Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 2 days, 2 hours, 34 minutes, 11 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Lucky Luddite - lucky.luddite - Jam Entry

    In 1811 Ned Ludd was on his way to destroy some machines when a time portal appeared...

    View lucky.luddite's journal. | View all entries by lucky.luddite

    Ratings

    Coolness59%
    #37Graphics(Jam)4.14
    #42Humor(Jam)3.44
    #92Audio(Jam)3.25
    #112Mood(Jam)3.07
    #127Theme(Jam)3.49
    #147Innovation(Jam)2.94
    #202Overall(Jam)2.86
    #230Fun(Jam)2.51

    Comments

    jhrrsn says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:00pm

    Fun game, neat art, ace music. Gameplay was a little tired though, and did you need different buttons for emerging and hiding?

    fussycashew says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:40pm

    The graphics and the audio were great, but it felt really repetitive.

    rxi says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:18pm

    Loved the ridiculous set up story and graphics on this one, the little smirk on the Luddite's face as he makes yet another futile attempt to kick out a fire was priceless.

    dcolgan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:17am

    Cool game. It looks good and has pretty good audio. Can you actually win the game, or just last as long as possible?

    lucky.luddite says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:20am

    Hey all! This is a shared account, but I'm the one that made the drawrings. Thanks for the words. There is no winning this game, we just thought this was a funny idea. With more time I'm sure we would have gotten to more game goals, but I'm rather pleased with our silly game. My first LD game! -Tony

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:13am

    Really nice art

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:55pm

    graphics and audio were good, but gameplay wasn't very enjoyable. Overall nice job though!

    HeXoT says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:57pm

    Very good game :D

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:50pm

    Graphics are cute.

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:11am

    Great job! Really nice art and the concept is hilarious!

    caranha says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:41am

    The art is really funny. It was cool to see a dozen cavemen trying to light the fire at the same time. But the gameplay was a bit repetitive, and it was hard to see where you should actually throw a stone to get a caveman's attention.

    The game has some bugs: if the lightning rises the "fire-o-meter" gauge above its max value, the gauge will reset to zero - in effect, you can never lose the game if you keep "machine gunning" gold into the cavemen, so that the lightning always put out fires when they get too close to max.

    One very simple thing that would improve this game immensely (besides fixing that bug) is adding a timer, so that the player has some incentive for playing again (beating his previous time).

    Thanks for the game!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:06pm

    Fantastic assets, music, graphics. A little repetitive but very humorous! Way to go

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:34pm

    That's the kind of game than i like, it's a new idea, i just like it

    Husky says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:26am

    It's a fun game!
    Very interesting idea :)

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 10:28am

    Interesting idea... great graphics and sound!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]