Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 77 days, 3 hours, 6 minutes, 4 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Pathos - McFunkypants - Jam Entry

    Pathos - by McFunkypants

    A tragic love story and pathfinding puzzle game.

    The brave Princess Pea is on a quest to rescue her one true love, Sir Mushroom.

    Torment them by building a labyrinth.

    Can you drive the lovers apart without making it impossible?

    // Art Credits:
    // Johannes Sjolund
    // Luke Mehl
    // FantasyMapMaker
    // Music Credits:
    // Piotr Pawlowski
    // Sound Effects by SFXR
    // All assets are either public domain or CC-BY-ATTR

    // Grateful thanks to the artists above and everyone
    // who participated in the LPC at opengameart.org
    // as well as the Ludum Dare and #onegameamonth communities.

    Written in HTML5 (javascript) using canvas. Levels designed using TILED export to JSON data. The maps are done in two layers, one for background tiles like grass and flowers, and a second that represents objects that can block pathfinding.

    There are 5 levels that you can select from on an overworld fantasy map, with a bonus level that is randomly generated.

    This is a turn based strategy game that uses the a-star pathfinding AI algorithm as the base mechanic. Two lovers are randomly placed in the terrain and your job is to spawn new walls in such as way that instead of walking closer to each other for a tender reunion, our intrepid lovers are driven farther and farther apart.

    The strategy here is that you can't make it completely impossible for them to reach each other. A true villainous spirit wants to have them never lose all hope - to never give up - but to experience the heartbreak of a love that is just out of reach.

    I hope you like it! I had so much fun making this. Thanks to the Ludum Dare community for being so awesome.

    P.S. Your new year's resolution: join www.onegameamonth.com in 2013! Follow the hashtag #1GAM or #onegameamonth on twitter. We've created a community of game jammers with OVER 1000 MEMBERS. Join us!

    Kind regards,

    Christer Kaitila
    (@McFunkypants)

    View McFunkypants's journal. | View all entries by McFunkypants

    Ratings

    #11Innovation(Jam)4.02
    #36Theme(Jam)3.95
    #44Overall(Jam)3.66
    #50Mood(Jam)3.45
    #53Fun(Jam)3.43
    #57Graphics(Jam)4.00
    #104Audio(Jam)3.19
    #121Humor(Jam)2.83
    #1150Coolness10%

    Comments

    rumachine says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:20pm

    Great game!

    TheSheep says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:03pm

    Very nice idea and a good use of the LPC tiles.

    thristhart says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24am

    The random starting positions made it feel too luck-based at first, but I eventually started winning consistently when I started taking into account the fact that they move as I place obstacles. I knew my TD mazing skills would come in handy! Take that, mom.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:54am

    This is excellent

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:16am

    Thank you for making a game that can tell me my "torments were perfectly executed!" I haven't felt such evil glee in a long time ;)
    Great game!

    NuSan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:28am

    Nice graph and interesting concept

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:26am

    The levels won't load in Firefox on Mac (the intro and map load just fine). But they do in Safari.
    The game is very nice, though!
    My only complaint is that sometimes it can be a bit hard to see whether they can walk over a certain tile or not (especially on Thando Shores)

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:59pm

    Art is nice, concept is certainly unique (it's a strategy game masked by the theme of love) and it fits the theme well. Good job!

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:26pm

    Nice! This was a lot of fun, such a cool idea.

    Xavier says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:45pm

    Good job! Like so much how you've played with Pathfinding concept!

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:21pm

    Great idea, had never played anything like this before! Sometimes you can't tell what's a tile and what's not, specially on the easter island one. Doesn't run in FF 17.0.1, had to use Chrome (argh). Great game overall!

    Tanner says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:46am

    After playing this game... i now know that there should be another level of evil behind the lawful evil sphere called funkypants evil.

    Most realistic depiction of what evil really means.

    Oreganik says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:50am

    Simply incredible. Authentically fun and engaging, very good looking presentation... all around great.

    Oreganik says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:00am

    BTW: there are problems in Firefox 17.0.1 on OS X 10.7.5. Levels (specifically Jolly Island, I didn't test others) don't fully load. Worked fine in Chrome.

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:48pm

    Incredibly frustrating - always a sign of a good puzzle game!
    Great idea, well executed - nice job.

    Keevor says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:37am

    Love it! very addictive. I assume you can't win.

    McFunkypants says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:33am

    Thanks for all the kind words! I just fixed the bug in Firefox and other browsers. It should work "everywhere" now. It was a single line change: just two bytes difference. =D

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:26am

    Good idea, somewho, hard to play, but good.

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:36am

    Smart game! Outstanding art also. Very solid.

    Per says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:27pm

    Really nice game mechanics!
    Music and graphics is great as well!

    NostraDamon says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:44pm

    The idea is excellent and I had fun to play it, but I really think you should display a grid of "walkable" tiles.

    michax says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:37pm

    Hahaha :) Truly great idea for game mechanics. Damn those lovers!

    Jesse Freeman says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:10pm

    Great game idea, totally different then I would expect. Well executed!

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:16pm

    Nice take on the theme and well executed!

    ahm99 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:59am

    That was interesting, good job :)

    Dir3kt says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:20am

    Great idea well executed :) Especially like the idea of driving the lovers apart without making it impossible!

    One little detail, sometimes it's hard to know if a rock makes it impossible or not. Some kind of grid would have helped there.

    Hatscat says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:55am

    Really evil! hehe ^^ great game, very nice!

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:59pm

    Great concept, beautifully executed! Frequent confusion whether a rock will block the route or not, though - could do with the grid being clearer. Also some random start positions really hard to beat. Enjoying playing it though! <bookmarks>

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:45am

    Neat concept with trying to keep two lovers apart. I think there's an idea here worth exploring but currently the mechanics are a little off. I sort of blindly clicked as thinking about a path seemed like too much work (grid too large?) I think it may just be too hard to see the path, or that people aren't willing to try that hard without easier ramp up from smaller areas? In any case, good idea and would pursue it some more.

    krutech says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    Fun mechanic. Won a couple of times. Had to see all the areas because the tiles are really nice.

    Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:02am

    Hah, this reminds me a little of pierrec's entry about the League of Mildly Annoying supervillains. I enjoy that you managed to stay true to the theme without resorting to shock value, and that you took a non-obvious route to get there (much like the lovers have to!)

    Really quality entry. Not much I can offer in the way of improvements on this concept.

    davidwparker says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:46pm

    Great idea. I love the use of algorithms :)

    Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:05am

    A* pathfinding the game! haha, had fun playing through this one, really nice spritework, the bgm adds to the mood and there's some nice strategic play involved, huzzah! I occasionally mistook the half tiles as walkable on the Moai Island level but aside from that lil thing, really groovy!

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:09pm

    Innovative idea, and gorgeous graphics! Nicely Done!

    Joseph Miller says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:37pm

    Great game. I love the innovative mechanic and the interpretation of villainy. There were a lot of nice looking assets, and the title screen is very nice. I wish there were more tools at my disposal other than just rocks, but it's a minor complaint.

    Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:01pm

    I enjoyed the puzzling of this and I like the art you've done for it (or that Johannes has done)

    radmars says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:22pm

    Great concept, great execution - though I think the random starting positions make it a bit too unpredictable. A level can go from super challenging to trivial the next time you try it.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]