Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 14 days, 6 hours, 8 minutes, 4 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Dr. Vile in The Greater Good - GreenPixelDev - Jam Entry

    Dr. Vile, the most despised mad scientist in the world, has one mission in life: become #1. He'll do whatever it takes to win the respect and adoration of every person on Earth - even if he has to KILL EVERY PERSON ON EARTH.

    Take Dr. Vile and his AI companion, Lexe, on a quest to build the most powerful Death Ray mankind has ever seen. Will Dr. Vile use it for good or will the villain always be the villain?

    INSTRUCTIONS:

    - Use the arrow keys to move Dr. Vile.
    - Press X to swing your bat (perfect weapon for an evil genius, eh?). Your bat can bash objects - such as trees, cars, TVs, and more - that will break into the parts you need to complete the Death Ray. Use your bat to break the skulls of any pesky townspeople, too!
    - Press C to use your Stun Gun. This will temporarily stun townspeople (probably why it's called a Stun Gun). It does have a cooldown period, though!
    - Press SPACE BAR to open/close the Inventory menu and see what parts you need to complete the Death Ray. This also pauses the game.
    - Try not to die or you'll have to start over! Collect Apples and Leftover Steak to regain health.

    "Dr. Vile in The Greater Good" is Green Pixel's first Ludum Dare submission! We're used to creating months-long projects so we're amazed at what can be done in 72 hours! We hope you enjoy playing our game as much as we enjoyed making it! :D

    Congratulations to everyone who participated! Whether you completed what you wanted to complete or not, you have much more now than what you had 72 hours ago!

    We may continue working on adding features to "Dr. Vile in the Greater Good" so please send us your feedback and follow us on Twitter (@GreenPixelDev) to stay updated!

    Happy gaming! :D

    View GreenPixelDev's journal. | View all entries by GreenPixelDev

    Ratings

    Overall(Jam)4.11
    Coolness74%
    #11Theme(Jam)4.13
    #15Fun(Jam)3.81
    #21Humor(Jam)3.74
    #22Graphics(Jam)4.33
    #22Audio(Jam)3.80
    #24Mood(Jam)3.70
    #98Innovation(Jam)3.19

    Comments

    buspickle says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:49am

    Holy shit! This is amazing. I would totally vote for this if I were participating. This is a very high level of game. Nice.

    Cryovat says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:53am

    I'm really impressed by what you've managed to pull off in such a short space of time. Had a lot of fun with this :D

    zimra says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:43am

    Very cool !

    Jezzamon says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:44am

    Great job! My only suggestion would be to use button controls for the cutscenes, instead of having to switch to using the mouse.

    Good take on the theme too!

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:46am

    Oh yeah, this is a winner. Super Polished, Lots of Fun, and great sense of humor.

    Crynix says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:28am

    Loved it.

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:35am

    Thank you for your feedback! Glad you liked the game and we hope to make it even better! :D

    lucky.luddite says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:42am

    This game is great! Fun art, good music, and a full on game! Good job. -Tony

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:35am

    haha, this is really funny!!

    EpaceGames says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:18am

    Very creative game.. I beat it :)

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:03pm

    I'd give you a 5 on graphics if I could identify what the needed parts represent. City looks nice as well and the intro is cool.

    saguaro says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:22am

    Great game, very funny, definitely one of the most solid entries.

    Floko says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:23am

    very entertaining =]

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:31am

    Solid game, very clean and I would love to see this expanded! Maybe more weapon types, smarter civilian AI, and other ways to collect resources rather than only bashing things with a bat?

    I love the humor too! Great job!

    Zathalos says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:18am

    Fantastic graphics. The gameplay gets a little dry after awhile though. The sound and music were well used. If you made the game more in depth it would be great.

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:25am

    Thank you all for the feedback! :D Yes, we do plan on adding more features to the game (such as crafting!) and we hope to release it on more platforms!

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:40am

    One of my favourite entries so far. Congratulations, I very much enjoyed that.

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:11am

    fantastic! very polished and i was excited when i figured out ways to find resources

    kidcobain says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:15am

    great job! you are going to release the source code? i want to see it

    Falkreon says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:28am

    Darn it... it's so hard... but so good!

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:15am

    The art, sound and game in general are amazingly polished for something made in three days, and running around whacking people for their stuff so you can save the world is just hilarious. I wanna see more of Lexe!

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:24pm

    More than the sum of its parts. Some deaths feel kind of cheap because of unresponsive combat. Being chased by an angry mob is fun, but their pathfinding seems to lag the game considerably.

    This would be on a whole different level if the materials had some in-game benefits through a crafting system.

    tomvert says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:37pm

    The breaking everything mechanic is simple but very fun.

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:47pm

    This game is very well done: great graphics and humor. I had a lot of fun with it. :)

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:53pm

    It seems like attacking to the side is faster than attacking up or down. I can press attack with a faster rhythm going left/right, and that led to several deaths trying to fight guys above or below me. The narrative is very charming and the graphics are great. The sound effects are solid and it's nice to be able to really explore. Great entry!

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:29pm

    Great game! A lot of content for such a short time.

    _Rilem says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:27pm

    What a great game. The art is very good and I love the music.
    It took me a while to figure out you can enter the houses just by walking through the door. I was thought there was a control to do that :P
    I'm amazed at how polished the game is in this amount of time.

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:00pm

    Simply fantastic. I wouldn't change anything to expand this game, other then actually expanding it, give me level 2 where I go after Dr Ben Evelent!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:20pm

    Incredible work! I love the story and setting, bang on the money. The mechanics are so clean and and pure, this is a haiku of a game - nothing more could be removed without harming it, it is pretty much perfect for this competition, thanks for sharing! -J

    Strkl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:22pm

    Superb !

