pm

    Fun stuff, could do with a bit of balancing, but awesome nonetheless.

    SuperDisk says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:53pm

    Quite cool, the art was nice and the gameplay was great. I didn't really know what the goat is relevant to the plotline, but whatever. The ending was great.

    MrGrieves says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:12am

    Just stellar. Polished, as everyone has pointed out, but also just good game design, a refreshingly original concept and setting, and the potential here for greater things. I'm a fan.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]