Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 14 days, 6 hours, 7 minutes, 53 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Mitt Romney and the Case of the Sex Doll - jackspinoza - Jam Entry

    FOR A MATURE AUDIENCE ONLY.

    A game about power.

    SHIFT - RUN
    arrows - movement
    SPACE - actions (you can interact with obvious stuff)

    Join Mitt as he burrows deeper into his malignant narcissism and psychopathy.
    Everything (music et al) made in 48 hours. Borrowed scripts keep the game from the main competition.

    View jackspinoza's journal. | View all entries by jackspinoza

    Ratings

    Coolness68%
    #7Mood(Jam)4.03
    #49Audio(Jam)3.52
    #88Graphics(Jam)3.70
    #100Theme(Jam)3.59
    #108Humor(Jam)2.93
    #108Overall(Jam)3.31
    #181Innovation(Jam)2.77
    #227Fun(Jam)2.53

    Comments

    Quarry says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:29pm

    oh god wat

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:19pm

    You had me at the title. Cheers!

    Saisaith says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:18pm

    lol

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:32pm

    Quite inventive and creative, although I got bored, probably because I am not american :D I had super fun though.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:42pm

    That music is really fitting, though extremely disturbing. The movement is really too slow for the kind of distances that need traversing, and it makes the game really slow. I gave up because it was taking forever to get anywhere.

    Lastly, 73.2mb? Wowza, the sounds alone account for a huge chunk of the game size (about 70% of it) and the other being the use of PNG for images (which account for another 20%) that would compress so well with JPG. I think it would be more accessible to more people if this wasn't the case. Not gonna take away from your ratings, but it is going to take away from the amount of people who rate it :O

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:54pm

    If you press shift you can run.

    fhoenig says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:16am

    I love these hand drawn games but don't have Windows. I'll rate gfx based on the screenshots.

    LogGiant says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:23am

    I don't think I'll be going to bed tonight.

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:33am

    This was awesome.

    Got a little weird towards the end, like it was trying to shock me but just wasn't succeeding, but at the start where it was just joke after joke I found it hilarious. Definitely max points for humour.

    Interesting sound and graphics too.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:57am

    The hand-drawn environments and characters are unique and cohesive. The atmosphere is interestingly brooding; There are times where it feels like I'm playing a Salvador Dali painting.

    It is a little deranged.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:53pm

    Love the mood - the grungy graphics and sounds. Something unbalanced and disturbing about it all - lol great stuff!

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:06pm

    Wow, that was messed up. I played it at like 5 AM and I think between staying up for it and eating Taco Bell is going to give me permanent nightmares. Definitely nailed the themes and the watercolor environments gave this game its character. Great work.

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:37pm

    This is my favourite game so far.
    I'm not sure what that says about me.

    Yngar says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:31pm

    Yep Romney sure is a jerk

    Darkfrost says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:42pm

    pretty wacked but alright

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:08am

    Man, what a depressing game...I had fun though! The art works out well, and the music is good!

    goerp says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:54pm

    Thanks for the warning, I played it anyway. Enjoyed it as well, altough it was a bit disturbing.
    I like the hand made graphics and the humor. the music was impressive but got on my nerves after a while (but that might have been intentional). Were that real instruments.
    just curious, but what scripts did you have to use?
    This game also scores good on mood.
    Original game.

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:59am

    thanks for the comments,
    @goerp - I made the "music" with my strat and my synth and used tape distortion on my voice. So, almost real instruments. I used a script for the text and one for the menu, I spent too much time on the music and nonsense.

    Tom 7 says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 7:25pm

    Wow. This is the most fucked up LD game I've ever played. It's quite hard to endure, but I'll give you credit for doing something daring, and the ending was somewhat redeeming. Definitely a standout in LD25, for better or worse.

    The music was great, though unsurprisingly I liked what the radio was playing before Mitt's beast mode disc.

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:44pm

    WOW! This is either brilliant or crazy. That music, the graphics, the blackest humour just made it a real experience! :O Great job!

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:08am

    Yeah, that was pretty disgusting, although the rest wasn't too bad compared with the end. The music was... disturbing. I muted the game after the radio changed.

    I didn't really like it, but I'll certainly give points for innovation and mood.

    Zelen3d says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:21am

    What the !!!! tHIS WAS fun! you should run(shift) by default.

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:27am

    nice comments thanks.
    I'm with you BlackBulletIV.

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:49am

    Calling this game disturbing is a huge understatement. The problem with art games, which I consider this to be, is that they focus more on making a statement then being fun. Worth playing but not a fun game.

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:21pm

    Haha, right Spelchan, in fact I think I'm trumped at almost every hurdle when it comes to the ratings, not just the "fun" aspect. Oh well...

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:22am

    The doll-man beating at the end was my favourite part. I felt too much in control of everything but I think that added to the idiosyncratic strangeness of it. :)

    cappelnord says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:31pm

    Would love to see that game but no Windows :-( A gameplay video would be awesome!

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:17pm

    Good job in creating a uncommon mood.

    nate427 says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 5:10pm

    Very... original. Strange and disgusting but in a good way somehow.

    csanyk says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 3:35am

    I didn't get it, beyond stamping on pigeons was there more to do? It doesn't feel complete, or I am missing something.

    jackspinoza says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 5:42am

    @ csanyk: I think you're missing about 4 fifths of the game. Try exploring a tiny bit more - you can go in most doors.

    jackspinoza says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 11:59pm

    ...having said that, you aren't missing much.

    Porpentine says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:54am

    i really like the music

    the ending is horrifying. genuinely horrifying.

    the most pervasively depressing and fucked-up mood of the competition, out of the 50~ games i've played so far

    Worse says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:35pm

    The art was just spectacular. Humor and music are great. But I didn't like how the gameplay was forced - couldn't proceed until doing specific things that the game told me to do :(

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]