Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 21 days, 23 hours, 17 minutes, 55 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    MechVillain - nodoxi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Destroy your city with Dr. Mech Villain!

    Flixel
    Photoshop
    GaragBand

    View nodoxi's journal. | View all entries by nodoxi

    Ratings

    Coolness52%
    #194Theme3.59
    #200Graphics3.41
    #257Humor2.86
    #274Fun3.04
    #341Mood2.82
    #353Overall3.00
    #358Audio2.44
    #553Innovation2.46

    Comments

    Smaxx says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 9:11pm

    Interesting idea! Although it seems to be too easy to accidently click outside the window in case you want to shoot some of the guys running away. Maybe you should add some border below or move everything up a bit.

    wallmasterr says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:09am

    lol, nice, the walk animation is soo amusing

    thepixelbrain says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:55am

    Great job! I really like the bass as well. On another note: I wish the Wesley Chapel were I live had that many buildings!

    nodoxi says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:05am

    thanks guys!

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:15am

    don't know if it's supposed to be such smooth sailing, but I think it could use some enemies...

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:16pm

    Whoa! How did you know my city?! Awesome game, I loved the mech!

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:45am

    Yep, it's good! Cool sound effect, destructible elements and a robot. Nice work :)

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:45pm

    Loved the animation on the robot!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:00am

    Athens Greece haha. Nice touch! I destroyed my town, and got 6000 points for it!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:59am

    Neat idea. Needs more work but the core is pretty appealing. Who doesn't want to be a giant mech kicking human ass? Would suggest things like scooting the mech back on the screen so you can see more in front of you, powerups and more to shoot/do, but this is a very nice start! Would keep working on it and adding little bits.

    Per says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:28pm

    Cool animation!
    That mech walker is great :)
    But where is the challenge?

    DaviDeMo says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:59pm

    Cool animation, ya! =)

    Yacodo says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:42pm

    Hard to destroy some building, but nice idea :)

    krutech says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:45pm

    Lovely graphics. Not much of a challange. Good job nontheless!

    Houly says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:47pm

    That mech looks really great. Some obstacles or threat would have been great.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]