Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 11 hours, 15 minutes, 11 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Double Tap - Sam Driver - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Only you can save the world from terror!

    Drag with left mouse button to move camera.
    Drag with right mouse button to zoom.
    Spacebar to fire when prompted.

    Also apologies if you find the message a bit heavy handed. But I figure I'd rather have a slightly awkward voice then be silent.

    View Sam Driver's journal. | View all entries by Sam Driver

    Ratings

    Theme4.51
    Coolness52%
    #4Mood4.35
    #17Overall4.00
    #30Graphics4.19
    #48Innovation3.84
    #90Audio3.34
    #570Fun2.38
    #685Humor1.53

    Comments

    Prelucid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:50am

    It surprised me, but not in the way I expected. Reminds me of performance art. By the end, I totally got it. Great job. I'm tweeting this.

    Suese says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:11am

    Web version cannot seem to detect my Adobe Flash player installed. Latest version.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:12am

    I was only following orders.

    uuav says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:15am

    AWESOME. I felt really bad shooting the missile, video effect and everything really remind to my mind those drones videos.
    ART

    Jezzamon says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:17am

    Yes! This is how you make a LD game for a theme!

    Great job. One of the few games with a low fun rating, but high ratings in everything else.

    raincole says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:17am

    It lacks gameplay a little bit, but has very good atmosphere. You use 3D mechanism cleverly.

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:18am

    Really cool concept and very nicely polished. Unfortunately it ran about 2FPS on my old computer, but it was still impressive (also, the dialup sound really takes me back).

    Falkreon says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:31am

    Wow! This is above and beyond the call of LD. Well done.

    KhaoTom says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:33pm

    Rugged message. I gave high ratings for fun, not because killing innocents is fun, but because not every game needs to be traditional gleeful pee-your-pants fun.

    Xavier says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:37pm

    Really good job but I had preferred to see a noise filter applied on the low mesh landscape.

    MagmaLemur says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:32am

    I love the style of this game. There is not much in the way of gameplay but everything else was amazing. Very good work!

    noclip says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:55am

    The moment you realize why this game is called double tap.

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:29am

    Powerful.

    vrav says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:44am

    Amazing.

    cardboard says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:52am

    That was very cool. Loved the talking noises.

    Porpentine says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:55am

    i tried to shoot into the river, i tried not to shoot at all

    oh nooooooooo

    Manuel777 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:18am

    It was fine, but slooow, not performanc-wise, but gameplay-wise

    23 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:13pm

    I have the latest flash but this didn't detect it.

    I tried running the source version, but the link in the index.html is broken and even after fixing it this didn't load.

    I'm going to try re-installing Flash, but this has never happened to me before...

    Sam Driver says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:40pm

    Thank you all very much for the responses.

    With regards the couple of people who have had it failing to detect your Flash player: Are you on Linux? If so, I think I just fixed it. I had set the embed code to require version 11.4, but the latest official Linux version is 11.2. I've updated the main Web link to give a compatible version (no other changes/bugfixes to the game). Might have to clear your web cache, ctrl-F5, things like that.

    I've also added a link from that page to give a version with the post-process shaders turned off. I think it takes away quite a lot from the game's feel, but should give a more playable framerate on machines that don't support hardware accelerated Stage3D.

    Finally, I've updated the source file to include these extra versions, and to fix the example embed in index.html so that it actually works. The original two minutes before deadline compile is still in there, named "DoubleTap-LD25.swf".

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:06pm

    Very cool indeed! Lovely graphical style. Almost has a kinda Introversion feel to it. Very moody.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:52am

    An un-game, but a good one. Nice work!

    loren says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:22pm

    Really dark mood, such a creepy theme. Really really (really) nice job on this

    SiENcE says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:50pm

    Wow what a great idea! You have my full respect! This is my LD game of the year.

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:30am

    Great game and concept, but I found the controls extremely hard to use, needs some sort of mouse lock I think

    tommycreo says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:51pm

    Probably the best game of 48 Hour Compo.

    blob says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:41pm

    Greatly done and strong message. We need more games like that.

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:01pm

    Powerful message! You've made something special that I believe has the potential to raise awareness on this issue. I personally was not aware of double-tapping and putting me in the seat of a drone operator was a very effective way of opening my eyes to it! Amazing job! :D

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:14pm

    A pretty compelling "short story", high mood points. Yes, it only exists to deliver a message, and I prefer any possible social critique in games to be subtle, but I have to admit the delivery makes it a clever take on the theme.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:51pm

    Leaving fun and humour n/a as they don't apply to this game but all others are good. Don't beat yourself up for not making this the perfect way to convey a message or to make a game. It's 48 hours, nothing in that time approaches perfect. Visual style is nice and the sound effects are good, muzzles speech and the "psshhww" for the rocket, ha.

    TijmenTio says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:28pm

    Awesome effect! Looks amazing. And I thought the eerie theme was pretty cool.

    Volute says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:44pm

    Great entry, great mood.

    Strkl says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:07pm

    awesome mood

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:43pm

    I quickly figured out what were you going for as I was reading lots of news reports on these events lately, but it was still powerful. Well done!

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:40am

    A good game, powerful messge and quote of Dark Acre Jack:
    "I was only following orders."

    Excuse of all war criminal.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:03am

    You nailed it.

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:52am

    The graphics are put to really good use here, and the use of audio and text sets the mood, well. The message is pretty clear, and it utilizes the theme exceptionally well.

    sPe says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:17pm

    Bit "slow" but very interesting visual and atmospheric experience.

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:33am

    Very clever story telling.

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:13pm

    We are the villain. Excellent.

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 7:24am

    Really great atmosphere. Although it's short, but that's not even the point, the story and execution is way much to experience from this game.

    marudziik says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 3:42pm

    Great idea and awesome execution, though it would be even better without any explanation at the end. I think the overall message would still be clear enough, especially considering this LD's theme. Perfect, especially in theme and mood categories.

    blackotus says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 8:15am

    Great idea. I love these graphics!

    ncannasse says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:32pm

    Nice one, perfect mood

    mcc says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:51am

    think you said this in your post-mortem, but i found this pretty heavy-handed (but then i'm not a huge molleindustria fan either). i did like the visual style though.

    kato9 says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:28pm

    Awesome visual style with great looking post processing effets. The 'game' is simple, but the message is strong. Nice work.

    Jan 8, 2013 @ 11:38am

    visually my fav! bravo!

    deathray says ...
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 11:23pm

    I agree with everyone: very powerful and great music.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]