Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo Begins: in 9 days, 8 hours, 13 minutes, 45 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam Begins: in 9 days, 8 hours, 13 minutes, 46 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Monologuer - Devenger - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    SUPER-USEFUL HINT: Move your villain to the phone on the left wall to convert Infamy into money!

    Maximise your monologuing time before Green Man's rescuers shut down your operation! Multi-task between talking at your victim, and activating your array of spike traps to defend your lair. Just remember: only monologuing increases your score!

    Controls:
    Mouse - click the phone, Green Man and the control panel to move your villain to them. When at the control panel, click on ceilings to place traps; click traps to activate them.
    M - turn off music loop (recommended for extended play)
    S - turn off sound effects
    P - pause
    R - restart once game has been lost

    Tips:
    - Once you've scored some kills, you'll have some Infamy (shown in the Infamy bar in the left of the villain's chamber); click the phone (below the Infamy bar) to move the villain to it; while he's there, he'll make phonecalls to trade Infamy for $$$.
    - Spread your traps all around your lair; that way, you can thin out lots of enemies every time you use the control panel.
    - Don't panic if you let a couple of those pesky invaders through; your villain has a gun with 6 shots, sealing the fate of the first 6 rescuers to reach him.

    Thanks to ChevyRay and everyone behind FlashPunk, Matt Tuttle (and co?) for porting it to Haxe to make HaxePunk, increpare and co. for Bfxr, and DrPetter for musagi (even if I didn't use it very well!).

    P.S. If you want to feel you've 'completed' the game, get the villain to run out of dialogue. If he isn't cut off mid-speech too much, this only takes 2-3 minutes of monologuing. Of course, you'll have to deal with the invaders in between all that...

    View Devenger's journal. | View all entries by Devenger

    Ratings

    Coolness58%
    #13Theme4.29
    #24Humor3.84
    #40Overall3.79
    #45Innovation3.86
    #70Fun3.55
    #78Mood3.44
    #251Audio2.76
    #415Graphics2.81

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:43am

    Refreshing to be able to play as the level for once instead of being killed by it :)

    donmilham says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:58am

    Congrats, Great game! Very solid and expandable design. I can imagine many scenarios, trap types, and enemies. I would very much enjoy playing a further developed version of this game.

    tcql says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:05am

    I thought this game's take on the theme was really great. Great sense of humor... I had a hard time balancing trying to read my monologue and watch out for guys coming to get me.

    I felt like gameplay-wise, it was a bit difficult; I had trouble juggling monologuing, and spiking things. I rarely had time to go collect money because I was too busy squishing bad guys... er.. good guys.

    mrspeaker says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34pm

    Ha ha... monologuing for cash. Genius. I think you should be able to squish while monologin' (like tcql said - it's a bit too tough to juggle them. If you could do both then you'd get more traps (and to balance it you could just send more baddies ;)

    Great work though - audio made my day.

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:30pm

    Very original concept - I like it. Is there any way to get more cash though?

    Devenger says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:53pm

    The phone (under the Infamy bar; the villain starts standing next to it) can be used to trade Infamy for cash. This has been added to the game's notes on this page; apologies for not making this clearer before.

    Mava says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:43pm

    I love tower defense like games, very nice :)

    arhpositive says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:45pm

    Ok, here comes my first 5-star Overall rating. :) Avesome game, every aspect is well thought out and the outcome is a funny game which is also challenging and addictive. :)

    Patrick64 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:50pm

    Ha, very amusing. I've never heard monologuing as a verb before. I think you must made this game in some volcano lair.

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:53pm

    Loved it! It was fun balancing between monologue and smashing! My only complaints are: It was really easy once I decked out everything with spiky plates, and eventually when the villain started saying "Muahaha!" over and over, the only option was to let them get me. Fun while it lasted!

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:06pm

    Exceptionally fun, playable and original ! 5 stars !

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:10pm

    Very, very slick - solid idea, good use of theme, well presented...I played it for ages :)

    Gravity Games says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:52pm

    Alright, this one is really cool. The whole micromanagement thing is challenging, but not to the point of being annoying, so it kept me playing for a while. The graphics and music remind me a lot of an Atari game. If I had to pick one thing as my favorite however, it would be the things the villain says. Its all of that pretentious and witty dialouge you'd expect from one of those hilarious to watch villains in the media. The only problem is its sometimes a bit hard to move back and forth between everything. You should probably be able to squish the good guys at all times. All in all, its a really great game, and I hope to see more.

