Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 21 days, 0 hours, 34 minutes, 58 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    60 Second Bad Boy - Ariake81 - Jam Entry

    >>>>>>>>>>>VERY IMPORTANT NOTE<<<<<<<<<
    to see every level, play the separate training levels first!!! if your playing the WEB version, click on the "Play full screen" option just below where the game is placed on the megaswf page. it's SO MUCH SMOOTHER which is very much recommended! best results are from the download options though!


    Wanna be the naughtiest kid in town? only got a minute spare?

    No worry's! here is the game for you ....

    Twelve, five second upset'o'thon levels make up those crazy 60 uninterrupted seconds of frantic bad boy terrorizing!!
    poke,steal,smash and stamp your way through to being the ULTIMATE BAD BOY kid in town!!!

    >> SWF FLASH FILE FORMAT - only 1.8mb download! or play in web browser at : http://megaswf.com/file/2532049

    >> includes training zone to practice beating any of the 12 levels. 80's 8bit level of difficuly!

    >> old school arcade reflexs on the mouse required!

    >> frantic chiptune sountrack!

    Complete game design and asset creation by Matt Clarke
    (http://www.mclarkemotiondesign.com)
    (mattctriggerset@googlemail.com)

    All made using: Stencyl, Photoshop, Make Pixel Art and Reaper Audio(with Peach and Toad Tweakbench Plugins)

    View Ariake81's journal. | View all entries by Ariake81

    Ratings

    Coolness77%
    #71Humor(Jam)3.20
    #80Audio(Jam)3.33
    #111Graphics(Jam)3.51
    #141Overall(Jam)3.11
    #160Theme(Jam)3.31
    #165Fun(Jam)2.83
    #167Mood(Jam)2.81
    #209Innovation(Jam)2.64

    Comments

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:12pm

    hell yeah mini game collection. Nice job!

    tomc says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:55pm

    Charming graphics!

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:08pm

    Nice, a bit hard, but i must be tired from the lD ;)

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:43pm

    Finally, first minigame entry ive come across to, nice!

    leafo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:21am

    nice job. I love games like this. The page you are hosting it on is annoying though, it was causing the swf to lag.

    Great game though. Good music and art.

    Ariake81 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:44am

    thanks for the lovely comments so far! :)

    mcc says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:48am

    i like the concept a lot, but i couldn't even get past the second screen. also it seems to cut you off a second too early, which led to much frustration. maybe i'm just not good at games like this.

    Ariake81 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:49am

    NOTE: if playing the web version, click on the Play full screen option just below where the game is placed on the megaswf page. MUCH SMOOTHER which is very much recommended! best results are from the download options!

    soupy says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:52am

    I'm not really a fan of games where the main mechanic is spam clicking. The graphics and sound are quite good though.

    illugion says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:53am

    I really enjoyed everything in the game but its so hard T-T

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:56am

    Fun music/graphic style. I felt like the clicking was a little too difficult though. Especially the balloons, with their hitboxes as small as they are. Pretty cool though!

    Ariake81 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:57am

    im from the old 8 bit days of difficulty..... win by mastering. play each stage using the training levels beforehand :)

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:02am

    Amazing job, several levels to go through. But very frustrated, ha ha !
    I think it's hard to precisely click on the target object though.

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:44am

    my hand hurts. shouldn't be trying to play this lying down in bed. Awesome music and game!

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:50am

    Party mini games! Woot! I like the soundtrack and the 8-bit graphics. Some of the hitboxes are tough to hit (balloons especially) but after practicing with the training a bit I got the hang of them.

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:24am

    Cool graphics, but I couldn't get past the first level.

    Madball says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:28pm

    Interesting. Nice graphics, nice music, nice gameplay, much polish. Wasn't hard for me.

    GFM says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:49pm

    The second round is definetly the hardest one... that goddamn small baloon. >_<
    But was able to finish it, anyway! =]
    Playing full screen really helped...

    Nice game! ^^

    Keevor says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:40pm

    Really hard!

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:00pm

    Nice game, but I think the input handling was buggy - the cones weren't detecting clicks a lot of the time, and I couldn't get past the first screen as a result. (I played fullscreen)

    bentog says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:11pm

    I like the art and the wario ware style, but the minigames should something more interesting that pointing and clicking stuff. Good job!

    raincole says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:34pm

    It has style from 8 bit era, including its difficulty. But I like it:)

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:38pm

    Very nice variety in the graphics on each minigame.

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:04pm

    It's a fun game and a nice concept, I can't help but feel it's too hard though. Especially the second screen where the hitbox of the blue balloons seem to be very small.

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:52pm

    I was rubbish at this, couldn't get past the second part but I tried the other levels in the practice mode. Great music though, like dubby atari music. I mean, I love the music a lot.

    zkenshin says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:59pm

    Found it a bit difficult as well.

    Benjamin says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:51pm

    Nice graphics and good rythm. I think the first and second level should be easier. Click box larger than the graphics would suppress a lot of frustration.

    Jezzamon says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:05am

    wow... very very hard.

    Good job with the franticness though. :D

    Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:12am

    I though this was really well put together. The balloon popping level was infuriating - the only one I couldn't complete in training. Sometimes the levels ended abruptly, I wasn't sure if I missed clicks or ran out of time.

    Nolan C says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 6:15pm

    A little on the difficult side, but still very creative.

    SuperDisk says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:41am

    The gameplay was rather bland, as it's just clicking random crap with a cursor with an awkwardly place hotspot. I couldn't get past the balloon one.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:09am

    WarioWare in the bloodstream!

    Really difficult, but entirely possible to master. Also, good job on the persentation. Loved it.

    StMatn says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:43am

    Wow, I nearly ragequit several times. Finally, it was great to win :D I liked the ideas, the neat graphics and the nice sounds. Very good entry!

    Ariake81 says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:49pm

    "ragequit" nice term! think im gonna have to use that! thanks :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]