Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 25 days, 18 hours, 42 minutes, 11 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Noble Weapon - Meep - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You play as an evil knight, fixated on kidnapping princesses. The objective is to see how many of them you can successfully store in your lair. Numerous heroes are out to stop you, and your only way of fending them off are the noble weapons: the princesses.

    Each type of princess has a unique ability that you can use while carrying them. However, taking damage from a hero will cause you to drop the princesses you're currently carrying, so you have to toss them into your lair eventually!

    Unfortunately I couldn't get around to making background music for the game, but I'm satisfied with how the art and gameplay turned out.

    This is my fourth time entering the Ludum Dare competition. I had trouble coming up with a concrete idea for this theme, jumping back and forth between concepts in my head for the first 26 hours or so. I'm glad I managed to finish it with the time I had left, with sufficient time to polish it. :)

    Details on how to play are in-game, but just for redundancy:

    -----
    Controls
    -----
    <Left arrow> - Run left
    <Right arrow> - Run right
    <Z-key> - Jump
    <X-key> - Princess' ability
    <Space> - Unload princesses into lair entrance

    -----
    Additional controls
    -----
    M - Toggle muting sound effects
    R - Quick restart mid-game


    - Meep

    View Meep's journal. | View all entries by Meep

    Ratings

    Coolness96%
    #136Fun3.34
    #139Theme3.73
    #158Overall3.39
    #199Innovation3.22
    #246Humor2.90
    #288Graphics3.13
    #306Mood2.90
    #460Audio2.13

    Comments

    HeroesGrave says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:06am

    I hate the sound effects.
    Other than that, it's an okay game.

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:06am

    I had fun anticipating what each type of weapon I can get. Pretty good game!

    madmaw says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:08am

    Good implementation of a clever concept

    Skyshifter says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:11am

    The ability changing by princess is a nice touch. If only there were more variety of princesses

    Razion says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:12am

    Midly annoying sound effects. Really clever idea to inherit powers from the princesses. :D

    64Mega says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:32am

    An interesting twist on an old idea.

    Ditto says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:43am

    I liked this a lot! Nice sprites!

    MvT says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:14am

    Idea and graphics are impressive, good job.

    kulhajs says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:47am

    Just the controls, not all keyboards has same layout, I have Y and Z flipped so I struggle a lot with it :( great game tho!

    LucaPavone says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:49am

    Impressive all around. Great use of theme and very fun!

    kroltan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:57am

    I feel the same as ddionisio

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:06am

    great game, liked your idea a lot.

    feili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:09am

    nice little cratebox-like game! I enjoyed playing this.

    Drabiter says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:50am

    Jumping to pass the pit is quite hard. The rest are good.

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:16pm

    Small but not bad.

    Dir3kt says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:42pm

    Hey that's an interesting take!

    One little thing, the level is constructed in a way that it's a bit too hard to dodge or kill the heroes. At least for a first level.

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:48pm

    It's good ! Nice gameplay

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:20pm

    Super crate box, but with princesses instead of guns! Neat idea. I liked that the different colored damsels gave different powers, but I wish they could have been combined or increased in power as you collected more. Also would have been cool to have a "bank" to drop them off at (tradeoff between not having a weapon v. cashing out)

    robashton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:56pm

    Haha, I was wondering what the princesses were for and then I found out.

    I like the variety, I counted I think 5 kinds of princess I could use to slay my enemies!

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:57pm

    A very simple, kind of repetitive, super crate box with nice art.

    KhaoTom says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:12pm

    Special abilities when carrying princesses is a really cool idea. Nice!

    bwdevel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:11pm

    This is a great adaptation of Super Crate Box. Great job.

    JFlegle says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:52am

    I love the art and game play, my only problem is the keys are too close for my hand, I would like the jump to be the up arrow.

    adnzzzzZ says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:23am

    This was a REALLY good game for me. Like, I'm not even joking. I'm a sucker for games with lots of different abilities and yours was really nicely executed. I'd love to see a version (if you choose to do so) with more abilities, better graphics/sound and enemies. Good job!

    xandy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:26pm

    super crate princess ftw ;)

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:12am

    Nice. Though its very similar to Super Crate Box.

    Joncom says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:36am

    This is very solid work. I especially loved using the flamethrower ability. The controls felt very good, and I enjoyed the graphics and sounds too. Good job!

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:42am

    Great job, would love to see more levels with different layouts...

    Scott McBee says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:28am

    I enjoyed the art, though playing at 300x300 made it very hard, if I were you I'd make 600x600 the default. Also, I didn't get any bonuses from "depositing" more than one princess at a time, which didn't really make up for the risk involved.

    tim_u says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:20am

    I liked the powers being tied to the princesses. AS has been said, it'd be nice to see other levels and it was extremely hard to dodge the heroes due to the level design. I liked the tornado the most, I actually found myself avoiding some of the princesses (blue mostly) at times so I could keep my current ability.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:26am

    I like the princess abilities. More sound and music would have made this much better. Still, well done.

    Jiddo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:28am

    Really fun game! Although I wish there was some sort of higher score reward for cashing in several princesses at once to make a combo worthwhile. Also, the ratio of number of princesses:warriors spawned becomes too small after a while, the bulk of the score comes from the early parts of the game and staying alive when it becomes hard doesn't give that much reward. Maybe killed enemies could give small amounts of score points as well to compensate for this. But overall it was a really solid entry!

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:50am

    I love the concept of this game and I think it's pretty well executed.

    I don't like the audio, it was pretty harsh on the ears. However the graphics are nice.

    It's a shame you didn't have time to extend the idea further as I think it could have been turned into something amazing.

    For the gameplay the only problem with what you have is the lingering powers (like the tornado) killing princesses.

    Not bad overall though.

    Meep says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:06pm

    Thanks for the comments so far, everyone. I really appreciate it and currently plan to further develop this post-LD; possibly porting it to Flash.

    Summarizing some key feedback that I'm considering:
    - More maps/layouts
    - More princesses
    - More enemy variety
    - A more refined difficulty curve and balancing
    - Some bonus/multiplier for depositing multiple princesses at once
    - A method of rewarding those scoring points in the later, higher-difficulty times
    - Better audio and graphics (More on audio)

    har_g says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:30pm

    could be fine with a greater size of screen (even with big sized pixel)

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:56am

    absolutely fantastic. this gets full marks from me, in everything apart from audio.
    It has this Ice King (from Adventure Time) feel to it

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:52am

    Cool. Don't like the sounds on the menu - specially back. Really like the mechanic of inheriting power from princess, wish I could toggle between them. Controls were confusing - but I adapted. Art was great. Overall, good work!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:54pm

    It's such a high level of completion, you really planned the scope, and it shows. Good work!

    Jan 3, 2013 @ 6:24am

    I very much enjoyed the presentation here, and the mechanic was nice as well. It's hard to come up with many areas for improvement, but if I had to pick one it's that I feel the pit trap detracts from the game a bit.

    deathray says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 8:28am

    Very solid game! I like the graphics and the gameplay is very interesting.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]