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:03am

    This is a wonderful concept! The only thing was that once I afforded all the traps it became a little too easy. I got 190s before I got bored and let the enemies overtake me. Still, I'm giving it 5 stars just because I was so enamored by the concept. Great work!

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:02am

    I really liked the monologuing, unfortunately I liked it so much that it kept making me lose the game. I suppose that's a good sign though!

    Jezzamon says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:43am

    Great game! Humorous too. Graphics probably were the only lacking part of this game.

    UNIONISATION

    Got 163s before letting them win

    PIXEL^3 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:35am

    Haha. One of the top games I've played thus far. It fits the theme perfectly, and the humor was great, and pretty fun to play. Though for some reason I felt the difficulty was off a tad. It's probably just me though.

    ~AlucardX60

    SmallDeadGuy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:47am

    I don't really understand it but hey, it was pretty fun

    Husky says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:23pm

    This is pretty fun!!
    I love the expression of busy action and interrupted speak, that's really funny, it's not so easy to be bad guy lol.
    Great work!

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:54pm

    I had a similar experience to EatenAlive3, the concept is good, but I found it too easy to the point where I just gave up and let them come to get me because otherwise I felt the game could just last forever.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:56pm

    This is such a great concept, I'm not sure I'll find another game that fits the theme as well as this does. To have Monologuing at the captured hero be the main goal... genius. I really like it as a cross-section tower defence game too, not something I've seen too much of. Great old-school style.

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:11pm

    Really fun, but I think I would have liked it better if I didn't have to walk to the panel before being able to use the traps. I understand that's part of how the game works with the monologuing and all, but I guess I'm just not able to plan that far ahaid and I just want to click on those traps NOW:p

    Matt Tuttle says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:35am

    Really enjoyed the game. I wasn't very good at smashing all the guys below. It might have been interesting if the spikes were automatic like a tower defense game but only when you're at the control panel.

    Oh, and I love the music loop! Very fitting.

    Claite says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:10am

    I wish I could enjoy the text more than worrying about the traps and killing the people, but really good stuff! well done!

    Birchmountain says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:37pm

    A wonderful concept, a little hard to understand at the beginning. But you quickly get a hang of it. Good job!

    pfirsich says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:32pm

    A way to get more money would be cool. Also talking to the green guy doesn't seem very rewarding. I'd rather crush more incoming yellow guys to be honest.

    jfroco says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:04am

    One of the best I've played so far. Great gameplay mechanics. Excellent idea and theme use. A little too easy, but the potential of the game is huge!!! Kudos for using Haxe. Congrats.

    ethankennerly says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:51pm

    Managing time between the monologue, and dropping spikes on rescue agents entertained me. If you continue to develop this, do you imagine that later, additional traps and agents would deepen the choices?

    joecarrot says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:57pm

    Great Job. Nice and difficult, and reading the monologue makes it worth playing longer.

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:47pm

    Excellent game, thank you!

    caranha says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 1:59pm

    Mwahahahaha, Mwahahaha! Mwahaha!

    Mwahahahahahahahahahahah!

    Great game man! Perfect use of the theme, and very good humor. The game play is quite fun as well, although a bit on the easy side. It would be cool if there were a few more enemy types (jumping? randomly changing speed?) so the game could be more difficult.

    But thanks for the great game!

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:47pm

    Oh my! One of the most innovative and fun game I've played! I really really really love it! And it's even funny! The idea is funny, the monologs are funny and the 5 bullets in the end are funny too! (I would have given one bullet only, just for the fun)

    Of course, the problem is the game gets boring after a while because the monologs turn into "muahahaha" and the difficulty isn't really incresing, (it even decreases). So I just gave up at 160s or something, and that's where the bullets made me laugh!

    Please get some medals and make a bigger game out of it! (Oh yeah...and the Audio isn't that cool. Only flaw)

    Madball says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:47pm

    Wow, you actually use the time as an unit! It's also very cool as a villain simulator! Well done!

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 3:54am

    Really interesting, although I would have liked a bit more challenge, called it quits after 300 seconds.

    AdricZero says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:53pm

    It was a little hard to get into the game at the start, but enjoyed it after playing longer. I felt more tension as more and more rescuers starting coming and I had to quickly click the right traps at the right time.

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:25pm

    Got 202s then I gave up. Fun game. Good job!

    DTG says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:03am

    Love the game, full points for theme. The score-based on monologue time alone is a fantastic idea.
    Tiny variation with the faster minions gives it just enough going on to be interesting, even if after a little while you'll work out a system to win easily.
    Great execution.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]