Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo Begins: in 9 days, 2 hours, 17 minutes, 26 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam Begins: in 9 days, 2 hours, 17 minutes, 27 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Land of the Weebums - vrav - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Dare to terrorize innocent, bumbling weebums!

    I've added a post-compo version that has some bug fixes, but it's liable to also have random weird features as I try different things.

    Tools used: Blender 2.65, Unity, Photoshop, Sculptris, Meshlab, Audacity

    Mirror for web player: http://nratcliff.com/l48/25/shared/vrav/ld25_4.html

    View vrav's journal. | View all entries by vrav

    Ratings

    Coolness83%
    #58Humor3.63
    #104Fun3.43
    #152Innovation3.36
    #186Overall3.32
    #225Graphics3.31
    #228Mood3.05
    #312Audio2.57
    #414Theme3.11

    Comments

    arkeus says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:59am

    There is something so satisfying about flinging these off cliffs. Do they get more flingy the more you fling them? Sometimes I think I might have launched them into space. :)

    nihilocrat says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:03am

    It's pretty fun to fling them into the air by getting them to fall over on their side THEN flinging them, so they go directly up.

    Jacic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:30am

    Haha, that was fun. Grabbing them by the feet launches them so high!

    Manuel777 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34am

    Just squish their botties and BAAAM!

    Fireblend says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:28am

    I worry that there are so many games here that rely on my ability to inflict pain upon cute creatures, and that they're the ones I enjoy the most. Great fun!

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:03am

    I like flicking them around!

    RylandAlmanza says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:05am

    "Aw... I can't grab their butts. Oh, yes I can!" Brilliant!

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:24am

    What did the 5 fingers say to the weebum?

    Xymostech says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:36am

    This is such a stress reliever after the 48 hour crazy time! Maybe I should bookmark this if I ever feel stressed. Lots of fun! :)

    Crowbeak says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:31am

    I love the fact that you can fling them by their well-defined butts. xD

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:54pm

    Love the intro and general feel getting in to play.

    GFM says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:39pm

    This reminded me of the Super Mario 64 intro. :)

    Nice game!
    It's fun flinging them. =D

    Sos says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:10pm

    I am such a terrible person. I think you nailed the theme pretty much.

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:11am

    Delightfully cute and well-polished. More of a software toy than a game but really fun nonetheless. Good job!

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:17am

    I don't know what but we have something here that could be an interesting title !

    Kharza says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:24am

    Very Therapeutic!

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:41am

    really like the physics and audio, fits nicely :)

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:29am

    Oh dear, this is the best thing for winding down after the jam. XD So many lols.

    Xeke_Death says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:10am

    Quite satisfying grabbing their legs and launching them into space...

    jujule says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:34am

    This game perfectly reminds us how a terrible species we are. We enjoy torture and harassment. We were always the villain...

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:36am

    Fun toy :)

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:39am

    You can imagine a whole system of trick shots, e.g. extra points for indirection and so on

    I understand there's a physics engine underneath but I couldn't work out what the system was nor anticipate how a victem would fling when I released.

    But solid fun!

    vrav says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:49am

    Wow, thanks for the feedback everyone. :D Fireblend, astute. I'm glad you guys enjoy it, and that it's making you feel guilty. Mwahaha, I am the true villain after all! (Just kidding.)

    Will, I agree that the physics are a bit obscure at the moment. I had planned for dragging and throwing, but decided to stick with simple rubberband-style snapping (kind of like a slingshot) in order to move on.

    Winterblood, I totally agree that it needs more game to it, and do have a few things in mind for a polished version. :)

    Thanks for all your comments and feedback everybody, glad you are enjoying it.

    GFM - I got that feeling early on myself, and kind of used that memory as inspiration. Glad someone else picked up on that. :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:49am

    This is weirdly fascinating. Nice work!

    aare says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:56am

    Funny idea, I miss the goal or challenge here though...

    Xeke_Death says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:19am

    @vrav: If you see this, I found out I am able to fix the game breaking bug in my game, and did so.

    SmallDeadGuy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:58am

    Fun, nice idea. Would have liked it to be expanded more

    jsmars says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:49am

    Fun idea! Grabbing bottoms is awesome! wasn't much of a challange/gameplay/goal in it tho, and should have had some really wierd "weeee" sounds when making them fly or something.

    kato9 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:51pm

    Funny, weird, and very satisfying to send those guys flying off the edge of the cliff. The little bell explosion when they hit somewhere in the distance was a nice touch!

    pighead10 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:06pm

    Hilarious and fun! I feel mean now :(

    emveyh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:09pm

    It's cool that you can grab them mid-air so they're flinging even faster :D

    Cosine says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:35pm

    Grabbing butts has never been so cute. Good stress reliever, and, to a degree, even has some strategy (smallest part of body = most flingage). The audio was well placed, although I would've liked some stretching/popping sounds when I grabbed the Weebums. Graphics were good individually, but seemed a bit disjointed. Overall a solid effort.

    Tyren says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:31am

    I liked launching them up, grabbing in mid-air, then sending them flying!

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:28am

    Neat little toy. I would like to see more silly tortures I can do to these poor little Weebums in the future!

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:51am

    I feel so evil. But so powerful! Very nice entry. I especially liked how you can grab them in different places...that sounds creepy.

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:35am

    Bwahaha! This is pretty good. It definitely separates itself from the competition. Although there isn't much depth to it, there's just something oh so satisfying about it.

    wzl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:29am

    *flip* *flap* cool stuff :D would have loved to fling them into spikes or other deadly contraptions. Good stuff. Rooting for the deluxe editions! Please more deadlyness :D

    Tiny review: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#vrav

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:00pm

    Hehe. It is satisfying to fling them off of their planet, but unfortunately a little pointless. The sound wasn't as buggy as you implied, it seemed to work for the most part!

    vrav says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    SmallDeadGuy, jsmars, Rosy, wzl - indeed! These are things I'd had in mind from the start but didn't get to add. Also, thanks for the little review wzl!

    Cosine - yeah, I really hope to polish the art a bit more. It could all be a lot more cohesive and interesting. Maybe even make the environment interactive, too.

    Thanks all! To those that mention its being rather empty and pointless: I entirely agree. Thank you for playing what little there is at the moment, anyway. :]

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:18pm

    pointless fun!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:32pm

    fascinating.. but very weird, these things so ugly cute!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:28am

    cuteness overload!!!!!!!!!!! Also, I do feel evil hurting the little guys! :)) Great physics too!

    Mase says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:14pm

    Would make a great touchscreen game.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:52am

    Hehehe, those unsuspecting little gummibear wannabes! I flung em off that rock so fast, they didn't know what was going on.

    Fun concept, well-executed, and a good use of the theme! Well done :)

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:46am

    Flinging tiny creatures up in the air was a great experience and my life must now adjust accordingly.

    cardboard says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:23pm

    Good game, and good job on making me feel like a bad person and having fun at the same time.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]