    I loved the music and the plot, maybe the fact that you have to restart everything when you're get touched three times is a bit frustating

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:04pm

    Thank you for your continued feedback, everyone! We greatly appreciate it! :D
    Protip: Items don't disappear so save Apples and Steaks for when you're low on health!

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:15pm

    Intro is good, mechanics are fine but the game is really too unfair and hard :)

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:26pm

    That was pretty fun! Destroy all the things!! Good job!

    Team Tibbles says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:26am

    Fun game. Destroying things is definitely a villains task. Looks like the theme disappeared towards the end but that was only brief. As for innovation, it used the keyboard, mouse, and a sprite map which is the average game. Overall it was fun.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:33am

    It's like Pokemon meets Hotline Miami. Winning combination!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:12am

    Fantastic game! Also, the plot! Also you have license to kill, AND cannibalize town property for good. Graphics ara amazing, hexe's hair is a perfect hemicircle, which is sorely missed from most pixel art. In short; I think you guys know very very well what you're doing. Full marks, and my hat off to you

    Joncom says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:17am

    Wow this is simply stunning, the real deal. Good work!

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:27am

    A really good game, remind me of the earlier version of pokemon which i have never played by the way.
    Smashing things and people is always fun !
    Congrats !

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:38am

    Memories of SNES era RPGs combined with some Minecraft-style harvesting action! Nice SNES art style, sound effects and music! Right now the game is a single action game (smash everything and collect whatever is left) and that is I think just right for a 48/72 hour compo. If you continue you'll have to add some other interactions. Curious what you'll come up with!

    Congratulations on such a nice product.

    BTW, your green pixel logo is very similar to Real software's old RealBasic app logo, they still use it in a modernised form now, so I'd be a bit careful about that. ref: http://www.realsoftware.com/download/ and http://www.google.com/search?tbm=isch&q=realbasic%20icon

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:14pm

    Thanks, everyone! :D Love reading more and more great feedback!
    @zenmumbler: Thanks! We'll keep that in mind! :D

    Logun says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:23pm

    Nice work, polish, fun and beautiful !

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:52am

    Evil scientists building death rays are always welcome, especially if executed that well!

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:49am

    Somehow moving.

    A story for anyone who felt as though they were never good enough.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:39pm

    Very cute!
    I found it very easy...But maybe I should have try not to kill people...I don't know ^^
    Nice game and nice story

    caranha says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:09pm

    SQUEE, this game was so cute! And fun, I loved it!

    I was surprised by the challenge level. I had to go hunt trees for healing myself, while keeping away from all the townfolk. Like an apple vampire or something. And I was really sad for Dr. Vile's fate.

    One thing about the game... is it possible to beat it "peaceful mode"? At first, I tried to clear the game without killing anyone, but then I soon gave up... it is impossible, or is it? I mean, the enemies don't forget their aggro status, etc.

    It would be cool if there was a different ending (even if a minor variation), if you could finish the game without killing a single civilian.

    Also, one little downside, the music got repetitive after a while.

    Thanks for the very fun game!

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:05pm

    Great quality.. amazed at how much you got done here. If the number of objects you had to collect was reduced by half it might not have had a chance to feel repetitive.

    Houly says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:33pm

    Very polished entry. Nice intro and mood. And the difficulty was just right

    SiENcE says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:13am

    I really like your background music the most! Very polished game!

    sharbelfs says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:45am

    great game, loved the art

    Dir3kt says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:03pm

    Very good entry nicely done with lot of contents.

    However while outside the game was lagging like hell. Inside houses it was fine :/

    Hatscat says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:01pm

    Nice and really fun! a little bit too hard for me

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:38pm

    Great presentation and sense of humor, very well realized in general. Deliciously villainous to boot. Charming stuff.

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:45pm

    Wow, that was amazing! Great art, nice sense of humour, lots of vibe.

    deathray says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:22am

    Excellent! Complete in every way. I don't even know how to improve it.

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:42pm

    This is lovely! like the intr, but it's way too long. a 3rd would be enough

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:17pm

    Thank you all for the continued feedback! Hope you all had a Merry Christmas and happy holidays! :D

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:35am

    Really fun game mechanics! A sleek graphical style with a fun story thrown in as well and you've got quite the game here!

    I hope to see that next part of the game get developed. I'd love to take Dr. Ben Evolent down a peg! >:D

    rvmook says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:05pm

    Lovely game I really enjoyed playing it!

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 10:32am

    Very polished... Great job!

    Kimau says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:59pm

    One of my favourites! Loved it to bits :D

    The cut scene could really have used button controls. Also really annoying that the cutscene broke the pixel size, really spoiled it for me.

    Overall though ACE!

    jhrrsn says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:38am

    I really, really enjoyed this. Cool idea, great execution. It always baffles me how teams are able to produce so much content over the weekend without crashing and burning! Well done.

    Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:10pm

    Nice work! I liked the story and graphics a lot.

    The gameplay could perhaps use little something more to keep it from becoming too repetitive, and better bat collisions, it's a bit difficult to fight.

    SuperDisk says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:01pm

    I somehow doubt this was completely made in 48 hours, but if it was, you are some sort of legend.

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:13am

    Less than 2 hours to rate! :D

    Thank you all for the feedback and no matter how our entry does in the ratings, we're working to expand the game to Java and iOS! With more levels, areas, weapons, tools, enemies, etc. it'll be far bigger and better! We're also throwing in crafting so it'll be up to you what you want to create for Dr. Vile :D

    Thank you again and we'll be keeping you updated!

    @SuperDisk - You're absolutely right! The game was not made in 48 hours; it was made in 72 hours for the Jam :D

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]