Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 20 hours, 26 minutes, 19 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 20 hours, 26 minutes, 20 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Age of Umpires - Tom 7 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is an authentic-seeming 8-bitesque Hockey game with a betrayal.

    http://hockey.spacebar.org/compo.shtml

    - Huge pixel, palette-constrained art for your olden days eye nostalgia!
    - Raw squaretooth soundtrack for your childhood earphones!
    - I made sound effects for real this time!

    The game is mostly self-explanatory. You can win the game the normal hockey way, or you can win or lose a different game.

    The Jam version fixes some bugs that made the game confusing or too easy/hard. Play that one if you're not rating. Compo one is legit.

    Soundtrack download coming soon.

    View Tom 7's journal. | View all entries by Tom 7

    Ratings

    Coolness58%
    #12Audio3.90
    #56Graphics4.02
    #58Overall3.69
    #86Fun3.49
    #90Humor3.45
    #130Mood3.27
    #229Innovation3.16
    #553Theme2.76

    Comments

    RylandAlmanza says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:10am

    Very nice! Hey, I screwed up the link on mine, so you couldn't play it. I've since fixed it. Mind taking another look? http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=15134

    ix says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:55am

    Pitch-perfect 8-bit style, and playing as the referee is everything I'd hoped for.

    Nicely realized, doctor.

    nolacoaster says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:29pm

    Pretty funzos I would say. Love the cutscenes.

    Tapestry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:33am

    Nicely done! Great music, graphics were nice too. I had a blast playing, especially as the Referee.

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:00am

    Loved this game. Had a good laugh playing as the referee.

    diggersworld says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:46pm

    That's cool, I found the controls a bit tricky though.

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:50pm

    I ejected all players out and get called, ha ha. Playing as an referee is pretty good idea.
    Great work on creating sport simulation game within the range of short time frame.

    ilo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:20pm

    Terrific idea! Playing as the ref was very funny. Found it tricky to shoot on the normal game though.

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:12am

    Wow! Really impressed that you could put together such a good sports game from scratch in 2 days. Not to mention a really fun third mode. Awesome work! Really love the chiptunes and graphics.

    Mase says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:41am

    The flames were a nice touch.

    zatyka says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:54am

    Very refreshing to play this type of game in Ludum dare. It really brought back some memories. It was definitely buggy, but I had a lot of fun playing.

    amidos2006 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:51am

    Woooow Nice :) That's amazing and the AI is nice :)

    nilstastic says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:59pm

    Good: Nice hockey implementation and nice to be able to play as the umpire =)
    Improve: i never felt bad (theme?)

    chribbe1 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:02pm

    Cool! I really enjoyed playing it! Really nice graphics, especially the drawings when you score etc. Could've used something more original for the gameplay maybe.

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:56pm

    Blades of steel! Amazing work! Superb audio effects and music. Great job!

    Encircle says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:13pm

    Oh god this was great. I can't even say more.

    Dylan McCall says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:11pm

    This is AMAZING! I love how open-ended it is, so I can steal another player's stick or have my goalie suddenly leave the net and score on a breakaway :) Every sports game should be like this.

    Bullseye8841 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:33pm

    Absolutely brilliant! Hahaha Great 8-bit fun compounded by a the ref gameplay.

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:59pm

    This is amazing. Nice work. Playing as the referee was awesome!

    awppy says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:42pm

    This is fun. A couple things seemed odd to me (goalies being opposite colours of the rest of their team, for one) and you could score by sliding into the net from behind, but that aside, it's a lot of fun.

    I found it really hard to arouse suspicion by just /playing/ but if you kick people out who didn't do anything wrong, well...makes it easier. You'd think once the referee scored a goal everyone would stop and go "hang on a second..." Nope. Didn't even TRY playing as an actual hockey team; ref was too fun.

    Some of the players started getting REALLY mad at me though.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:26pm

    So hilarious! Playing as the ultimate villain... a totally biased ref! Great art and sound. REALLY good stuff!

    Tom 7 says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:49am

    Scoring from the back of the net is a bug (fixed in jam version) but the goalies shouldn't be opposite colors..? Did you really see that?

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:33am

    Quite amazing. After all the players were gone I kind of wanted to eject myself. :D

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:16am

    I'm impressed that this was built in a weekend, but it's not as good as NES Ice Hockey. One major difference I noticed between the two is that in Ice Hockey, you can switch instantly to the nearest player to the puck, while in this game it seems to pass through a predefined ordering, which is less helpful. It's a tough play, I couldn't score a goal.

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:28pm

    pretty tight game, really reminiscent of days of yore. great audio.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:32am

    Playing as the referee is a great idea for the "You are the villain" theme ^^

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:34pm

    Really enjoyed the music, but found the game pretty much impossible to win... I liked the ref game though, it was pretty funny! I'm assuming that all of the players having a 7 on their jersey is a reference to your username?

    Tom 7 says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:04am

    Yes sorta. :) It's actually my name as I am literally the VIIth, but also, it's not like I was gonna draw a different graphic for every player, so I had to pick something! :)

    chambers says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:31am

    I really liked the concept but I didn't fully understand what was going on in the first time I played (kept being knocked over as a player, also played randomly as a referee and eventually won the game even though I wasn't certain of what I was supposed to do)... Maybe it's because I'm not so much familiar with hockey.

    I love the NES Hockey reference though :)

    radmars says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:06pm

    #7 nails it yet again. Pro skills.

    DavidErosa says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:52pm

    Hehe, nice one. I enjoyed being the referee and screwing with both teams, but couldn't really find out why I'm the villain...

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:38pm

    Beautiful music!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]