Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 5 days, 6 hours, 32 minutes, 21 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 5 days, 6 hours, 32 minutes, 22 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    A day in the life of the Minotaur - jfroco - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    The entry:
    ==========

    The game is far from finished, but I really wanted to deliver after 48 hours. Last LD I couldn't so I had to submit for the jam.

    I wanted to make a game with a gameplay that I wasn't used to (a board game) as last entries were platform games. So, I'm happy because I think I made a good skeleton for board games.

    Things I couln't implement were: a combat mini game, a shop and different clasess of enemies.

    I will deliver an out of competition Android version, as well.


    The story:
    ==========

    All days are the same for Asterion, The Minotaur: The kind people of Crete send you a virgin to sacrifice, and warriors show up to fight you.
    You have to find the virgin at the end of the corridors of the Laberynth.


    How to play:
    ===========
    Each level is gererated randomly.
    You move over the board throwing a dice.
    Press "Move" to throw the dice (1 to 12). You lose one point of energy when you throw the dice.
    When you find a bifurcation you have to choose the way you want to go.
    There are four different elements in the board:
    Gold: just for fun.
    Warriors: you fight him (lose health) and get energy eating their hearts.
    Potions: you get health.
    Virgin: the goal of each board. You get energy eating her.

    You lose when you run out of health or energy.

    When you are not moving, you can move the board around dragging it to see areas out of the screen. When you press "move" the board will correct its position

    Made with:
    =========
    Haxe
    HaxeNME
    FlashDevelop
    SFXR
    ChordPulse
    Audacity
    GXSCC
    Paint.net
    Notepad++


    Updates:
    =======

    Changedr URLS to http://goo.gl to have stats.


    View jfroco's journal. | View all entries by jfroco

    Ratings

    Coolness71%
    #82Audio3.36
    #135Innovation3.42
    #158Overall3.39
    #198Theme3.58
    #205Mood3.09
    #278Graphics3.16
    #279Fun3.03
    #347Humor2.59

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:53am

    Nice one, and evil..

    Adok says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:44pm

    Seems to be an innovative idea. I also like the graphics style and the audio.

    glbs says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:26pm

    nice one, love the theme :)

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:44am

    Strangely enchanting. I wish there were more options and depth, but it's excellent!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:38am

    Um, I love the shit out of this. Great mechanics, idea, art, music and sound. Also any game with virgins in it is +++. Seriously, this is great, easy to grasp and understand and play. You can do TONS of stuff just by having more objects on the squares. HUGE potential here.

    goulding57 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:13pm

    Like other's have said, the potential for this is huge. I love the art style, and the theme and gameplay is fun. Once there is more added, this would be an amazing game. Great job!

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:20pm

    I confuse at first for what it is. But after 2-3 times clicking on MOVE button, then I see how it goes.
    I can see this game idea expand into family game (like monopoly) or some sort.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:46pm

    i often thought about a boardgame where you play the minotaur. great design, catchy tune, and a lot more fun than a game this simple should be!

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:13pm

    Love the board game feel, solid audio also! Great job :)

    leafo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:40am

    nice music, cool idea

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:49pm

    The graphics and the audio for the game is pretty ok. It's good that it runs smoothly and I would be interested in seeing what you would do to take this game further.

    However the premise of the game is kinda flawed as there's nothing you can do but wait for a good roll. I don't know whether the ship would have helped change that but there you go.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:05am

    Why is this so addictive!! It reminds me of Scarab of Ra for the Mac, for some reason.

    The mood, music AND graphics are superb. Seriously inspired idea, making it look like greek red-figure pottery

    Congrats can't wait to play the final version

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:45am

    A very soothing game about sacrificing virgins and eating the hearts of brave warriors. A simple idea that is very well executed.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:26pm

    Hey, really good job with this one. Really enjoyed the feel of the game, the graphics, the music, etc. It's a pretty cool idea and I look forward to playing again if you do work on it more.

    ilo says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:19pm

    An elegant premise, jfroco, and aesthetics to match. Since the player does a lot of waiting for the minotaur to move to squares with a known outcome, perhaps a greater variety of elements with chance outcomes would be fun, like portals that lead to random square, chests or magical scrolls.

    Dioiminik says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:07am

    In my opinion the idea, the audio and the Graphics are nice and I like the idea. But after a few levels the Gameplay is getting way to repetitive and Boring. Has a lot of potential though!

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:40am

    The game isn't really fun right now, but I can see the potential of a very neat little puzzle. I remember having fun choosing my path in Mario Party, this could totally work in here. The labyrinth should be more complex and hard, il would be a weird kind of rogue-like and I think I would enjoy it!

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:18am

    I like the monochromatic style of icons. Has potential. Perhaps the map should be partially hidden? (fog-of-war)

    bechsen says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:27pm

    Great game overall!

    Zelen3d says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:29pm

    Well executed. Smooth, but not enough buttons!

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:38am

    Great game, unique gameplay and fits nicely with the theme.

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:24pm

    nice!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]